![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() I'm wondering about the interaction of Spectral Hand with Imaginary Weapon, specifically if it would allow you to make both Strikes on 2 adjacent targets or 2 targets separated by 5 feet (XOX). Spectral Hand : You create a semi corporeal hand out of your essence that delivers touch spells for you. Whenever you Cast a Spell with a range of touch, you can have the hand crawl to a target within range along the ground, touch it, and then crawl back to you. When making a melee spell attack with the hand, you use your normal bonuses. The hand can move as far as it needs to within range. Imaginary Weapon : Cast somatic, verbal
You create a simple weapon of force. Make a melee spell attack roll against your target's AC. If you hit, you deal your choice of bludgeoning or slashing damage equal to 1d8 plus your spellcasting ability modifier. On a critical success, you deal double damage and can choose to detonate your weapon to push the target 10 feet away from you. Heightened (+1) The damage increases by 1d8. Amp You form multiple force weapons to lash out at multiple foes. You make two imaginary weapon Strikes, each against a different target. Your multiple attack penalty doesn't increase until you've made both Strikes.
Spectral Hand says that the hand can touch a single target, but so does Imaginary Weapon. My question is : if the hand can get into position to target 2 ennemies, can you do both strikes from the Amped Imaginary Weapon? Bonus question : Do you control the movement of the hand (possibly avoiding AoOs) or does it just automatically take the shortest path to the target? Thanks a lot in advance for your input ! ![]()
![]() I’m asking this because there is a different damage die when using a melee Produce Flame when using it through the Oscillating Wave Psychic Dedication (https://2e.aonprd.com/ConsciousMinds.aspx?ID=3), so I’m wondering if I can apply this with a ranged Spellstrike. My thinking is that this could work since the arrows essentially delivers the spell in melee but I’m checking how that would fly RAW since this is for PFS so "check with your DM" wouldn’t really be a good answer. Thanks a lot in advance for your insights! ![]()
![]() Hello, I've run into an argument with a GM in a PFS game about this spell recently.
Bladed dash mentions that you can "immediately move up to 30 feet in a straight line any direction".
So i've got three questions, the main one being the first :
Thank you in advance for your help PS : If for any reason there doesn't seem to be a clear answer to this, don't hesitate to press the FAQ button ![]()
![]() Hello, I've made another thread about White Haired Witches but since I have other unrelated questions I decided to create a new thread. So here they are : 1) When you constrict a creature, do you reapply any remaining touch spells you were holding the charge with?
2) So there's this feat called Final Embrace that some people say is useful for White Hair Witches because it is supposed to make the constrict a free action. Honestly it confuses me more than anything for several reasons :
The second problem I have with this is assuming that one of the requirements is to have the constrict special ability, the feats says you gain that ability once more (should it be modified to be a free action ? ), and introduces a size restriction that shouldn't exist for white haired witches if I'm correct. Given the number of monsters that are large in PFS it would quite diminish the usefulness of the WHW to be able to constrict only medium or smaller creatures. 3) When you grapple with your white hair, you are not considered as grappled. What does this mean? Could you still make an AOO with that said hair? Could you grapple a second person? Thanks a lot for your answers in advance ! ![]()
![]() Hello, I'm currently trying to come up with a viable White Haired Witch build.
I would also gladly take any advice concerning a WHW build (aimed towards PFS), I was thinking of going monk with feral combat training and perhaps eldritch knight and I don't know how many levels of WHW to take (assuming I won't go higher than level 12 or so) Thanks in advance for your help, Octave ![]()
![]() Hello everyone, I've recently started playing a 8th level necromancer in a mythic campaign and I am looking for advice as to what is better when considering animating fast zombies or bloody skeletons.
So what's your take on this? For example I want to animate a manticore but I don't know which variant to use. ![]()
![]() Hello everybody, I'm planning to build a Necromancer for a homebrew Mythic campaign taking place in the Ravenloft setting. I've read those two guides : Brewers Guide to Undeath And Necromancers
and I find it hard to choose between going the cleric or the wizard way. It seems like cleric get animate dead sooner so maybe that would be one of the positive points of clerics, especially since the game is gonna start at level 6, where cleric will have animate dead but not wizards. The thing that is most confusing to me is the discrepancy between those two guides.
