Base location strategy (Curse)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi everyone,

I just realized something and wanted to make sure i'm correct.

At the base location, can you use a card that let's you make additional exploration (blessing, allies, etc.) and use the effect of the base again ? Also, since you can choose to heal a card after exploring, you can actually heal the card you used to make your additional exploration ?

A monk with a hand of blessing could end up drawing a handful of supporters, lol. The only requirement I can see is that you need to display the supporters before leaving the base.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yes. However remember that you cannot heal the card you just used to make the additional exploration.

Rulebook p. 9 wrote:
RULES: HEALING ... If you’re discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card from the cards you are healing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Frencois wrote:

Yes. However remember that you cannot heal the card you just used to make the additional exploration.

Rulebook p. 9 wrote:
RULES: HEALING ... If you’re discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card from the cards you are healing.

Hmm. I've not seen the Base played this way, even with experienced players.

Some people on this site, for instance, are notorious on Turn 1 for exploring the Base multiple times, each time healing the card just used to explore.

It's the Base doing the healing, right - not the card you used to explore? So this is legal?

P.S. I like your way better, as it's too easy to get a bunch of free supporters on Turn 1 at little to no expense - assuming what I describe is allowed.


I think Frencois is correct since character powers that heal also work this way.


As is the similar "chain" of powers caused by discarding to play your Harrow card during one of the Curse adventures:

Adventure Rules wrote:
When you play your Harrow, you may heal a blessing.

It could be argued that this is further separated by being the effects of an exploration, allowing that heal, but I would disagree.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Bottomline is infinite exploration at no cost just isn't fun.
That's the spirit of the Healing Rules.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

What the heck am I missing with all this talk of "infinite explorations"? The base HEALS the card, doesn't let you DRAW it, right?! So you would in fact need explore cards in your hand to discard and "rush" the Base, right?
Even if you couldn't heal the card for your first Base explore - you would heal it with your second explore etc. - so bottomline the difference would only be one card in discard (for your final explore) versus none - a pretty marginal difference to be trying to stretch rules over it, IMHO. (And they were already pretty thinly stretched with that Harrow ruling, but whatever, everyone's free to play as they please, I suppose)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You aren't discarding a card to heal, you are discarding it to explore. Healing that card is perfectly fine, non-game breaking, and doesn't break any rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I tend to agree that you're not discarding a card to heal - the location is the only power healing you, and even then it's one of multiple effects.

However, a previous ruling and FAQ suggests that any event that would cause a heal will never heal the card initially triggering the event.

In truth, I don't know how to completely interpret that ruling. Is discarding a boon to explore really tied into the Base location power healing you as if it were a single action? Heck, the heal happens after you pick up a Supporter... By that logic, if you discarded an ally to explore and encountered a monster that said "If defeated, heal an ally" then the monster wouldn't be able to heal the ally you just used, as the implication would be that the entire exploration (and all consequences thereof) is somehow tied into the act of the boon you discarded to make that exploration happen.

Personally, as above, I would not consider using the Base to heal as "discarding a card while healing", and that you should be putting your Ally/Blessing/Etc in your discards before actually taking your exploration.

Either way, it's certainly not gamebreaking however you rule it.


What about Poog?

Poog wrote:
When another character plays a blessing on your check, after the check she may shuffle 1 random card (□ or 2 random cards) from her discard pile into her deck.

Appears you can heal the same blessing you played on his check, assuming its the only think in your discard.


Slacker2010 wrote:

What about Poog?

Poog wrote:
When another character plays a blessing on your check, after the check she may shuffle 1 random card (□ or 2 random cards) from her discard pile into her deck.
Appears you can heal the same blessing you played on his check, assuming its the only think in your discard.

I've been playing Poog off and on in OP (online) for months, and I've never been entirely clear on what "after the check" actually means. It leads to some interesting timing issues, to be sure.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
wkover wrote:
Slacker2010 wrote:

What about Poog?

Poog wrote:
When another character plays a blessing on your check, after the check she may shuffle 1 random card (□ or 2 random cards) from her discard pile into her deck.
Appears you can heal the same blessing you played on his check, assuming its the only think in your discard.
I've been playing Poog off and on in OP (online) for months, and I've never been entirely clear on what "after the check" actually means. It leads to some interesting timing issues, to be sure.

IMHO I would say that in that case the "another" character can indeed shuffle back the blessing because the word "Heal" doesn't appear anywhere in Poog's power. So the "Healing" rule on page 9 has no reason to trigger.

This is where I see the difference with the Base or the Curse-Harrow adventure powers that clearly use the "Heal" word. IMHO.

And we all know that RAW prevails ("Read All Words")!
Yep Mike, I call shotgun to copyright that one :-).


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
wkover wrote:


I've been playing Poog off and on in OP (online) for months, and I've never been entirely clear on what "after the check" actually means.

It means pretty literally what it says: you do it after Attempting the Check (that you played a blessing on) so any cards discarded to failed-check damage (in Take Damage (If Necessary)) should now be valid target for your heal; and you do it before Attempt the Next Check (if any) - so the target player will not have attempted to recharge a spell he played on the check (for instance) - and so such a spell, discarded on a failed recharge will be too late to be a target for your heal.

But if you have any more specific timing concerns, I'd love to nitpick :D


Longshot11 wrote:
wkover wrote:


I've been playing Poog off and on in OP (online) for months, and I've never been entirely clear on what "after the check" actually means.
...if you have any more specific timing concerns, I'd love to nitpick :D

Can't think of any at the moment, but the phrase "after the check" had our heads befuddled a few times based on the wordings of a few interacting boons/banes.

It's a relatively rare phrase that only occurs on a couple of cards: Poog's character power, a power on Crowe's Mauler role, Embalming Fluid (and similar cards), and Zon-Kuthon's Pain (Core). Maybe a handful of others.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

With exception of “after acting” which is an explicitly named step, whenever PACG says to do something after some other thing, you do it immediately after you have finished with that other thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Base location strategy (Curse) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion