Dwarf Wizard

Frencois's page

2,333 posts (2,342 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.


1 to 50 of 298 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Me too.... for what it's worth. Nice to see all of you here.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure was already asked for but may have been lost in these special times.

Thanks to please cancel order Order 36394740 and all my subscriptions.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

All those points are very valid.

That said, my $0.02 from someone who starts to have quite an insight on both PACG and crowdfunding(IMHO):

A good thing about crowdfunding the way it is currently handled by plateforms like KS and others is that you can tune your campain with add-ons and qstretch goals. And that's VERY compatible with a Legacy / Collectible / Adventure CG.

You can ask for a min funding that covers your "Core" (like 5 main RPG classes, basic bestiary and a single adventure)

- Put as optional buys other gameplay main adventures/classes that you think will have a great success so with a price tag coherent with a estimated large set of backers

- Put as optional "deluxe" buys remaining "optional" gameplay main adventures/classes or non gameplay stuff (dice, monsters/boss minis, screens, playmats and the like) that you think will have a limited success so with a price tag coherent with a limited set of backers (i. e. more expensive to ensure you get a margin even with a smaller serie) - if you aren't sure, don't offer it

- Put as stretch goals "important" gameplay items that aren't necessairy for Core but you know people will spend to get (other main classes, iconic minis, single scenarios, iconic bosses / monsters / artefact cards...) -any single one you be "cheap" to produce so you can keep the funding steps between SG challenging but after all easily reached.

Works so well for a little set of companies that constantly raise millions of bucks, sometimes 3 or 4 times a year.

Paizo and LSG have the dream marketing knowledge and backers/fan base to make that happen - or to allow another company to make it happen.

More important, we aren't talking about a new game but about PACG where at least two thirds of the usual main risks for such a crowdfunding campain is already crushed :
- "Game" is already funded (it's tested, rules are already written and 99% FAQed, parts are already known by factories....)
- Tons of art / IP / AP is already done / there / written
- Core set is already in retail (so the minimum "Core" to be added as minimum game in your campain is actually an extension, so the minimum volume of content needing to be included is much less)
- Fan based in already built on a generic "Golarion" IP

Now to be precise, to be on the very very safe side, I would only fund creating and sending to backers some cards. Nothing else. Printing / sending decks of 54-60 cards is an industrial very well oiled machinery with many initial costs already gone.

See the last move from LLG regarding AHCG : simplifying by selling the full campain as one or two boxes rather than monthly subscription of single decks. Less packaging, less shipping and handling costs, hence less taxes for buyers, less dependencies on production delays, and so on. The full business model change helps keeping the fan based, if not increasing it.
That's another good point in crowdfunding : done once, then gone.

And of course you can take the opportunity of the crowdfunding campain to sell some of your PACG legacy inventory. Some backers may not want to just buy old stuff in a "dead" game, but be interested to complete a collection if it's a "still alive" one. especially if completing the collection means more funds to improve the additional campain they are backing.

Just my $0.02....

I wish Liz, Vic and Mike would still be here to provide some feedbacks.

Nothing can go wrong.
Everything is under control.
Have a croissant.

Frencois - KS superbacker since even before superbacker became a thing :-)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Matsu Kurisu wrote:

Thanks Keith. Really appreciate the insight.

I have loved all that you and the team bought to PACG and if there is every any more PACG content, I will be buying.

My feeling exactly.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

We always play with 5-6 players, so I know those work well in that case :

Group awards :
"Globetrotter :" - Close each location by defeating the villain.
"Why? :" - Win the scenario after having always failed to close the location after defeating a Closing Henchman.
"Magic Missiles level #" - Beat a level # Villain with a combat check rolling only d4s.
"Long run" - Win the scenario after having always failed to defeat the vilain 4+ times.

Personal awards :
"Support guy" - Start all your turns after the first one with 0 cards in hand.
"One shot" - Win the scenario with 13+ buried cards.
"Peacerkeeper" - Win the scenario without attempting any Combat check.
"Holyman" - Win the scenario without attempting any non-blessed check.
"Unholyman" - Win the scenario without attempting any blessed check.
"Tourist :" - Win the scenario after having moved to another location at everyone of your turns.
"Greedy :" - Have 6+ cards in your hand above you hand size.
"Useless :" - Spend 3+ turns at the Base in a row.
"Ready for everything :" - Have 7+ boon displayed next to you character.
"Cheater :-)" - Having Embiggen displayed next to your character at the start of everyone of your turns.
"UberCheater :-)" - Having Embiggen and Enlarge displayed next to your character at the start of everyone of your turns.
"Overkiller :-)" - Playing Divine Fortune when Embiggen and Enlarge are already displayed next to characters.
"My Turn" - Start your turn with a full hand (= your hand size) of cards that can be used to explore and use everyone of them to explore during your turn.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So sad...


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It depends if you want to play with the second version (Core) rules or the previous historic set of rules (Runelords used 1st version. In short, depending if you want PREcore or CORE rules.

1
PRE : No avenge doesn't exist in Pre-core
CORE : Yes

2
PRE : Yes, the limit is one / type / character / check
CORE : Yes, the limit is one / type / whole party / check

3
PRE and CORE : You can play as many spells as you want during any turn (yours or another character one), respecting the limits (for example, you can't play CURE during an encounter

4
PRE and CORE : It adds the die that is linked to the SKILL you are using. So if a spells says "for your combat check, use arcana + 2d6" and your arcana skill is charisma+3 and you have d12 in charisma, then the blessing adds 1d12. if your charisma was 1d4+3, then you would add 1d4 (and not 1d6). Note by the way that if you didn't had arcana at all, you could still cast the spell, with a default arcana skill = 1d4. So the spell with a blessing would do 1d4+2d6+1d4 before being banished.

5
PRE and CORE : NO, when you add a DIE, there is never a "+" added.
So your blessed Scorching Ray is (1d12+3)+2d6+1d12
Blessing only adds a DIE to a CHECK. The amount of damage a cure heals ISN'T a check. So a bless would not add anything to the cure amount. Actually, you cannot even play the blessing because it doesn't apply.

6
PRE and CORE : YES you have to roll the second even if you failed the first one.
Succeeding on the second usually only prevents you to take additional damage, since each time you fail a check, you take damage.

7
PRE and CORE : like any boon, if you banish it at any time (including when rebuilding your deck), it goes back to the box (in PRE) or vault (in CORE) - which usually means it's lost forever.
Now depending on the rules, when you rebuild your deck and are lacking a specific type of card to complete it, you may decide to repick a previous loot from tyhe game (but usually if it's something like 3 levels below where you stand).

8
PRE and CORE : banishing isn't defeating. So unless the reason your are banishing a card is because you previously defeated it, a banished card isn't defeated. For example when you close a location, you banish the remaining banes, but they aren't defeated.

9
PRE and CORE : YES, if a card adds for a certain time to a type of check, it adds to all those checks.
Let's say you explored with an ally saying that during this exploration, you get to add 2d4 to your arcane checks.
And you have displayed an item saying that while displayed, you get to add 1d6 to your intelligence checks.
Your Intelligence is d8 and you have Arcane=Intelligence+3 and are casting a spell saying that for your combat you can use Arcane+2d6.
Then that check is at the same time a Combat, Arcane, and Intelligence check.
So you would roll d8+3+2d6+1d6+2d4.

Say the bane you are trying to defeat has as check to defeat :
Combat 20 OR Arcane 15 OR Intelligence 10
Then you could choose to roll either :
d8+3+2d6+1d6+2d4 against 20 (because it's a Combat, Arcane, and Intelligence check)
d8+3+1d6+2d4 against 15 (because it's an Arcane and Intelligence check)
or d8+1d6 against 10 (because it's just an Intelligence check)

10
PRE and CORE : ONLY if the card says "Monster" in the "Type" box. There are villains or henchmen that can be barriers.

