
DiskJokky |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

DiskJokky wrote:I have a monk player who took the fighter dedication feat. They asked me out of session if they could use snagging strike with their ki strike. I was a bit on the fence about this since it is a one action strike. Can you combo a special feat strike that takes one action with a ki strike like this?
Snagging strike (Player Core pg. 141/Core Rulebook pg. 145)
Ki strike (Core Rulebook pg. 158)You cannot combine because ki strike is not a Strike. It's a spell that calls Strike as subordinated action as part of its effect. You cannot substitute a subordinated action to other larger action/activity that have that action inside. You need to use that specific subordinated action exclusively.
Source Player Core pg. 415 - Subordinate Actions wrote:...An action might allow you to use a simpler action—usually one of the Basic Actions on page 416—in a different circumstance or with different effects. This subordinate action still has its normal traits and effects, but it's modified in any ways listed in the larger action. For example, an activity that tells you to Stride up to half your Speed alters the normal distance you can move in a Stride. The Stride would still have the move trait, would still trigger reactions that occur based on movement, and so on. The subordinate action doesn't gain any of the traits of the larger action unless specified. The action that allows you to use a subordinate action doesn't require you to spend more actions or reactions to do so; that cost is already factored in.
Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn't use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used
Thank you for showing me this ruling. I didn't know about subordinate actions.