Chained Spirit

Dysfunction's page

Organized Play Member. 229 posts (246 including aliases). 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.



The Exchange

The Mauler Familiar limits the familiar's Int as per below:

Familiar Folio wrote:

Increased Strength (Ex): At 3rd level and every 2 levels thereafter, a mauler’s Strength score increases by 1. As a result

of this ability, the familiar’s Intelligence score remains 6; a
mauler can never have an Intelligence score higher than 6.

what happens if it uses a headband of intellect - would it have a 6+2=8 or would it be 6+2=6?

The Exchange

I know there have been several conversations about this topic, and everyone seems to have their own opinions.

Can someone provide the source of where it says that if a Hybrid class meets all the requirements, it can/can't take an archetype of the parent class?

The Exchange

As morbid as this sounds, I'm thinking of Silence of the Lambs or Men in Black, when the skin was worn like a body suit.

with that in mind, here are some initial questions:

1. What are the rules if one PC wanted to wear the skin of the other?

2. Would this be a disguise?

3. If the PC was attacked while wearing the other PC, who would take the damage?
Would this be considered to fall under the rules of the 'construct armor' from ultimate magic?

4. Could the PC that has this spell casted on them, put things inside their skin and carry it around like they were one big bag?

5. What happens if the PC's skin goes into an anti-magic area or gets dispel magic casted on them?

6. As your skin is now a construct, can you improve your construct skin following the standard modify construct rules?

The Exchange

Scenario: I have an animal companion where I have gained 4th level in the class that gave me the companion. the companion is now increased in size, plus I have trained it feats, tricks, and skills.

in regards to the below situations, my question is what happens to the animal's size increase when:

1. I retrain from animal bond to something else

2. I gain a negative level, and am no longer 4th level

3. Dismiss the animal, letting it free

4. Cast awaken on the animal and it's no longer viable to be an animal companion

thanks!

The Exchange

In the technology guide, there are several spells (destroy robot, antitech field, ect) that list they can affect both androids and cyborgs.

where are cyborgs listed, and are they a race or a template?

thanks!

The Exchange

I know there have been many attempts to convert this Construct race over to Pathfinder in the past, but, my question is if there is an equivalent race already in Pathfinder existence that could closely be used as a stand in

The Exchange

Mounted player has the Improved Overrun feat:

Overrun wrote:
Benefit: As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square

and the player's mount has pounce:

Pounce wrote:
When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)

The way I read this, is that the player uses the full-round action to charge through an opponent's square, while the mount pounces the opponent after they are prone.

The Exchange

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Mounted player has the Ride-by attack feat:

Ride-by attack wrote:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can't exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.

and the player's mount has pounce:

Pounce wrote:
When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)

The way I read this, is that the player uses the full-round action to charge up to an opponent, make a standard attack while the mount gets to perform a full attack, then the player can move again.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Any DMs out there dealing with a party that is trying to sell off all the robot bodies they get or harvest parts off them?

My party has an Alchemist Construct Rider that is trying to use his 4th level bonus feat to craft constructs with the parts, or add them to his mount.

If its not him, the rest of the party is trying to get scrolls of Infuse Robot to bring all the defeated robots back to life outside of the range of the signal and have them follow them as guardians.

Rules show these robots at CR*20,000 gold in new condition, what would you price a body that had make whole casted on it to restore it new condition - sans the ability to function as a creature/robot?

any suggestions or thoughts?

