Dwarf Wizard

Frencois's page

2,333 posts (2,342 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.



1 to 50 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

I know the question seems stupid for seasoned D&D veterans, where you always kept your non cast spells and just fill the empty slots every morning (and optionally replace non-cast ones).

But forgetting D&D and Pathfinder 1ed and just reading Pathfinder 2ed legacy rules I suddenly have a (stupid?) doubt.

The way it is written it seems to imply that you spells you prepare are just valid until the next daily preparation and are then all un-prepared if not cast (although obvisouly you can usually re-prepare the same ones or not).

Makes a huge difference if for example you end up losing your spellbook (say you are put in jail and spend a couple of nights there without anything but mundane clothes). Do you still have prepared spells if you didn't cast them before being thrown in jail ?

As an old DM I thought yes but after taking the time forgetting everything I knew or played before Pathfinder 2ed and just reading the P2e Core Rulebook, I'm not at all convinced anymore.

"If you’re a prepared spellcaster—such as a cleric, druid, or wizard—you must spend time each day preparing spells for THAT DAY" (emphasis mine). Core Rulebook page 298.

Does the Remastered P2ed change anything on that point?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure was already asked for but may have been lost in these special times.

Thanks to please cancel order Order 36394740 and all my subscriptions.


I have no idea when my next subscription will ship so can you ship my side cart please ?
It should contain "Pathfinder Battles—Darklands Rising"

Thanks.


Hi everyone,

Hope you are doing well

I have no news of order 36260138(Darklands Rising Pathfinder Battle case) which is said to have Shipped Jan 26, 2021 (package 3366398)

Do you have news on your side ?
Should it be reshipped ?
Anything I can do to help ?

Thanks for your help.

François Varloot


Hi everyone,

Just realized that the product "Pathfinder Battles—City of Lost Omens Case" in order 28919999 is still in my sidecart although it should have been cancelled.

Already received it through Order 36260137.

Thanks for cancelling order and removing product from sidecart.

Best wishes for the new year.


Hi,

Can you send back order 28919999 that was previously returned to you since I have no news from it and I don’t know when my “next subscription” will be ?

I was expecting to have it sent back on July, August or September, but I have no news.
Can you send it together with the rest of my side cart (Order 28676314)? Altogether there should be 3 items :

Pathfinder Battles - City of Lost Omens Case
Pathfinder Battles: City of Lost Omens Premium Figure Adult Red & Black Dragons
Pathfinder Battles: Thieves Guild Premium Set

Thank you for confirming shipment.
Feel free to come back to me if any question.


Hi,

I never received Order 28919999 - Shipped package 3299022 That was said to be shipped on July 6th.

Maybe it’s normal due to the actual CoVid issues, but usually it arrives faster in France.

Do you have any information regarding this shipment?

Thanks for your help.


OK I should know that by heart but for whatever reason I prefer to ask. We ran into that question on our last play and I don't know why we hesitated.

The issue is, for example, if I defeat a closing henchman, can another character play a "cannot be played during an encounter" card to move to my locatioon before I start to close?

If I played a spell giving me a boost for the duration of the encounter (with the henchman), is the boost still valid for the closing attempt? What if the closing attempt ask me to summon and defeat (which implies encountering, by the rules) another card?

If I play a card that allows me to examin the top 3 cards of my location, and the first is a closing henchman with a trigger saying "when examined, encounter", so I encounter and defeat. Do I (or can I if I wish to) keep examining the two next cards before trying to close (you know the famous "immediately" isn't there anymore)? Answer seems obvious but...


Sorry for the duplicate but I'd like a feedback on the "rules" part of a previous scenario related post. Quoting myself (sorry) :

The way the Vault is defined in the Adventure Path, it includes pretty much all cards except the one not available yet at your level or the ones removed from game.
But clearly, locations, proxies, scourges, and the like are part of the Vault (not only standard boons & banes).
If so, story banes also seem to be included in the Vault. Now:

The Courtesan, When This Is the Hour wrote:
When you would encounter a non-story bane barrier, banish it instead, then summon and encounter a Task barrier.

The way the Courtesan (and I guess other cards) is written I should "summon" a Task barrier drawing randomly in "both" non-story banes but also story banes.

1) I guess it's not the intention, but RAW....
2) If it's the intention, how do I do that? Should I shuffle story bane barriers into standard non-story bane barriers, then search, then sort them all back, then reshuffle the on-story bane barriers... Just not efficient at all.