Hope that helps


5 people marked this as a favorite.

To build on the answer from our beloved Brother Tyler, the generic rules is that if a power tells you to "Do XXX with a card".

- If the type of the card is not given (i. e. there is no word like "weapon"...), YOU choose it.
- If the way to select it is not given (i. e. there is no word like "new" "random" "top"... that would tell you how to select it), YOU choose the card.
- If the origin is not given (i. e. there is no word like "displayed", "buried", "from your..."), by default it is from your hand.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yep but there are some spells that LOSES some abilities when they are heightened. Invisibility for example.
Which makes the way Summoner loses spells very ennoying to say the least...


2 people marked this as a favorite.

OK I don't know why calling it Summoner is so important to you Rysky, but I think we get your point. But besides the class name, I guess the issue I see in the different comments - and that I share - is the following:

First let me make clear that I know we do not see on the playtest the whole rules - mostly only the ones dealing with the eidolon. But taking that into account:

For the "so called-summoner" to be really a summoner (forgetting about the eidolon manifesting part), she's gonna have to have specific rules to make her better at summoning than other classes.
Since she will use the same skills or spells lists (yes we WANT that for simplicity) than the other classes, then the difference will have to come from feats or focus stuff.

And this is where I'm worrying a bit: for the eidolon to be interestning/competitive/balanced, right now, I have to pretty much use up all my ancestry/class feats or focus stuff on eidolon-oriented choices.

Nothing left to invest in (yet to be revealed) summon-oriented feats/focus.

To summarize my point: if I have to sacrifice the eidolon part to become a decent summoning-summoner, might as well play a conjurer. If I have to sacrifice the summoning part to become a decent eidolon-manifester, might as well call it a "manifester".

We don't know enough to see if we'll have a decent summoning-summoner AND eidolon-manifester class. But until then, I think that stating that it MIGHT be an issue isn't inappropriate as a playtest feed-back. IMHO.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

OK now for the fun...

"An eidolon is a being formed of ephemeral essences—typically mind, life, or spirit—that needs your body and connection to this world to manifest."

This is where it isn't a summoning.
If you summon an animal, or a demon, you just "call" it. It could have come without you calling it. It doesn't depend on you to come in this world.
And nothing prevents someone else to call that same creature.

Manifesting is a very very different matter. If it wasn't for its summoner, a particular eidolon would never be seen anywhere in Golarion.

In V1, a summoner was (depending how you play it, but just looking at the rules by the book) splitting her life between manifesting her eidolon and summoning a bunch of other things. Many of her powers/feats/spells/blabla were aimed at summoning.

In V2 pretty much all the class is aimed at the manifesting-my-eidolon part. A very few feats help summoning other stuff but nothing pushes you to mandatory take them.

So the V2 class is something like 80% Manifester - 20% Summoner.
So it would make sense IMHO to rename it (Manifester ? Symbiote? whatever).
Especially has the Mage-Conjurer is way more a summoner than the "Manifester" so keeping the "Summoner" name feels like confusing new players.
Since the whole purpose of V2 is to make things easier...


4 people marked this as a favorite.

In summary, since the character doesn't really summon the eidolon, and doesn't the rest either, it's no more a summoner.
It's a very interestning class where you play a strange king of twins, more like symbiotes or one (which one by the way :-)) being the parasite of the other.
So renaming it something like SYMBIOTE or the like would make a lot of sense.
IMHO.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The class should just be called EIDOLON.
We all know it's actually the eidolon who controls the summoner!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Good one. I can see arguments for both.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I must admit I wasn't clear... because as we can see the issue is far from obvious. The misleading factor comes - as you mentionned - that "At the End of Turn" has a double non consistent meaning :
- On one side it is a phase/step that has a duration in which many things can happen, mandatory powers happen, optional powers may be played, characters may be moved and so on...
- On the other side it has to be a precise unique timing point where some conditions have to be evaluated for some things to happen : "At the end of turn, if blablabla..."
The issue here is that usually, when the game requires a precise unique timing point where some conditions have to be evaluated for some things to happen, it is usually a "When...", which implies precisely at the time a condition is met).
All powers that evaluate a situation to trigger (like Pyramid powers discussed) should IMHO be rephrased to something like "When you would reset your hand at the end of turn..." or "Before resetting you hand at the end of turn...". Anything that would replace reference to an entire step "End of Turn" to a reference to a specific point in time would make evaluation precise.
That was just my point.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Never assume things not written.

It doesn't say it replaces. So it doesn't.

Your harrow is by all means a standard blessing with all its powers.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That exactly : promo cards usually break balance. if you want to play with them, you should increase the difficulty one way or another.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

However you cannot use this power during an encounter for example. So you cannot avoid taking damage by recharging...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Absolutely


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It only applies once, only to the character who has closed the location, immediately after having emptied the location and before moving to another location.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Seen from a large party, I tend to agree that nerfing was not a bad decison in itself, but that it is now maybe to high in level. By the time you get to get it:
- You have much better spells to fill your slots
- You can totally live without it
So maybe it would have been best at a lower level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Anyone can use Klar's first power

Klar's first power wrote:
When you suffer Combat damage, freely reveal to reduce it by 1.

Only the second one is limited to some characters. Those who know how to use Klar as a weapon in addition to a defense shield. I'm OK with Harsk being limited to power 1.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would rather have an extension deck with new story banes, monsters, barriers, locations, scourges... so I can create new stories than new boons (we already have thousands). Especially monsters and barriers (that must be shuffled in), story banes, locations and scourges can be printed on paper or proxied so that's less of an issue. Just saying.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can play a weapon to assist another character's combat check providing....

1) The power on the weapon clearly says it can be used to do that.
Examples

Dagger or Starknive wrote:
On a local combat check, freely recharge to add 1d4.

Yes you can backstab when someone else is "localy" doing a combat check.

Longbow wrote:
If proficient, on another character's combat check, freely discard to add 1d8.

Note that for the Longbow, it doesn't say "local" combat check so you can indeed assist from another location (it's a bow).

But most weapons only can only be played on YOUR combat check so you cannot use them when someone else is attempting a combat check. Those weapons only have powers refering to your combat checks like:

Longsword or Quarterstaff and many others wrote:
For your combat check, reveal to ...

2) No one else has played a weapon (especially not the character attempting the check) UNLESS either

- all previously played weapons were played "freely"
- and/or your weapon can be played freely (see the dagger, starknive and longbow above)

Hoping it helps.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

But Embiggen clearly states "Character's Dice". So anything that isn't written on the character card isn't affected.

So if you are talking about the Cure spell, it isn't affected. Same if you are talking about a damage written on a monster that the character will suffer.

That said, what you could have asked is :
The way it is written, it doen't seems to be limited to the SKILLS of the character, but includes all dice mentionned on a "character", which raises 2 questions :

1) If a character has a POWER (written on his character card) that adds for example 1d4 to a check or heals 1d4 card, that power becomes 1d8?

2) (This one for naughty Rulelawyers - I wouldn't be THAT guy) Is this limited to the CHARACTER card, so the 1d4 would stay a 1d4 as soon as you get a ROLE card?

Funny isn't it?

OK I keep this one for the never dying weekly can'o'worms contestant.

:-)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes. However remember that you cannot heal the card you just used to make the additional exploration.

Rulebook p. 9 wrote:
RULES: HEALING ... If you’re discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card from the cards you are healing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Welcome to the game.

1) You can't use both the spell and the weapon because of that rule:

Rulebook p.11 under Determine Which Skill You’re Using wrote:
Some powers allow you to use a particular skill for a specific type of check. These powers say things like “For your combat check, use Dexterity or Ranged.” You may use only one such power to determine which skill you’re using.

Both the spell and the weapon have the "For your combat check, use..." wording so you have to select one and cannot use both powers on the same combat check. So indeed you'll roll 1d12+2+2d4.