The Exchange

Book Of The Damned, Volume 1 - Princes Of Darkness, PG 44 wrote:

Imp Companion: A diabolist forms a close bond with a

particular imp, similar to a druid’s bond with an animal
companion. The imp is loyal to the diabolist (though
ultimately loyal to Hell). The imp companion’s abilities, feats,
Hit Dice, and skills advance as the diabolist advances as your caster level increases
Core Rule Book, PG 127 wrote:

Improved Familiar

This feat allows you to acquire a powerful familiar, but
only when you could normally acquire a new familiar.
Prerequisites: Ability to acquire a new familiar,
compatible alignment, sufficiently high level (see below).
Benefit: When choosing a familiar, the creatures listed
below are also available to you (see the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary
for statistics on these creatures). You may choose a familiar
with an alignment up to one step away on each alignment
axis (lawful through chaotic, good through evil).
7th level - can take an imp
Improved familiars otherwise use the rules for regular
familiars, with two exceptions: if the creature’s type is
something other than animal, its type does not change;
and improved familiars do not gain the ability to speak
with other creatures of their kind (although many of them
already have the ability to communicate).

Can I have the same Imp gain the benefits of being an animal companion and a familiar?

The Exchange

Baseline information:

Fused Eidolon:
While fused, the synthesist loses the benefits of his armor.

+

Construct Armor:
This modification allows the construct to be worn like armor by its creator.

Typically, a Synthesist loses benefits of armor, being replaced by the Eidolon, but, Construct Armor is actually a creature being worn and supplying its own set of benefits.

Scenario 1:
Synthesist fused with his Eidolon, while wearing Construct Armor

Questions:

1. If the Eidolon replaces the construct, does the construct become innert and unable to act? - Specifically, if the construct is still active, the creator can order the removal of the armor with a swift action

2. When the Eidolon replaces the armor effect of wearing the construct, would any attacks directed at the wearer still first damage the construct as listed?

Scenario 2:
Summoner is wearing Construct Armor, gets hit with a persistent effect that effects the construct as listed.
On round 3 of this persistent effect, the Summoner wants to save his construct from damage and decides to summon his fused Eidolon.

Questions:

3. Does the ongoing damage effect transfer to the Eidolon or stay with the construct?

The Exchange

Bestiary 4 wrote:
phantom armors appear as a suit of damaged but animate armor that moves with deadly purpose and lethal precision.

Can this be worn?

Or, in general, can any animated armor or shield be worn?
In regards to the shield, unstrap it and let it do it's thing, then let it come back to you and restrap it on?

The Exchange 1/5

So.
Anyone else have characters that have items that feel like they were forgotten:

Nexus Crystal (minor Artifact)
This black crystal feels cold to the touch. Simply carrying this crystal provides protection against negative energy. Whenever the bearer takes damage from negative energy, such as channel energy or an inflict spell, she takes 10 less points of damage. This reduction is applied after any saving throw is made.
The crystal may possess other powers, but they are unknown at this time.

or

Gamin the Misforged
This glittering blade is clearly defective, and a rippling break runs from its tip to its hilt like a crack in a broken window. Gamin is a +1 allying mithral longswordAPG with the permanent broken condition, and when held he can cast guidance on his wielder at will. Only a master swordsmith might repair Gamin’s imperfections, and the Pathfinder Society does not have access to such a resource at this time.

or other items and are awaiting some tie in to future story, a revisit to these items, or a follow up that should build upon the item?

Anyone hear of any rumors/future stuffs that incorporate these things?

The Exchange

Core books said wrote:

Resolve (Ex): Starting at 1st level, the samurai gains

resolve that he can call upon to endure even the most
devastating wounds and afflictions. He can use this
ability once per day at 1st level, plus one additional time
per day for every two samurai levels beyond 1st. Whenever
the samurai defeats the target of his challenge, he regains
one daily use of his resolve, up to his maximum number of
uses per day. Defeating the target of his challenge usually
involves reducing the target to 0 hit points or fewer,
but the GM might rule that an enemy who surrenders
or f lees the battle is also defeated. He can use this
resolve in a number of ways.

Unstoppable: When the samurai is reduced
to fewer than 0 hit points but not slain, he can
spend one use of his resolve as an immediate
action to instantly stabilize and remain
conscious. He is staggered, but he does not
fall unconscious and begin dying if he
takes a standard action. He does fall
unconscious if he takes additional
damage from any source.

Staggered: A staggered creature may take a single move
action or standard action each round (but not both, nor
can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can
still take swift and immediate actions. A creature with
nonlethal damage exactly equal to its current hit points
gains the staggered condition.

Question and Example:

in the below example, can the Samurai use Unstoppable twice during the same fight to stay conscious?

Samurai has 7 hitpoints, he takes 8pts of dmg, dropping him to -1.
Samurai uses a Resolve point and activates Unstoppable, keeping him conscious and staggered.
next round, he takes 4pts, but instead of dropping unconscious, he uses unstoppable again to remain conscious at -5hps.

The Exchange

Bestiary pg 314 wrote:
If you are including a single monster character in a group of standard characters, make sure the group is of a level that is at least as high as the monster’s CR. Treat the monster’s CR as class levels when determining the monster PC’s overall levels.
Bestiary pg 316 wrote:
You can use the monsters on the following table as guidelines when determining effective cohort levels for monsters not on this list.

This method provides conflicting results, and I'm trying to figure out why.

Take a Satyr as an example:
Monster as PC rule, it is a level 4 PC.
Cohort listing, it is a level 7 Cohort

What is the best way to determine levels of a Monster Race when being compared to the PCs?

The Exchange

so, this question again, although with a slightly different take.

animal companion and familiars don't mix, because familiars change the animal to magical beast.
however, given the diabolist gives you an Imp as if it were an animal companion based on caster level, and same caster takes imp familiar feat and chooses imp.

shouldn't these two abilities stack?

rules say that a paladin/ranger can stack their abilities because the creature qualifies for both classes.
monstrous mount and animal companion stack only if the animal chosen is within both lists.

same logic applies here.
imp falls within both class ability categories, therefore, it should be allowed to qualify for both abilities.

The Exchange

Russ Taylor wrote this feat, and states it works for Eidolon.

Joshua J Frost is a PF event manager and PFS player, that changed his opinion and now thinks otherwise.

James Jaccobs states the eidolon is considered an animal companion, but again, as he typically speaks for PFS, this might be from a pathfinder society perspective.

Has anyone found a definitive post anywhere that provides any additional light on this?

The Exchange

It looks like we can finally put this debate to rest.

With the release of the Technology Guide, and the blurb in there about explosives:

Technology Guide wrote:


Special: A character can take 10 when using Disable Device to arm or disarm explosives, but cannot take 20.

We can now all agree that any trap has the potential to allow a character to take 10 on, but not 20.

Cheers!

The Exchange 1/5

I just ran a scenario where the PCs gathered up and kept all the construct bodies, stating that they were going cast repair magics like make whole, and then sell the them for the initial creation cost.

EX. each Fearmonger prototype's body is worth 500gp.

has anyone come across a group trying to do this?

The Exchange

if there were two instances of brown mold next to each other, wouldn't they destroy themselves?

Brown Mold (CR 2): Brown mold feeds on warmth,
drawing heat from anything around it. It normally comes
in patches 5 feet in diameter, and the temperature is always
cold in a 30-foot radius around it. Living creatures within
5 feet of it take 3d6 points of nonlethal cold damage. Fire
brought within 5 feet of brown mold causes the mold to
instantly double in size. Cold damage, such as from a cone
of cold, instantly destroys it.

The Exchange

Couple quick questions:

1. Do androids take nonlethal damage?

2. Do androids take damage from forced marching?

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Bestiary Core Rule Book wrote:

Energy Drain (Su) A succubus drains energy from a mortal she lures into an act of passion, such as a kiss. An unwilling victim must be grappled before the succubus can use this

ability. The succubus’s kiss bestows one negative level.
The kiss also has the effect of a suggestion spell, asking the victim to accept another act of passion from the succubus. The victim must succeed on a DC 22 Will save to negate the suggestion. The DC is 22 for the Fortitude save to remove a negative level. These save DCs are Charisma-based.
Bestiary Core Rule Book wrote:

Energy Drain (Su) This attack saps a living opponent’s vital energy and happens automatically when a melee or

ranged attack hits. Each successful energy drain bestows one or more negative levels (the creature’s description specifies how many). If an attack that includes an energy drain scores a critical hit, it bestows twice the listed number of negative levels. Unless otherwise specif ied
in the creature’s description, a draining creature gains 5 temporary hit points for each negative level it bestows on an opponent. These temporary hit points last for a maximum of 1 hour. Negative levels remain until 24 hours have passed or until they are removed with a spell, such as restoration. If a negative level is not removed before 24 hours have passed, the affected creature must attempt a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 draining creature’s racial HD + draining creature’s Cha modifier; the exact DC is given in the creature’s descriptive text). On a success, the negative level goes away with no harm to
the creature. On a failure, the negative level becomes permanent. A separate saving throw is required for each negative level.
Format: energy drain (2 levels, DC 18); Location: Special Attacks and individual attacks.

What kind of action is a Succcubus's Energy Drain Ability?

1. is it considered one of the actions that can take place during a grapple? such as move, pin, tie up, damage
if it is, these types of actions only occur the next round after a grapple is initiated and maintained

2. is it considered a standard action all by itself (as is typical with an undeclared Supernatural attack)?
but then, how would the succubus ever be able to successfully initiate this ability if grappling and maintaining a grapple is a standard action in and of itself?

3. is it a special attack, similar to rake, but unlike rake requires no attack roll, and is automatically applied when specialized conditions are met (the grapple)?

4. or is it a free action that the succubus can only take once she uses a standard action to grapple her target?
which if she is already grappling, she energy drains freely, then can take a full round action

5. or is it a variant of a grapple maneuver?
would swift grapple or the master maneuver variant - both allow multiple grapple maneuver checks in a round - allow the succubus to make multiple energy drain attacks?

The Exchange

Does this mean that the question was addressed by Paizo?

If so, where can I find this answer listed?
Again if so, how do I find out what source/book it would be listed under?

Sovereign Court

what they are:
Nexus says negative energy is 10 less
deathless says it absorbs the first 10points of negative energy

how the fit on your character:
the benefit from the nexus crystal is untyped and nonslotted, while the deathless armor property is tied to armor.

what my question is:
while wearing the armor and holding the crystal, is negative energy reduced by 20pts or 10pts?

The Exchange

There's plenty of threads that discuss shield bashing with this item, and how many hands does it take up and the amount of effort to wield or ready the shield.
but:
Can I treat the shield as an Improvised range weapon with the standard range of 10' and throw it?

The Exchange 1/5

<moved>

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

As a caster advances in levels, so to does their familiar:

Familiar Basics pg 82 PHB:
Hit Dice: For the purpose of effects related to number of Hit Dice, use the master’s character level or the familiar’s normal HD total, whichever is higher.

Per Bestiary pg 295:
creatures whose Hit Dice increase by 50% or more should also increase in size

My question:
does this mean that the familiar should also increase in size category?
as size increase is an effect based on number of HD.

The Exchange

So, I understand the rules for sharing occupied space and the different size categories that are needed/ allowed.
But, what happens when one of those creatures is an air elemental or some other equally “insubstantial” entity that isn’t technically considered incorporeal?
Does this change anything?

The Exchange 1/5

with the recent ruling that conditions need to be cleared by the end of the scenario for characters or they are declared as dead, what is the ruling for a familiar/companion/eidolon?

if the companion has a neg level, curse, or condition, and its not cleared, will that companion be declared dead as well?

and if yes, when the PC pays to have the companion brought back to life, that doesn't necessarily mean the condition is cleared:

1. If the companion is played in another scenario, without clearing the same old condition, will they be again declared dead at the end of the new scenario too?

2. Will that mean the PC will have to keep paying to have the companion raised each scenario if the condition is not cleared?

thanks

The Exchange 1/5

Is this considered a permanent polymorph spell effect and does it carry over throughout scenarios?