I find that the access to the Command Undead (Mythic) feat would perhaps turn a bit the tables, as it would prevent intelligent undeads from having a second save when I use Command undead. Another blocking point is the real use of the "Undead Master feat", if I understand it correctly, the wording is such that it would only increase the maximum HD of the undead I can raise using animate dead, but not the actual max HD of the pool of undead I can control, which would make it a bit lackluster. Last but not least, I have never played a cleric in an actual long duration game, and I wonder if a channeling build (maybe with the dazing variant) would be better than "god wizard" spells when coupled with my necromantic abilities. I guess what I'm really asking is both "what's more optimized" and "what do you think would be more entertaining to play". Thanks in advance for your help, Faskill PS : Just to get it out of the way, I read the Undead Lord cleric archetype and I agree with the first guide's author in the opinion that it is not very good, especially in a game that will begin at level 6 / mythic tier 1, and will be more aimed towards the higher levels. ![]()
![]() Hello everyone, I'm playing a melee dragoon/summoner in a crimson throne AP game, and I kind of have run into a conundrum.
What are your thoughts on this? Thanks in advance for your help ;) ![]()
![]() Frostbite PRD wrote: Your melee touch attack deals 1d6 points of nonlethal cold damage + 1 point per level Enforcer PRD wrote: Whenever you deal nonlethal damage with a melee weapon, you can make an Intimidate check to demoralize your target as a free action. Do these abilities work together? Naysayers will say that Frostbite is a spell that just happens to be delivered by a touch attack, and that the weapon itself, not the weapon attack, has to deliver the nonlethal damage. However it has been proven by FAQ that rays count as weapons. FAQ:
Ray: Do rays count as weapons for the purpose of spells and effects that affect weapons? Yes. (See also this FAQ item for a similar question about rays and weapon feats.) For example, a bard's inspire courage says it affects "weapon damage rolls," which is worded that way so don't try to add the bonus to a spell like fireball. However, rays are treated as weapons, whether they're from spells, a monster ability, a class ability, or some other source, so the inspire courage bonus applies to ray attack rolls and ray damage rolls. The same rule applies to weapon-like spells such as flame blade, mage's sword, and spiritual weapon--effects that affect weapons work on these spells. —Sean K Reynolds, 07/29/11
What's more, melee touch attacks are counted as "armed attacks" : "Armed" Unarmed Attacks wrote: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks). In that sense, can we have a consensus as to whether Enforcer can apply to a Frostbite (more specifically to a Frostbite delivered through Spellstrike)? Thanks in advance ;) ![]()
Hi, Is there a consistent way, maybe an item, that would allow me to cast enlarge person or reduce person on myself without wasting a full round doing so? I could buy lots of enlarge person / reduce person potions, but I'd need a move action + a standard action to use them, which doesn't really help since I'd like to be able to move in the same turn I cast the spell. Thanks in advance ! ![]()
![]() Hello everyone, I'm currently building a magus for PFS with my newly gained GM credit. I've got a question as to the utility of Frostbite, especially if it's useful to take Wayang Spellhunter to be able to use the Rimed Frostbite + Enforcer combo. My magus will be a dex based elf, which means that he doesn't have much rooms for feats. I may take Rime Spell at 5th level (1st and 3rd level feats are weapon finesse and Dervish dance) but what I'm really wondering about is the usefulness of Frostbite, specifically, does it work with Enforcer? If it does, what happens when I use it? l Let's say I'm level 7, with two attacks from Haste. The round during which I cast frostbite I get 3 attacks with spellcombat/spellstrike. Then the two following rounds I get two additional frostbite attacks. If any of my attacks hit, the target will be Entangled + fatigued + shaken on a successful Intimidate check. If any of my attacks crit, my target will be frightened and will be dealt double damage from frostbite. Is that all correct? That seems quite the powerful combo, and I'm not sure i'm understanding it well. Thanks in advance for your insight ! ![]()
Hello there, I recently bought Slippers of Feather Step for my eidolon. Nevertheless, I have difficulties understanding how it works because so far the GMs I have played with have always ruled it to be near useless.