Ezren typically only uses his weapon when he is out of spells, if he wants to keep his last spell for a specific occasion, or if he is near death (not enough cards in his deck) and don't want to take the risk of failing to recover his spell.

2) Blessing only adds a DIE. Never the modifiers. So the previous roll, if blessed, becomes 2d12+2+2d4. If blessed twice, it becomes 3d12+2+2d4...

3) Playing a card means activating a power on THAT card. So Valeros recharging a weapon to use Valeros' power (not the weapon's power) isn't playing a weapon. So Valeros can indeed add to the check by reloading a weapon even if a weapon was already played.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Aaron Shanks wrote:
The designers intend to close the surveys tomorrow morning. You have all day today.

So nos our main question is: When do we playtest the inquisitor, the summoner and the others.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Longshot11 wrote:
Frencois wrote:


BTW recharging cards (from your hand) isn't really a negative effect...
*Everything* without a "you may" is a (potentially) negative effect. Like a location that makes you "heal a card" into your perfectly manipulated and arranged deck.

Taratata, you should play goblin characters like us.

People relying on powers that you "may" use are just cowards!
We eat them.
Powers that forces you to run into danger are what makes you really heroic.
That and eating slugs really fast.
We just burn the parts of the cards where we see the word "may". That and some other portions of the cards too because we can't really read (nah, it's because we love burning cards).
And then it's way more fun.
And if it's a fun effect it just can't be a negative one.
Good goblin thinking.

And on top of that we love shuffling all cards around in the room.
It looks like snowing.
What's the point of a perfectly manipulated and arranged deck if you can't shuffle it all around?
And burn it a little too.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Because we like fun, and because a loot should always be something you battle to get, and because we come from the RPG where if you do not keep a special item because you don't know yet if you need it later (and you have to get back to get it), we feel that if you discover later you need a loot that you did not keep you must somehow get back to it.
Easy way is to replay the scenario that awards it... but not that fun.

So our house rule (forgive me if my English wording isn't fully precise, but you'll get the "idée") is that:

Loot house ruling wrote:
Whenever a scenario refer by name (not type) to specific cards that at some point a character could have in his hand or deck, any of those cards is not in any of the character decks before the "Decide On the Challenge Mode" step, add the following to the scenario rules: "When building the locations, shuffle together one copy of the missing specific cards and enough monsters to deal one per location."

That way you know the needed loot is somewhere in a location (good luck hunting). The scenario is a bit harder (more monster, but hey, you have to pay for not keeping that loot when you could).

Note that it also apply (and that's fun theme-wise) for scenarios where - to take a totally random example - it would be cool to have a Pig Ally showing up.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Asif Kazmi wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Using the hour power is not playing one of your cards. The rulebook says "Collectively, the party may play no more than one boon of each type," which means the cards have to come from the party. You don't own the hour, so it doesn't count against the cards you can play.
Sorry to necro the thread but for the Hourglass blessing mentioned above, could I keep burying cards to keep rerolling (if I keep failing the check)?

This one seems easy

Rulebook p. 12 wrote:
Powers that allow or require you to reroll dice happen now; each such power can reroll dice no more than once per check.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

As far is (IMHO) I know,
Anytime the sentence reads "... add ... to your check/roll" it means it increases the chances of success.
Anytime the sentence reads "... the difficulty ... is increase by ..." it means it decreases the chances of success.
Why should it be different?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:
Keith Richmond wrote:
...many of the B non-basic cards would be level 1 if translated.
I agree with that. If we were to change something to simplify the Hierarchy, I'd suggest treating Basic Bs as 0 and non-Basic Bs as 1, then just going Levels 0 through 6.

Simplicity is always beautiful.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Actually the whole point is that many cards that you can play on someone else turn let you examine cards in your location or another one (spells like Scrying, Fly...).
The reason most triggers say "When examined, encounter this card" is indeed so that you are affected even if examining out of turn.
If they had been saying "When examined, explore this location", it would actually have had no effect out of turn.

Note btw: you explore a LOCATION (only on your turn) whereas you encounter a CARD (any turn). When you get that, you never make mistakes.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I would say no.
Because you cannot play a power when it doesn’t apply.
If there is no ally to heal you cannot use the power so there is no way you « would heal ».
IMHO


1 person marked this as a favorite.
MorkXII wrote:

What happens if you're dealing with Dire Boar ("When you would reveal a Melee weapon on the check to defeat, recharge it instead") with a weapon that says "reveal, additionally reload"?

Can you use the 'additionally' power at all? If yes, where does the card end up? Recharged, or reloaded?

It gets recharged and since it's no more in your hand, you cannot use the second power IMHO.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Can it be my fault too? I hate not being part of the fun :-).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:
The reason that both of these things are called steps is because things that restrict what you can do during a step apply to BOTH kinds of steps.

Something wrong here or my English is misleading me.

We always played it as:
The reason that both of these things are called steps is because things that restrict what you can do during a step apply
1) to the different steps during an Explore.
2) to the different steps of a turn EXCEPT the Explore step.

If a rule limiting things using the word "per step" applies as Vic says, RAW it seems to imply (as cleverly pointed out by the previous veterans) that
- I cannot reveal the same card twice in a single explore step (we never applied that, especially for weapons as stated previously)
- I cannot play 2 cards of the same type during a single explore step (no cannot bless each of the two combat checks...)

My advice is that neither the "Exploration phase", nor each of the "single Explore" within the "Exploration phase" shouldn't be steps. There shouldn't be steps within steps. If you remove the word "step" and only talk about "Exploration phase" consisting of "Explores" which in turn consist of "steps", then seems to me that all the other rules and cards work fine. IMHO.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Vic Wertz wrote:

We think it needs to be:

If a card you play says you may "additionally" play it using another action, it counts as playing that card once, when you take the first action, even if the second action happens later.

See anything breaking there?

Seems a good ruling.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We are currently playing our first Core full adventure and decided to play both Dragon's Demand & Curse of the Crimson Throne at the same time, but with the following caveats:
A) We felt that only having 6 feats of each type at the end may be frustrating so we wanted to allow for more
B) We had to take into account that we would end up with a lot of Hero Points
C) To balance, we needed to add some difficulty at some points
D) We wanted that difficulty to be easy not to forget during play
E) We wanted to get some (low) penalty for losing a scenario
F) We didn't like the idea to get level 3 boons since the start as it would be frustrating not to be able to upgrade for a long period if we were lucky enough to acquire powerful cards very early.
G) If a card is supposed to be a potential at reward at some point, it shouldn't be in the vault before
H) Changes should mainly be all for between scenarios management in order not to impact during scenario play/rules

So we decided the following (seems a lot, but pretty much nothing to remember, just guidelines to read between scenarios and apply-and-forget)
A) Get rid of all the cards that are future rewards.
B) Get random 0 level boons to start characters
C) Mix 0-1 level DD & CotCC cards in the vault before starting first scenario
D) Lose 1 HP or 1 feat (your choice) each time you lose a scenario
E) Play the scenarios in the following order:

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is 1

Play all level 1 DD scenarios

Draw your level 1 Harrow
Play all level 1 CotCC scenarios
Return your level 1 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 2

Add level 2 DD cards in the vault
Play all level 2 DD scenarios

Add level 2 CotCC cards in the vault
Return all Harrows of the level 2 suit to the vault so that players have a full set to Draw for
Draw your level 2 Harrow
Draw random blessings to complete deck if needed
Play all level 2 CotCC scenarios
Return your level 2 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 3

Add level 3 CotCC cards in the vault
Remove level 0 banes (and selected boons) from the vault
Return all Harrows of the level 3 suit to the vault so that players have a full set to Draw for
Draw your level 3 Harrow
Draw random blessings to complete deck if needed
Play all level 3 CotCC scenarios, getting your role card after 3A (this is why we play that adventure before then end of DD)
Return your level 3 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 4
To insure proper difficulty, from now on add 1 wildcard during each scenario.
- If the scenario already involves wildcards, use the Large location build (rather that the medium) for the 2 first locations in the location list instead.
- If also (very rare hopefully) the scenario has a special location built, add 2 monsters and 2 barriers to it instead.

Add level 3 DD cards in the vault
Play all level 3 DD scenarios except the random final scenarios (we'll keep that for later levels in order to get more play at levels 4-6)
Be happy you defeated the Dragon

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 5

Add level 4 CotCC cards in the vault
Remove level 1 banes (and selected boons) from the vault
Return all Harrows of the level 4 suit to the vault so that players have a full set to Draw for
Draw your level 4 Harrow
Draw random blessings to complete deck if needed
Play all level 4 CotCC scenarios
Return your level 4 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 6
To insure proper difficulty, from now on add 1 wildcard during each scenario AND use the Large location build (rather that the medium) for the 2 first locations in the location list.
- If doesn't make sense for the scenario, do something similar that works (not getting into details here, you get the idea).

Play a couple of random level 3 DD scenarios considering #=4

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 7

Add level 5 CotCC cards in the vault
Remove level 2 banes (and selected boons) from the vault
Return all Harrows of the level 5 suit to the vault so that players have a full set to Draw for
Draw your level 5 Harrow
Draw random blessings to complete deck if needed
Play all level 5 CotCC scenarios
Return your level 5 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 8
To insure proper difficulty, from now on add 2 wildcards during each scenario AND use the Large location build (rather that the medium) for the 2 first locations in the location list.
- If doesn't make sense...

Play a couple of random level 3 DD scenarios considering #=5

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 9

Add level 6 CotCC cards in the vault
Remove level 3 banes (and selected boons) from the vault
Return all Harrows of the level 6 suit to the vault so that players have a full set to Draw for
Draw your level 6 Harrow
Draw random blessings to complete deck if needed
Play all level 6 CotCC scenarios
Return your level 6 Harrow to the vault

Your max number of feats per type (skill, power, card) is now 10 (and won't go above)
To insure proper difficulty, from now on add 3 wildcards during each scenario AND use the Large location build (rather that the medium) for the 3 first locations in the location list.
- If doesn't make sense...

Play the last couple of random level 3 DD scenarios considering #=6

Remove level 4 banes (and selected boons) from the vault
Play the level 7 CotCC scenario

We'll tell you how it goes, we are half-way done (finishing 3 CotCC and starting 3 DD) and seems cool up to now.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Hannibal_pjv wrote:

Most easiest way would be strict turn order, where there Are specific timing slot when player could use any or some effect.

Before you explore: can use any effect
Encounter phase: can use any effect that directly affect the encounter
Damage phases can use effect that prevent/alter damage
After encounter: can use any effect

Unfortunately, if you really wanted to cover all cases, that immediately starts to be really painful because you have layers:

There is ONE EXPLORE-period.
The EXPLORE-period may consist of many EXPLORATION-steps.
But you can only play [TYPE 0] cards between EXPLORATION-steps if the next EXPLORATION hadn't been granted (else you forfeit the grant... oh and by the way the two cases apply also to avenging that may be granted or paid for... good luck to understand that one).
Then within the EXPLORATION-step you have at least two ENCOUNTER-phases: the "before the ENCOUNTER" phase and the "during the encounter" phase (and it's not even clear whether there is an "after the encounter" one).
You can play [TYPE 1] cards during the EXPLORATION-step but not during the "during the encounter" ENCOUNTER-phase.
Then within the "during the encounter" ENCOUNTER phase you have many ENCOUNTER-steps (not to be mistaken for EXPLORATION-steps) depending of the encounter.
You can play [TYPE 2a, 2b...] cards during the some but not all ENCOUNTER-steps (BYA, AYA...).
And then there is a specific ENCOUNTER-step that is the "Attempting a check" ENCOUNTER-step.
Then the "Attempting a check" ENCOUNTER-step is made of many CHECK-actions.
You can play [TYPE 3a, 3b...] cards during the some but not all CHECK-actions (e. g. when you determine the skill, when you add traits,...).
And then some specific CHECK-actions have very specific rules on what card you can play (e. g., playing [TYPE 4...] armors during the "Suffer damage" CHECK-action, or whether if you take multiple types of consecutive damage is it many "Suffer damage" CHECK-actions or a single one and does it modify what you can do or not with [TYPE 4...] cards).
And so on...

