![]() ![]()
![]() Robert A Matthews wrote: I sure hope so, since it's a higher spell level than Teleport, and you can certainly use that to escape a locked room or box. I heard an interesting interpretation of shadow walk last night that suggests that since the shadow plane is a "duplicate" of the material plane that overlays it, the same terrain and obstructions on the material plane are duplicated on the shadow plane--and thus if you're trapped in a room on the material plane you are similarly trapped on the shadow plane. ![]()
![]() Kradlum wrote: In the full rules, when you use Disguise Self any creature you interact with gets a will save to see through the illusion. I don't see this mentioned in the beginner box rules. Have I missed something? Nope. There doesn't appear to be anything to find. I'm sure illusions are an "advanced" concept. ![]()
![]() Yes. From Magic>Arcane Spells... Spell Slots The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. a spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels. ![]()
![]() While the CritGen! Web App @d20pfsrd.com is free for all, for those that want to take their Critical Hits and Fumbles to go, the app is now available for iPhone/IPAD: Also, for Android users, get it from the d20pfsrd store:
or from Google Play:
![]()
![]() I own Paizo's Crtical Hit and Critical Fumble decks as well as the iCrit and iFumble apps (for Android AND iPhone), however there were a couple of features I wanted to see in the apps that weren't available, so as a developer I created the tool that I wanted based on the OGL material generously provided by Paizo. The two main things I wanted:
![]()
![]() VRMH wrote:
Hmm. I guess that would technically be correct. I thought sending's Range of "see text", would offset that, but you're right that it doesn't. As far as I can find, sending is one of a very small group of spells (demand,discern location)that have a target of one creature and a range that would likely make it impossible to see or touch the target. ![]()
![]() VRMH wrote: Technically the spell rarely if ever works: it has a "Target: one creature" line in its description, which means: "You must be able to see or touch the target". "One-creature" ... Inigo Montoya, The Princess Bride wrote:
![]()
![]() I'm pretty sure that the spell in and of itself does not let the caster know if the target is "alive" or not--though that might be determined if the target responds--and even then the target may now be undead... I see that some people think that this spell works like message creating an audible effect that the target (and possibly others) hear and then consequently the target must respond with his actual voice. If this is the case (which I don't believe is true), the sending would be impacted if the target is:
Though its clearly lacking in the rules description, the way I've always viewed it, is the sending is telepathic and works regardless of language (like telepathic bond). Even in this view, an unconscious (or dead) creature couldn't respond and the caster would have no information regarding the target. ![]()
![]() This is what I might do. Note, when deciding whether or not to add one (or more creatures) to an encounter, you might stagger the encounter to get a feel for how your group is doing against the encounter as written. If they are already struggling, you might just decide to keep it as it, but if they are mopping things up in this encounter or previous encounters, you might want to bring in more baddies. My Suggested Modifications for 5 PCs ... Encounter 1: Add another Unarmed Goblin. Encounter 5: Increase Giant Spider Hit Points to 20. Alternately, add another Giant Spider with 8 hit points. Encounter 7: Increase Reef Claw Hit Points to 17. Alternately, add another Reef Claw with 6 hit points. Encounter 8: Add a Goblin Warrior, increase King Fatmouth's Hit Points to 18. Encounter 9: Add a Human Skeleton. Encounter 10: As is. Black Fang has more than enough room in his belly for a fifth meal! Good luck and above all else have fun. ![]()
![]() Contingency condition: "If I am damaged by fire."