My guess is - unless I missed it - there is a sentence missing somewhere in the rules (P.14)/FAQ under "Summoned Cards and New Cards" saying something like:

Summoned Cards and New Cards possible FAQ wrote:
If you are asked to summon or add/draw a new bane from the Vault, unless stated otherwise, it has to be a non-story bane.


We ran into a fun one about Mist Horn:

"Mist Horn wrote:

POWERS : Display next to a location.

While displayed: When a character at this location suffers damage, reduce it by 2, or 1d4+1 if proficient.
TRAITS: MAGIC & INSTRUMENT

Question is : whose proficiency are we talking about? The one of the character at the location suffering damage or the one of whoever displayed the card next to the location?

Say LEM (proficient with INSTRUMENT) displays the Horn and VALEROS at the location (not proficient in MAGIC or INSTRUMENT) suffers damage. What is the reduction?
And if VALEROS displays the Horn and LEM suffers the damage?

I guess I know the answer but the wording isn't 100% clear.


Hi everyone,

I have 2 items in my sidecart that I want to get shipped as soon as possible but I think I didn't manage to get that done.
Can you check it will be shipped?

Thanks.


Hi everyone, there has been some debates and some FAQ regarding how pre-core cards deal with post-Core locations returning to the box-now-vault when closed. But the FAQ mostly deals with Faqing characters or some specific cards.

I feel we are missing a more general statement on what happens to cards displayed next to the location when the location returns to the boxvault. Core pretty much covers what happens to Core cards (e. g. scourges...), but some pre-Core cards intended to be displayed next to a location didn't really state how they end their life (if the location was to close during the scenario, they were still active on the closed location, and you managed them at the end of the scenario... so by definition those cards wouldn't return in play during the scenario and didn't need a rule for that).

But post-Core what happens to them between the time the location closes and the end of the scenario?

E. g. : Vomit Twin. But I guess there may be quite a number of others. When the location closes, does the card get banished (with or without the recovery step)? Returned to the box? Discarded? Buried? Returned to the hand? Hidden under the table until you rebuild your deck? Posted by air mail to Mike so he deals with it?

Maybe the answer is in the rulebook or the Faq but I didn't find it.


Third Eye wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may freely reveal to add 1d10.
Core rulebook P. 7 wrote:
Reveal: Show it from your hand then put ir back in yur hand.

Something is wrong, the Third Eye isn't in my hand...

Do you need to reveal ANOTHER card than the Third Eye, in which case it should say...
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may freely reveal A CARD to add 1d10.

?

Or can you use Third Eye power with an empty hand, in which case it should say...
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may add 1d10.

?

or
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may draw to add 1d10.

?


We did the first CotCC level 5 scenarios yesterday and that raised two additional remarks.

1) The Peacock Harrow blessing "When it's the Hour" says something li,e "if no boons were played on a check it is blessed. So you roll one additional die. Then if you play a boon that allows you to modify the result (like add 3), I guess it doesn't retroactively deletes the additional die (for obvious reason that you wouldn't know which one). OK but if I play a boon that let me reroll ? I would guess that you reroll the same dice (including the additional one from the Peacock) even if you did play a boon. But I could see someone saying that the card overrides the rulebook and that the roll isn't blessed. Fun corner case.

2) At level 5 of CotCC, when you play your Harrow (of the Star suits) it let's you heal a blessing or Divine card. Does it mean that if I have no blessing or Divine card in my discard and I discard my Harrow for its power (like blessing or exploring typically), it heals himself ? I guess yes.


We did a bunch of CotCC level 4 scenarios yesterday and a few cases occured that were (at least for some of them) already mentioned in the forums but still don't have an official answer that I'm aware of. So it's an opportuinity to list them back here.

1) Dire Lion has 2 powers that look something like
"Before acting, you are delt 1d4-1 damage
Damage is increased by 1d4"
Obvious question: does the +1d4 adds to the before acting damage. I guess yes.

2) Pack Landshark is a trigger story bane that makes you move to its location and encounter it. In a scneario where it is a multiple (via proxies) closing hench, it menas that I can close many locations in a single turn (that can even not by my turn since I'm not exploring) by just :
- Examine (my or another) location (via spell or item)
- Trigger the Pack
- Move to its location (if not local)
- Defeat it
- Close
- Move somewhere else automatically
- Reapeat
I guess yes.

