I actually completely disagree with the ruling thus far on Cleave and Overhand chop.
Quote:
Cleave: Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach.
Quote:
Overhand chop: when a two-handed fighter makes a single attack (with the attack action or a charge) with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls.
So let's read the attack action.
Quote:
Attack
Making an attack is a standard action.
Putting it all together.
Making an attack is a standard action.
Cleave, as a standard action, make a single attack. (Now that attack is qualified as the aforementioned attack action)
Overhand chop, double strength on a single attack (done with the attack action).
So if this were math,
Attack = Attack Action
Cleave = as a standard action make a single attack.
Overhand chop = double strength on a single attack.
So
Cleave = as a standard action make a single (attack action)
Overhand chop = double strength on a (cleave)
That's how I see it anyways.
On the other thread they were looking at the high level actions rather than the actual wording.
Regardless I'm flagging this as an FAQ candidate.