And I really would hate having to teach that like if it was a very important rule to new players.

And obviously, you want Mike and Vic to be able to add some period/step/moments/actions when we improve the game... (like let's avenge!). So you cannot just put numbers on the "steps" because that would be obsolete 5 minutes after.

As I said previously, I'm fine with the rules as they are. We can play with them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

... or if the bane says something like "before you act, bury a random card from your discard".

As Longshot clearly says, during an encounter, if something else than you deciding to play a power end up removing cards from your deck or discards, you could argue that it enables you to play a healing power just before.

On the other end, I wouldn't allow you to play a power that would trigger that in order to play another healing power.
E. g. if you had a spell/ally/blessing... that says "recharge to draw 2 cards", I wouldn't allow to play it, and then say because you affect your deck, you can play a healing power before.

As Longshot rightfully said, weird sometimes...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The idea - I guess - is that if it was just "While displayed: reduce Combat damage by 2", then 2 things would happen.

1) Since it would be a permanent effect, you could have many armors displayed adding up protections (since using that kind of power would not be playing the card)... which we don't want

2) Say you have 3 cards in hand and the armor displayed and take 5 Combat damage, you would reduce it by 2 (to 3), discard your whole hand and still have the armor displayed. With the "draw" effect you get back the armor in hand (to a total of 4 cards) before discarding 3... so you have the option to discard the armor to keep a more valuable card.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes, you know the feeling...
You write your post. Feel that it seems stupid. Reread the rules. Find the sentence that clearly says your post is totally wrong. Run back to your computer to delete and modify it... and meanwhile you've lost your Internet connection.
And since it's just before the week-end, by the time you moved to your week-end spot in the countryside, it's too late to edit it.
Spending the rest of the week-end bumping your head on walls.
That feeling.
Sorry for the wrong answer. Thanks to you guys for the correction.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Thanks Keith.

Note for self: Keith has a non-game life. Who would have guessed ?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You guys are just way too fun. I just love this community of veterans.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
cartmanbeck wrote:
The main reason I wouldn't add all the level 0 cards from other base sets is because, on the whole, they're just not as strong cards. And also you're going to be diluting your decks like CRAZY with all those low level cards...

Fun fact: this is exactly why we do mix and start with random boons: diluting.

This means you start with "bad" decks and you don't get a "good" deck too fast and thus lose interest in acquiring stuff.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

And then there is us, poor Frenchmen, for whom Tarot is actually a card game like Bridge that never produced any divination of the future other than the fact that my wife will win at it because she is just plain lucky.
But since I'm the master at dice roling, I get my well deserved revenge at Pathfinder.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Except that "INSTEAD" means "INSTEAD" (If I got right what Vic explained many times).
If you activate the armor, the cards you "picked" from the top of your deck are "recharged", they never were "discarded".
So "twice the number of cards you discarded" is 0.

You could maybe get Vic to admit that if you check the "[] 1 plus", then you get to heal 1 card altogether on another character. But even that could be debated.

Anyway certainly no more than 1+2*0=1.

IMHO.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Earl_Parvisjam wrote:
This really does a number on some characters' abilities with the new rules...

??

As stated above : Using a power on your character card counts as playing your character card on a check. However, the limitation for checks is that the party can collectively play no more than one of each type of boon on a check. Character cards are not boons, so the "one of each type" rule doesn't apply to character powers.
Am I missing something ?

1 to 50 of 298 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>