3) If Mist Horror is defeated in a Siege Deck, as per the monster card after acting it gets shuffled in a random location, but not the siege deck (unless the scenario clearly says so, which is not the case in the level 4 CotCC scenario), so it actually helps adding cards to locations (where usually there are only boons in a siege scenario.
I guess yes.
May also be the case for Giant Fly (don't remeber how the card is worded).


CotCC Item #2 Liquid Courage POWERS wrote:

Display. While displayed:

* Remove your scourge Frightened.
* You may banish to ignore a monster's before acting powers.

Someone in my group just acquired that boon, and it seems it's the first one that has the "While displayed: Remove" vocabulary. Meaning that:

1) if you have a Frightened marker wen you display the item, you remove it.
2) for as long as it is displayed, anytime you suffer the scourge Frightened, you do get the marker and then immediately give it back.
Pretty good "Efficient" example of the new wording in Core...


Warnings wrote:
This is a personal couple of thoughts from a very old GM lost in a country where we are still (re)building medieval cathedral. It doesn’t at all reflect anything discussed in whatsoever way with the fantastic Paizo/Lone Sharks team or the tremendous community of forums veterans. Also as a warning: I pretty much only play home games with 4-5 players, so those thoughts are certainly somehow biases by that fact. Ah also, I have a very bad French humor, so if you have pertinent allergies feel free not to keep on reading, no harm done. Ah yes, my English if also very bad. With that I guess I’m done with warnings.

Hi everyone,

Since most of us are now starting to play “Core” games, I’m taking the liberty to take two steps back and look at the Core box from a (very) old GM perspective.
This is the world of Tolkien / Forgotten Realms / Golarion / Ravenloft / Gary Gygax’s backyard (bunch of ™ that I shamelessly use without authorization)… that we feel we all have inhabited for decades.

So when Mike and Vic hinted about a “Core” project that would give us all the basic weapons, spells and monsters that inhabit our dreams since we were teens (don’t ask), I was thrilled that I could build on it to create as many home scenarios I as can design (and that is way more than reasonable).

I was sure that we would be covered in terms of boons. Because players they love loots, so I knew that game designers will never forget the Fire Bolt spell and the amazing Great Sword. OK you can debate if it’s really clever to only have one copy of Cure in the whole set… but on the opposite is so cool that they made a point to have all different spells (and you can always proxy your Cure… don’t try to make me believe that you didn’t do it at least once :-)).

As a GM building stories, what made me wait patiently was the MONSTERS. I wanted to be sure that all the iconic ones would make the cut. I mean, who would think of a “Core” medieval fantasy package without a dragon? It’s like France without wine and cheese, and don’t start me on this one. Some things aren’t open for discussion. Period. Those who were gentle enough to read more than a couple of my posts know where I come from: too many Class Decks and not a single Monster Deck…

Yes we are talking about shiny big bad Monsters. Core has 75 of those, if you include story banes. I guess that’s as much as they could fit in the box. Since the very first Monster Manual had some 300 and the Pathfinder Bestiary I some 350 that means that the Beauty Contest had to get 75-80% of the candidates out. Tough crowd. So I knew I had to be ready to see some of our old favorites vanish in thin air. I also knew not everyone has the same wish list, but ultimately, with a few variations, the iconic monsters are pretty much known.

So I made a I-hope-not-so-bad list of 75 “most iconics” monsters and just went to check if coach Vic and draft manager Mike did a good job on building a core “Core” (this is the place where I really had a hard time refraining to make a pun with “encore” that happens to be both a French and English word but unluckily for you I succeeded at my Wisdom 10 check). Ok I made it simple by just checking that at least one member of each major families (demons, dragons…) made the rooster for those families where there is not so much difference between members (trust me a dragon is a dragon), whereas I went more in details for those groups of monsters where history, literacy, fantasy, RPG, films and the like really developed differences between members (i. e. undead is a trait that many different families share: you want to see skeletons, zombies and vampires because they are much further apart than two dragons).

