Ekkias's page

9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thanks for the clarification.

The Summoner and Eidolon no longer automatically share each other's conditions, except ones that reduce actions. So I don't think the dazzled condition would effect the eidolon.


Would my eidolon taking damage trigger my gnome summoner's Unexpected Shift feat?

Eidolon text:

Quote:
Lastly, the connection between you and your eidolon means you both share a single pool of Hit Points. Damage taken by either you or the eidolon reduces your Hit Points, while healing either of you recovers your Hit Points. Like with your actions, if you and your eidolon are both subject to the same effect that affects your Hit Points, you apply those effects only once (applying the greater effect, if applicable). For instance, if you and your eidolon get caught in an area effect that would heal or damage you both, only the greater amount of healing or damage applies.
Quote:

Unexpected Shift (reaction)

Trigger: You would take damage from an attack, spell, or other effect.

Your supernatural connection sometimes causes you to phase from reality when under threat, disappearing for split seconds before reappearing—often surprising you as much as your enemies. Roll a DC 16 flat check. On a success, you gain resistance to all damage equal to your level against the triggering effect, you gain a +2 circumstance bonus to saving throws against that effect until the start of your turn, and you gain the dazzled condition for 1 round.


Snes wrote:
If the summoner has negative healing (due to being a dhampir, for example) and someone casts a one-action heal on the eidolon, what happens?

I had this same question last night. Has an answer been provided yet?


I've been thinking about this question as well, as one of my players has asked about doing this exact thing.

Xi'Tir: since the cost is the exact same as the Transformative weapon property, I am assuming they function exactly the same (in terms of benefits and limitations).

Old Lands Slayer: since it only applies to an Intelligent Item, which get their own standard action each round, I am considering the Shade Change to be a standard action that the item itself takes.

Obviously if the item in question is a legendary item (or artifact) then all bets are off.

Anyway, that's how I've interpreted that Intelligent Item Power.


Oridian wrote:

SENTIENT SWORD: You get a Black Blade that progresses with your

Arcanist level counting as Magus level. It also looks
like the Blade does not get it's own pool but works off
your Reservoir. You give up 1 Exploit for this.

I don't read where Sentient Sword indicates the black blade doesn't have it's own arcane pool to work off.

Spoiler:
Sentient Sword (Su): At 3rd level, the blade adept’s bonded sword becomes a powerful, sentient black blade. The blade advances as a black blade (Ultimate Magic 47) using the blade adept’s class level in place of the magus’s class level and points from her arcane reservoir in place of the magus’s arcane pool. A blade adept with this class feature cannot have a familiar of any kind, even from another class. This ability replaces the arcanist exploit gained at 3rd level.

I think the bolded text simply allows the black blade to effect points in the arcane reservoir that normally effect points in the magus' arcane pool, such as from Teleport Blade, Transfer Arcana, and Life Drinker.


Thanks Kazejin! Completely misread the prereq for the Multiattack feat.

Okay so new question. In addition to allowing him to use Flurry of Blows and natural attacks in the same round, does the Feral Combat Training feat mean that his bite and 2 claw attacks will use his unarmed damage (2d6, he has a robe of the monk) instead of their normal damage dice?

Thanks again.


So long story short, we have a Monk (hungry ghost, so no Purity of Body) in our PF game who was bitten by a werebear. We just made 9th level, and in the process of helping him level, I came across the rules for combining manufactured weapons with natural weapons.

He hasn't been using any of his natural attacks in hybrid form (2 claws and a bite) because his unarmed damage is so much better, but if I am understanding the rules correctly, he can also make 2 claws and a bite attack at BAB-5, using 1/2 Str for damage, with no penalty to his normal unarmed attacks (though not as part of his Flurry of Blows). Is that correct?

If that is the case, I have a question about the Multiattack feat. Since his unarmed strikes are considered both manufactured weapons and natural weapons, would his unarmed attack plus his 3 natural attacks in hybrid form qualify him for the Multiattack feat?

Thanks for the help!


Benchak the Nightstalker wrote:

Burning disarm can't be made into a Bouncing Spell. Burning disarm targets objects, whereas Bouncing Spell only affects spells that target creatures.

Whether or not the creature holding the item makes it's save, burning disarm successfully affects its target (the held object), so it wouldn't bounce.

Thanks Benchak. That makes very obvious sense. Darn.

Are there any low level spell combos a sorcerer can get to help him survive?

Thanks again for the help.
-Will


While deciding on spells for a new level 4 sorceror, I came across Burning Disarm, which says the target of the spell must succeed at a Reflex save to drop their weapon to avoid taking any damage.

This got me wondering, if I tagged Bouncing Spell (metamagic) onto the Burning Disarm, does that mean once my original target drops their weapon, the spell would bounce to another target?

When combined with the Magical Lineage trait, that seems abusively awesome for a low level caster. Anyone know if that interaction is correct, or am I missing something?

Muchos!
-Will