Here are some questions I'm asking myself : 1) If the ground is greased/iced or webbed, am I still able to charge? Would I need to make the acrobatics checks required in the two first cases, and in the third case would I need to roll a reflex not to get entangled? Would I get a negative modifier for moving at full speed? Could I choose to charge at half speed (that seems silly but thought I'd ask just in case) if it does? 2) If there are obstacles in my way, such as tables, chairs or even say 5 or 10' tall shelves, could I charge through them? In each case, would I need to make an acrobatics or climb check (could I choose between the 2)?
3) In the case that all of the above solutions don't work :
4) My eidolon is usually large, so would it allow her to charge through, say, a 5 or 8' opening? Thanks in advance for your answers, Endis and his quite unlucky eidolon Mazer ![]()
![]() Hello there, I've got a creative use of Ride by Attack I'd like to run through here. Say 2 ennemies are standing 30' away from each other, and I am standing adjacent to the first one. Could I declare a charge on the other one, and ride by attack the first one with my lance after having moved 10' (attacking backwards). If Im right, this wouldn't provoke right? ![]()
Hello everyone, I am currently leveling up a fighter (dragoon archetype) 1 / summoner 3 character who uses his eidolon as a mount. This is a PFS character so keep in mind that I can't just ask my GM if he will let that or that fly, my character has to be built fully legally. I am planning to take Improved Overun/Charge through on my eidolon as well as ride by attack on the summoner. I have many questions as to how these feats function by themselves, and synergize with each other 1) Does ride by attack let you pass through the square of the enemy you attack, or can you just go through a case adjacent to him? 2) If I try to charge through an opponent, but my eidolon fails his cmb check, will he and the summoner be able to take their attacks at the opponent (in that case the eidolon would use pounce if he could) ? 3) Let's say there's an an ally in front of a fighter opponent, with a caster type enemy 20ft behind. Could I use charge through (on my eidolon) to bypass my ally, then ride by attack the fighter and have my eidolon pounce on the caster? It seems legal to me but maybe a bit convoluted. I also have some more general mounted combat rule questions : 4) If I use an immediate action at the end of my turn to "Cover" using the ride skill, would I be able to fast dismount on the next turn so as not to waste my move action in order to recover? 5) If I try to fast mount/dismount, would I provoke and attack of opportunity if I fail my ride check and have to use a move action? Thanks in advance for your help ![]()
![]() Hello, I am planning to play a mounted summoner and I have a lot of questions I couldn't answer by searching the internet: 1) If I am using my mount=eidolon as a cover, would I be able to attempt to fast dismount so that I can full attack on the next round (thus not having to spend a move action on recovering) ? 2) Can I take 10 in ride checks done in combat? 3) Can you confirm that Ride-by-attack is useless, due to my eidolon not being able to attack? 4) Do you think taking a level in dragoon is necessary or should I go full summoner? Keep in mind that I'm trying to go for a melee summoner build so I need the weapon proficiencies regardless 5) Would I have a ride check to do when my eidolon pounces? 6) If I am wielding a greatsword, would I be able to attack from my Large mount? Thanks in advance for your answers ![]()
![]() Hello everyone, I am playing a (dex)magus who just reached 1st mythic tier and I usually use reduce person to increase my AC and hitting chances. Now there's a mythic augment for reduce person which would allow me to be turned into a tiny creature. Titan's bane says that when I share the space from a creature, it is flat footed and I gain cover against its attacks. How would it work against other creatures though? If I'm tiny and fighting in a large creature's space, wouldn't I get cover from other creatures, and even total cover when there's a part of the creature between me and my would be attacker?
Thanks in advance for your help ![]()
![]() Hello everybody, There's already been a long thread about the interaction of this two features, so I won't get into that; let's just say that the summoned creatures don't use the same ability as the paladins. What I'm wondering is that smite evil normally adds the charisma bonus to the attack rolls against the chosen creature. Most summoned creatures have a charisma inferior to 10, for example the leopard has 6, does this mean that I should actually take a -2 to attack rolls when using the smite evil ability? That doesn't make sense to me. Thanks in advance for your help ! |