I know I could have said "If I am exposed to fire", or some other wording, but for the sake of this argument, consider the above condition. If I am hit by a fire attack for 150 points of damage, do I take 1 point of fire damage and then the contingency triggers the protection from energy (fire) "immediately", in which case I would then only take an additional (149-132=) 17 points of fire damage? Or would the contingency not be able to react until I've taken the full damage of the spell (150 points of fire damage) and then trigger--likely after I'm dead? ![]()
![]() Have a 10' (or deeper) pool around the fountain. If the water (acid?) or statues are disturbed, the statues animate and attack. Their primary tactic is to grapple an intruder, move to the pool and jump in. Once in the pool, the statues will do nothing but maintain a grapple. If a statue is splashed with more than an ounce of water from the pool, it does nothing for one round (except to maintain a grapple if it is grappling). Observant PCs may notice that statues that move near the fountain begin to move in a jerky fashion--apparently when in the mist of the fountain's spray. Have treasure at the bottom of the pool from previous victims to entice adventures to investigate the pool. As an added bonus have the remains of those victims animate (skeletons, zombies, etc.) and attack any living creauture that enters the pool. Have fun! ![]()
![]() No. However, shocking grasp has a verbal component; when you cast it, a nearby creature may make DC 0 Perception check (modified by distance) to detect your character. ![]()
![]() Do you need line of effect from a creature you are possessing to return to the jar? Magic Jar: Spoiler:
Magic Jar School necromancy; Level sorcerer/wizard 5 Casting Time 1 standard action Components V, S, F (a gem or crystal worth at least 100 gp) Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level) Target one creature Duration 1 hour/level or until you return to your body Saving Throw Will negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes By casting magic jar, you place your soul in a gem or large crystal (known as the magic jar), leaving your body lifeless. Then you can attempt to take control of a nearby body, forcing its soul into the magic jar. You may move back to the jar (thereby returning the trapped soul to its body) and attempt to possess another body. The spell ends when you send your soul back to your own body, leaving the receptacle empty. To cast the spell, the magic jar must be within spell range and you must know where it is, though you do not need line of sight or line of effect to it. When you transfer your soul upon casting, your body is, as near as anyone can tell, dead. While in the magic jar, you can sense and attack any life force within 10 feet per caster level (and on the same plane of existence). You do need line of effect from the jar to the creatures. You cannot determine the exact creature types or positions of these creatures. In a group of life forces, you can sense a difference of 4 or more HD between one creature and another and can determine whether a life force is powered by positive or negative energy. (Undead creatures are powered by negative energy. Only sentient undead creatures have, or are, souls.) You could choose to take over either a stronger or a weaker creature, but which particular stronger or weaker creature you attempt to possess is determined randomly. Attempting to possess a body is a full-round action. It is blocked by protection from evil or a similar ward. You possess the body and force the creature's soul into the magic jar unless the subject succeeds on a Will save. Failure to take over the host leaves your life force in the magic jar, and the target automatically succeeds on further saving throws if you attempt to possess its body again. If you are successful, your life force occupies the host body, and the host's life force is imprisoned in the magic jar. You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities. A body with extra limbs does not allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal. You can't choose to activate the body's extraordinary or supernatural abilities. The creature's spells and spell-like abilities do not stay with the body. As a standard action, you can shift freely from a host to the magic jar if within range, sending the trapped soul back to its body. The spell ends when you shift from the jar to your own body. If the host body is slain, you return to the magic jar, if within range, and the life force of the host departs (it is dead). If the host body is slain beyond the range of the spell, both you and the host die. Any life force with nowhere to go is treated as slain. If the spell ends while you are in the magic jar, you return to your body (or die if your body is out of range or destroyed). If the spell ends while you are in a host, you return to your body (or die, if it is out of range of your current position), and the soul in the magic jar returns to its body (or dies if it is out of range). Destroying the receptacle ends the spell, and the spell can be dispelled at either the magic jar or the host's location.
Thoughts? ![]()
![]() Damage as normal. Undead anatomy doesn't appear to provide resistance to negative energy damage per se, it only affects channeling, cure and inflict effects. ![]()
![]() If a caster possess an intelligent undead with magic jar, does the caster gain Immunity to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms)? My thinking is that the target's body still maintains its type and subtype, so any mind affecting spell would be targeting the physical brain (or lack thereof) of the undead target and not the caster's lifeforce/psyche. Thoughts? |