“Without further ado” (yes I know I may have a hard time being synthetic)…
“To make a long story short” (I just love this idiomatic English sentence. I mean in Tolkien-style heroic fantasy, who would want to make a long story short?)…

Out of my 75 list, 36 did make the cut in PACG Core:
Basilisk, Chimera, Big Cat (Lion…), Demon, Devil, Dire Animal, Dragon, Elemental, Gargoyle, Gelatinous Cube, Ghost, Ghoul, Giant Insect, Goblin, Golem, Harpy, Hell Hound, Kobold, Lich, Manticore, Mimic, Minotaur, Mummy, Ogre, Ooze, Skeleton, Snake, Spectre, Swarm (any), Troll, Vampire, Werewolf, Wight, Will-o'-wisp, Wraith and Zombie

39 didn’t make the cut (and somehow were replaced by somehow lesser important ones):
Bugbear, Bulette, Centaur, Cockatrice, Cyclops, Dinosaur, Doppleganger, Drow, Dryad, Dwarf, Genie, Giant, Gnoll, Griffon, Hag, Hobgoblin, Hydra, Intellect Devourer, Kraken, Lamia, Lizardfolk, Medusa, Merfolk, Orc, Owlbear, Purple Worm, Roc, Roper, Rust Monster, Salamander, Shadow, Shambling Mound, Sphinx, Stirge, Tarrasque, Treant, Troglodyte, Unicorn and Yeti

Taking into account that some of them appear in CotCC (like Orc, Roc, Shadow), aren’t compatible IMHO with Core being limited to level 3 (like Purple Worm, Tarrasque), were already highly covered in some pre-Core AP (like Giant, Kraken, Lamia, Sphinx) or could appear in the game as barriers or allies (like Griffon, Roper, Unicorn), we are a bit over 50% coverage of my list.

So pretty good but still there are a dozenish of monsters I really expected to see in Core.

I mean no Centaurs, Drows, Orcs, Gnolls or Treants?

Where can I preorder Core 2 Vic? :-).

Have a great day all...

BTW, Vic can you tell customer care that it seems I'm missing the Dread Gazebo story bane card?


The non-story bane monster Barghest wrote:
If this monster would be defeated, roll 1d4. On a 1 it is evaded and a random local character encounters it.

Wording seems just a bit strange and you may wonder if it means something like

- When defeated, roll 1d4. On a 1 a random local character summons and encounters another Barghest.
or
- When defeated, roll 1d4. On a 1 a random local character must avenge that card.
I guess it's the later (meaning if the first character fails to defeat, the monster isn't shuffled back in the location: it is the same monster that the random local character must encounter and if that character defeats the monster, it is indeed the original one that is banished and nothing goes back in the location).

OK but then:

The location Bridge wrote:
Non-story banes cannot be evaded.

What happens if I meet a Barghest at the Bridge and defeat it? I roll 1d4. But it cannot be evaded.

I wonder if in that case, it is actually defeated immediately and banished.


Just to make sure.
The way Core rules are written, seems I can close a location during my exploration step (after defeating a story bane typically), decide to move to an empty location, start my close location step, attempt and close the one I'm in, decide to move to another empty location, attempt and close it, and so on as long as there are empty locations on the table.
Right?


Disclaimer : this one is not from me but coming from Boardgamegeek.

Should we round up or down in PACG ? It's nowhere in the rules - but until now it seems that I never had to over the years.... I mean until:

The Prince of Pain (Blessing 3) wrote:
Discard to explore. This exploration, on your checks to acquire or defeat, add half the number of cards in your discards.

So what should I do if I have 5 cards in my discard ?

This one's for you Mike :-)


Symbol of sleep wrote:
If undefeated... then recharge this barrier.

By the book, the barrier would be going under the character deck, not the location deck.

Is it really intentional?
May be a nice way to mess with my deck if I'm supposed to be sleepy.


Rulebook P10 wrote:
...for example, if defeating the bane would have allowed the first character to attempt to close the location, the avenging character would get that opportunity after defeating the bane.

OK it means if character A fails to defeat a closing henchman then is character B avenge by defeating that same henchman, he gets an opportunity to close.

But now suppose that the closing condition is "summon and defeat a monster/the danger..." and A character fails to defeat that bane, it seems to me that since it's not an encounter, character B cannot avenge (and therefore cannot close). True ? (and if I'm wrong, if character B would avenge and defeat, does it close?)


Hi to all the veterans. Just started to read the new rules and all seems clear (or at least I suppose until proven guilty that I got it right), except for one point:

Core Set Rulebook P.23 under 'Powers' wrote:
If a card tells you that you may treat it as if it has the same powers as another boon, include only powers that require you to play the card.

I don't think I understand that sentence (especially as for me "including" a power isn't a thing and because a power "required" to play a card isn't much more clear either). Can someone explain and give a precise example?

Pretty sure if Mike and others added that sentence it's because it's important at some point, but it's fuzzy for me (but it's maybe my limited use of English).


Totally awesome idea for cards storage!


OK I'm sure it's me missing something obvious because my English is weak but, if I compare...

Enhance , Elixir of Energy Resistance and Ruin, I see a problem.

Under "While displayed"

Enhance wrote:
At the end of the turn, banish.

and

Elixir of Energy Resistance wrote:


When you suffer..., reduce it by 1.
When you suffer..., banish to reduce it to 0.

My problem is... aren't we missing a "you may" in the last line of the Elixir ?

Or if the "you may" is always implied by the new wording, does it mean I can keep Enhance displayed forever ?
Or does it mean that a "When" always implies a hidden "may" (hope they checked that for all cards) ?

But then I think I have an issue with

Ruin wrote:
When a monster is undefeated, shuffle a new monster...

where I'm pretty sure there is no hidden "may".

And if there is no hidden "may", what's the point of the first power in the Elixir since the second will always trigger ?

Tell me where I'm wrong please...


The simple one of the day. I guess the answer is obvious (and maybe somewhere already in the rules/FAQ/forums) but we didn't find it, so it's up to the veterans of the forum:

Mist Horn (WotR Item 1) wrote:
Display this card next to a location. Reduce damage dealt by monsters at that location by 3.
Typical Bad Dragon wrote:
Before you act, each character is dealt d6 damage.

Mist Horn is displayed at location HERE.

A) I encounter the Dragon at HERE. Does another character at THERE location benefit from the damage reduction?
B) I encounter the Dragon at THERE. Does another character at HERE location benefit from the damage reduction?

It's certainly me not being a native english speaker but I can't figure this one out: "That location refers to the location where the Mist is displayed or the one of the monster?"


Hi everyone, this is one for the expert.

Ally Pteranodon wrote:
On your turn, discard this card to move; you may then explore your location. During this exploration, add 1d6 to your combat checks.
Location Dam wrote:
You may not move or be moved from this location unless another character is present
Location Shimmerglens wrote:
You must succeed at a Wisdom or Divine 7 check to move or be moved to another location

Questions:

A) I am alone in the Dam, can I play the Pteranodon to explore locally?
Answer is NO if I am not mistaken.

Now for the fun

B) I am at the Shimmerglens, can I play the Pteranodon if I have d8 in Wisdom?
I guess I can.
But now if I fail the Wisdom check, can I explore my location (Shimmerglens)?
I guess I can because I actually TRIED to move with a chance to do so.

But then...

C) I am at the Shimmerglens, can I play the Pteranodon if I have d4 in both Wisdom and Divine?
Do we say we cannot play the ally because I cannot play a card on an impossible effect (moving is just impossible, just like it was in the case of the Dam), so I cannot cheat the rules to use the ally to explore locally? That would be my guess.

Ideas?


1) Armor have no "size" : A Medium character can use an armor he finds on the body of a small character and reverse.

YES/NO

2) In exploration mode, if a Rogue character attempts to be stealthy, but travels with a group that makes light and we're in a dark cavern, the Rogue can't use Stealth for initiative anyways and must roll initiative on Perception.

YES/NO

3) The Rogue should declare than he uses Nimble Dodge before the attack die is rolled.

YES/NO

4) As of today, there is no skill/feat/ability that let you diagnose if a character has a disease or is poisoned (you have to treat those withjout knowing if it is necessary).

YES/NO

5) There is no penalty to attacking when you are prone. And you can do so even if one of your ally for example is in the same square of you and is attacking too. By the Book, you could even be 20 characters on the same squere all attacking the same monster without any penalty to attacks as long as at least 19 of you are prone.

YES/NO

Whatever the "official" answer, we feel that all of the above points may need a bit of clarification in the rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are skills/actions to treat/cure disease/poison, but I haven't seen anything to detect/diagnose disease/poison.

Did Paizo forget something?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So if I follow, before the update we had :

Initial Playtest Rulebook P295 (Getting Knocked Out) wrote:
If you already had the dying condition, instead increase your dying condition by 1. If the attack was a critical hit, you gain the dying 2 condition (or increase your dying condition by 2).

So if the monster kept hitting me (coup-de-grâce story) while I was dying, my dying condition was increasing. Seems legit.

But now...

Update 1.1 (Getting Knocked Out) wrote:
If the damage came from a lethal source, you gain the dying 1 condition. If the effect that knocked you out was a critical success from the attacker or the result of your critical failure, you gain the dying 2 condition instead.

You do not increase anymore the dying value by hitting a dying character? Seems so because of the two following rules:

Update 1.1 (Taking Damage while Dying) wrote:
If you take damage while you’re already unconscious, apply the same effects as if you had been knocked out by that damage, except you don’t move your initiative position.

So you do not ADD to the dying value, you just ADD a new independent dying condition+value, but then :

Initial Playtest Rulebook P319 (CONDITION VALUES) wrote:
If you’re affected by a condition with a value multiple times, you apply only the higher value, although you might have to track both durations if one has a lower value but lasts longer.

Tada! The monster can never get you above dying 2 even if it keeps on hitting your lying body.

Say you have the diehard feat (you die at dying value = 5), then even if you critically fail your recovery check (dying value = 2 from the monster criticaly hitting you 20 times + 2 from your critical failure), you are still not dead???? Something I misunderstood because I'm not a native english speaker?
BROKEN???
Someone forgot something when updating the rules.... IMHO


OK since I hinted about it in a previous post and was asked to, here is my very humble tribute to Ron's (and Vic, Mike...) fantastic work.
It started by the idea to create a specific homebrew adventure for evil characters based on the Sarkoris adventure from Ron (because I'm lazy and didn't want to lose time selecting locations and the like).
Possessed Spirits of Sarkoris.

OK now a bunch of warnings:
A) I'm a french guy so my english is crap.
B) In my version there are many nice pictures but I don't have the authorization to publish them so you have it "naked".
C) I shamelessly copied Ron's work to start from.
D) I'm an old DM that hates characters that feel that their equipement is forever - so on purpose you WILL have to banish your precious cards. That's part of the fun to have to do with improvised solutions and play with a different deck ecah time. Crazy optimizing deckbuilders should walk away now.
E) I do have crazy ideas for scenarios (I'm a really old DM).
F) It has only be played with 4-5 players teams. I have no clue if it's fun or even winable with a much smaller party.
G) This is YOUR game, if you don't like something, change it before playing it rather than complaining after.
H) This said I welcome ANY feedback.
I) Some of the craziest scenarios (especially all level 7 ones) can take HOURS to play. We love it when you battle for long (and we wanted a long showdown before retiring our heroes). If it isn't your case, skip the scenario.
J) feel free to remove from the box boons/loots/cohorts... that make no sense when not playing with mythic charges/paths for example. Or don't. Your pick.

And last: the original adventure from Ron is fantastic with only one little flaw: either he never tested it with 4-5 players or he hates spellcasters :-). I mean the ratio of spells vs any other kind of boons in the locations he used for 4-5 characters is ridiculously low. I didn't fix that because I wanted to keep the spirit of the background created by Ron for Srakoris. But you may want to balance that.

Anyway, have fun while we wait for the PACGnextGEN.
Meanwhile we start testing Pathfinder V2... so I'll be away from PACG for a while.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Cool!


We had a discussion on whether you can play a power like Life Lantern's one when facing a situation where you are instructed not to play more than card. What do you think?

Hollow Serpent wrote:
You may play no more than 1 card on the check to defeat
Life Lantern wrote:
For your combat check, reveal this card and recharge a card.... to....

By the book I think you can't.

Other example:
Staff of Focus wrote:
Reveal this card and discard a spell to....


1 person marked this as a favorite.

OK we must get something wrong because this scenario is at least as bad as the dreadly Best Served Impossible.

Since

Keith wrote:
I'm not "that" cruel (sic)

it must be us missing something. We nearly TPK a whole 4 or 5 players party at least 4 times.

Now we aren't playing class decks, but rather standard MM characters (Channa Ti, Ezren, Simoun, Zadim) and Bekah using the boons from the box as usual for standard play. So we may be a bit less optimized than class decks characters, but so that it may explain recurring failure.

OK let's go and list why it's even worse than Best Served Cold... spoiler for those who do not want to know...