The Exchange

specifically in PFS, but also in general, can you modify your animal companion's stats?

looking at either the point system, or just switching two stats around, is this possible/legal?

everything I have read, talks about: items, feats, skills, but I can't seem to find anything on stat changes

also, when answering, could you please provide the PFS reference that provides any input?

The Exchange

So, I read the core book - pg 535, ego battles and the accompanying will save to stay in control, or else all the bulleted items on that page may happen.
But, that all appears to be game fluff.
What is the game mechanics behind the item taking control? Is it similar to Magic Jar or Familiar Melding, where mental stats are swapped but physical stats remain?
How exactly does the domination happen?

The Exchange 1/5

Hi All -

As I have been playing PFS, I have noticed issues that would crop up several times by random players at my table. So, I thought I would start a thread with the intent to bring to light common misconceptions that players may have unwittingly done.

Feel free to add any that you have encountered in your travels as well

The below cases are some of those witnessed examples:

1. Produce flame – is not a touch spell, its a range 0' spell

2. Reach weapons – cannot reach an opponent in a diagonal 10’ square (counts as 15’)

3. 5’ step – provokes an AOO when stepping in from a diagonal square 10’ to 5’ (counts as 15’ to 5’)

4. Mage armor, shield, or other protection spells that add armor or shield bonus – do not add to CMD

5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement

6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement

7. Anyone can disable a nonmagical traps if they are skilled in disable trap

8. Lunge Feat – additional reach only counts on your turn - doesnt threaten squares when its not your turn

9. Flat-footed/Dexless characters do not add Dex bonus to CMD

10. Reach weapons suffer soft cover penalties when attacking through people

11. Aid another only works if the aiding PC can meet the required DC the primary PC is performing

12. Aid another in combat only works for those that threaten the same opponent

The Exchange

this is a thread about grappling special maneuver and what value does it actually provide.

take this scenario of a fight that looks at a creature with 3 natural attacks and the grab special ability.

with a full attack option, the creature begins the attacks adjacent to a PC.
1st attack hits, and is successful on starting the grapple.

2nd, and 3rd attack are now at -2 to hit due to grapple condition, and if the creature uses finesse, the attacks are at an additional -2 due to the dex loss for the grapple condition.

the subsequent grapple checks are not affected by the initial -2, due to grapple checks being unaffected, but the CMD for the PC to break free is 2 less, again due to the -4 to dex from the grapple condition.

there is the idea that a creature could take -20 to grapple without gaining the grapple condition, but that isnt really realistic against a standard PC.

next round
the monster has to spend a standard action to maintain the grapple or the PC is free, which then takes away any full attack option this monster would have, or the option for it to chose to attack anyone else, since it spent a standard action maintaining.

the creature also now has to decide if it wants to move or do damage.
as the grapple condition prevents normal movement. most likely the rest of the party has now moved to surround it, as the monster doesnt threaten any squares, they easily gain flanking bonuses.
which now provides the rest of the party a potential +4 to hit the monster due to dex loss and flanking.

if the creature decides to move, it can only move half its movement, and if it wishes to prevent AOO, it will need to tumble, again reducing movement by half.
if it tries to jump as part of its movement, is hasnt gained the running start, so all DCs for a jump distance are doubled.
also, keep in mind, that now the creature has to account for the additional weight of the PC, so an encumberance check would then need to be taken into an account, which could also reduce the jump check accordingly.

if the creature decides to pin the PC, it has to spend a standard action (which is part of the maintain grapple function) to move the grapple to a pin, but then it now loses its dex to AC for the surrounding PCs, and is still unable to move away.

if the creature gained the grapple through a bite, and also had a manufactured weapon, it would lose the ability to fight with a two handed weapon, due to the grapple condition's restriction of no 2handed actions.

so, i guess, my question is this:

what is the point?