Spoiler:

With 4 players (Bekah, Channa Ti, Simoun and Zadim), the cumulative panic comes from:
- (5+1)*6+4=40 banes in the siege deck,
- 30 turns in the blessing deck... 5 of which are sandstorm
- The 6 henchmen are meant to make you lose time and health (pretty much they account for at least 2 encounter each) :
> Akvan will have to be defeated many times and each time will make you encounter a nasty villain that in turn will usually make another character lose her next turn
> Shira will usually make you bury a card
> Usij Cultist will damage everyone at your location no matter what and make you lose a full turn if you can't defeat it
> Ghawwa will make you encounter another henchman (Pairaka)... even multiple times if you dare examine
> Druj-Nasu will make you encounter another henchman (Beheaded)
> Disciple of the Forgotten Pharaoh will also make you encounter another henchman
- You just must defeat any bane you encounter because if not a) you just lose the turn of another character (1d6 acid damage) and b) you'll have to defeat Akvan once more
- It seems clever to examine a lot using Mnesoset (I mean if you are lucky to trigger a free encounter that you actually can defeat, you just won one of the 40 dread cards) but that will trigger every barrier in the universe, which in turn (unless defeated) will trigger 1d6 acid
- Oh and did I mention that unless you can reduce that acid, you suffer a scourge too. At some point you'll get something like Curse of Fevered Dreams that will kill the only real benefit of Mnesoset (i. e. Hand Size 8).
- At some point you'll automatically spawn Lightning Storm and other nasty stuff like that, that you won't be able to be safe from due to the sandstorms.
- And at some point, your caster will encounter something like that guy who will destroy his hand and someone else hand... plus a scourge.
- Icing on the cake, you get the Five-Pointed Sun that will kill you whether you are there (1d4 cold damage) or not (spawning monsters).

Too many damage altogether : we always end up having two characters (because acid fires on random characters) that cannot reset their hand at the same time around mid-game and no means to heal them both, so we quit.

Maybe it's due to Bekah being a mainly support character... so she never really explore for fear she would fail to defeat. But I feel bad if a scenario doesn't allow for support characters.

Anyway, any idea what we miss?


Hi.

Sorry guys my credit card expired so the order was rightfully stopped.
I did put a new valid credit card for my subscriptions but I don't know how to change it for the current pending stopped order.
Can you make sure to use that new credit card for order 4693139 and to ship it on time if possible?

Thanks for the help.


Just checking after a friend made me promise during our sunday game that I would ask the community.

Say I have a card that has the Fire trait and that has a power that spells something like
"[Whatever the condition] ignore the bane's immunities."

Now I encounter a bane that is immune to Fire and Cold.

Do we agree that I cannot play that card (or use this power - if the card is already displayed or played earlier for example) against that bane?

So with that card I:
- can remove the Cold immunity to a bane only immune to Cold
- cannot remove the Cold immunity to a bane immune to both Fire and Cold

And that is true even if that card :
- is already displayed when I encounter the bane (and has for example a power like "While displayed ignore all banes' immunities").
- has been played earlier and has a power impacting the encounter. For example the card is an ally that I discarded/recharged/... to explore again and it had a power like "During that exploration ignore all banes' immunities".

I'm pretty sure it works like that but I promised I'll check with you guys.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Dear dear Santa,

I know this year has been full and exhausting and you are now certainly preparing the New Year's Eve resting gently in the South Pole enjoying a well deserved Gewurztraminer.
Please do.
However it seems there was a slight misunderstanding concerning my own letter to you dated a few days back (i. e. before Xmas).
So just to let you know in case you can do something about it.
I'm sure you can.
I was expecting boxes of nice errata-ed DriveThru cards for all the existing adventure sets and "seasons of" sets too.
And some promo cards with the last minis.
And a soon-to-be-released new adventure set.
And some downloadable characters sheets for the recently released ans to come class-and-the-like decks.
And peace on earth.
And some candies and peanut butter milkshakes too because it's a nightmare to get a decent one in France.
Yours, sincerely.
Promised, I've been good and nice this year. For example, I didn't say anything bad about the Brexit (or If I did, I don't remember).

Frencois

PS: if you can fix the rest, I can do without the milkshake - my wife is concerned that I might get fat.

:-)


I guess since Paizo licensed them they won't blame me for doing a bit of advertisement.

I'm a fan of Reaper Miniatures "Bones" unpainted plastic.
In the current Kickstarter ending soon you can find minis for 5 of the existing PACG iconic characters.
Since pretty much all the others were already produced, collection is nearly complete.

For those who didn't follow the previous 3 Kickstarters, these is some of the shiny PACG related stuff already on my shelves (great to use with PACG) - pretty sure you gonna recognize all those heroes:
Bones I-I
Bones I-II
Bones I-III
Bones I-IV
Bones I-V
Bones II-I
Bones II-II
Bones III-I
Bones III-II


Hi everyone,

I received part of the order (the Pathfinder Battles Crown of Fangs case and the Pathfinder Battles Crown of Fangs: Court of the Crimson Throne - still waiting for the RPG books that should arrive shortly I guess)

However,

Regarding the Pathfinder Battles Crown of Fangs: Court of the Crimson Throne there was supposed to be 2 very small minis of food plates. Knowing that I was very cautious opening the box, but never found them in the box (all the rest of the minis are perfect).
Is there a chance someone forgot to put them in or they were lost somewhere in the process? Did it happen to others?
It's not a big deal but if you have some spare, can you slide them in my next shipment?

Thanks


If I move from location A to location B while the boat is in location C, does the boat move to B?

Since the boat is attached to a location and not the scenario I ruled that it didn't.
Was I right?


Mavaro wrote:
During your encounter with a bane, you may recharge a weapon, an armor, or an item that has the Magic trait to summon and play a random spell that has the Attack trait and an adventure deck number less than that of the current

What happens if the spell as a trait to which the bane is immune?

The summoned spell goes back in the box with no effect?
Is the initial card still recharged or is the whole thing cancelled an the card stays in the hand?
Can Mavaro play another spell from his hand then?
Can is reuse his power until he finds a playable spell (recharging different cards, if indeed the first one was "spent"?
And so on...

My daughter invents tricky questions with Mavaro every game.


Not obvious to understand how it works.
Are we right to assume that when the pyramid is above a closed location, the closed side (i. e. no effect) of the pointed sun location applies (thus the location is still permanently closed)?


Hi everyone, answer is certainly in the rules but don't remember where:
I know I can only play relevant cards during an encounter, but is it also true during examinations that aren't encounters?
Example 1: I get to examine 4 cards. Card 1 and card 3 have a trigger, can I play cure between the resolution of the two triggers?
Example 2: Card 1's trigger is "when examined, succeed at Dexterity 13 check or...", can another character send me a bird token with a lottery urn so I can reroll?
And question 3 (already asked but if someone can remind me of the official answer): if I get for example to "examine three cards then put them back in any order", do I get to see the three of them before applying the trigger of the first card?


We ran into that one yesterday. And we really love (being non-native English speakers) when we are puzzled on whether we just can't read plain Elvish or whether indeed there may be a wording issue worthy of a new thread. So in doubt, there it is:

This is an English puzzle for Mike, the master of maths-and-English riddles.

I'm playing Drelm (Melee d10+2) using his Whip (Melee+d6) and a Caravan Guard (+d4) for a combat check. But he has the Curse of Withering (During your check, when you assemble your dice, replace all of your highest-size dice with the same number of the next lower-size dice).
Does he roll d8+d6+d4+2 or 2d6+d4+2?
I. e. does "next lower-size" refer to dice existing in the box or to dice assembled for the check?

Note that
- in the first case Curse of Withering is ineffective if I only roll d4s
- in the second case, Curse of Withering is ineffective if all the dice I assembled are of the same type

That was our Sphinx riddle of the week...


Hi everyone,

Received today a mail saying the payment was declined.
Don't understand why.
May be a bug due to the fact that I changed to a new credit card I just received since the previous one was just out of date, but there is no reason whatsoever why this one is to be rejected since it works well these days for many other transactions.

Anyway I just tried a few minutes ago to reuse the same credit card and send you a mail about it. Please tell me it worked this time else I will use another card.
Anyway please do not delay shipping (I’ve been a subscriptions owner for years, I would really hate missing one shipment).

Thanks again for your service over the years.
Tell me if there is anything else I can do.

Regards


Basic question I have been asked but don't know why I'm not 100% sure you can.
Seems to me you can play it when you would play an armor, but is it true?


Say Mavaro is at Ruined Temple (when you play a card that has the Divine trait, bury it).
Since it doesn't say "instead", if Mavaro displays a Divine card that gets then buried, He still wins the Divine skill until the end of turn, right?


Question raised by a friend after playing Acid Jet at the Sulfur Pits.
Sulfur Pits says "on your check that has the Acid trait, add 1 die". OK 1 have one additional die on my combat check, but do I have also one additional die on my check to recharge the spell?