CRB Typos / Mistakes / Etc Post Errata 1.0


Rules Discussion

101 to 107 of 107 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Goldryno wrote:

From what I can tell, DemonicDem appears to be correct. He is looking at the rules in alignment aura above the part you're quoting which state

"Alignment Aura
The strength of an alignment aura depends on the level of the creature, item, or spell. The auras of undead, clerics and other divine spellcasters with a patron deity, and creatures from the Outer Sphere are one step stronger than normal (faint instead of none, for example)."

(Although I'm not convinced the feat really needs a change, encounter building guidelines state character level +/- 4 are acceptable... but ultimately that's not really my call to make)

Ah, good catch. That was buried off in another part of the rules that I forgot about.

Liberty's Edge

The Magical Weapon - Holy Avenger pg. 601

This Weapon, unlike any other in that section, is missing the Magical Trait.
It has the Uncommon, Divine, Evocation, Lawful, and Good Traits but not the Magical Trait.

Seems like a simple oversight since the Holy Avenger is unique in this regard and it is CLEARLY an iconic Magic Weapon.


Themetricsystem wrote:

The Magical Weapon - Holy Avenger pg. 601

This Weapon, unlike any other in that section, is missing the Magical Trait.
It has the Uncommon, Divine, Evocation, Lawful, and Good Traits but not the Magical Trait.

Seems like a simple oversight since the Holy Avenger is unique in this regard and it is CLEARLY an iconic Magic Weapon.

CRB PG. 633 "Magical Trait" wrote:

magical (trait) Something with the magical trait is imbued with magical energies not

tied to a specific tradition of magic. A magical item radiates a magic aura infused
with its dominant school of magic.
Some items or effects are closely tied to a particular tradition of magic. In
these cases, the item has the arcane, divine, occult, or primal trait instead of the
magical trait. Any of these traits indicate that the item is magical.
535
magical hazards 520–522

Holy Avenger does have the Divine trait, which does indicate that it is a magical weapon. Doesn't need to have the Magical trait. :)


The Only Sheet wrote:
The Malyass root paste is 3 actions in the CRB, and not mentioned in the list of Poisons to fix in the Errata v1.0 PDF..

The 1.0 errata only mentioned fixing injury poisons; malyass root paste is a contact poison, so it's unclear whether it's intended to be three actions as is RAW, one action as are all other contact poisons in the CRB, or two actions as some exceptional balancing measure unlike other contact poisons.

Belladonna is, conversely, an ingested poison that was printed with an activation of only one action like all other ingested poisons in the CRB, but was oddly included in the errata's list of injury poisons to change "from three actions to two". This may have been an error.

----

The 1.0 errata's unarmed attack rule is intended to communicate that clerics get expert unarmed attack proficiency when they become expert in their favored weapon, but I've seen people struggle to realize this from the errata's wording; the phrase "a specific set of weapons" could use revision, or perhaps a specific example, to make it clearer that even a set of one weapon, such as a favored weapon, qualifies as a set of weapons, as that intent does not immediately occur to all readers.

----

This isn't a typo report; I just want to clear up a misunderstanding from earlier in the thread:

Quandary wrote:

re: Divine Spells and "Deity Weapon"/"Favored Weapon", I realized there can also be other cases where those aren't clearly defined: Trick Magic Item (Religion), Innate Spells, or anything allowing to cast Divine spells like Magaambyan Archetype.

So there probably should be general rule to account for Divine spells assumption of Deity Alignment and Favored Weapon,
Quandary wrote:

How Divine Sorcerors resolve Divine spells referencing "Deity Alignment" and "Favored Weapon" isn't clear.

I don't believe any Deity they casually "worship" (or even as Multiclass:Cleric/Champion) should affect their Sorceror spellcasting.
Using own Alignment doesn't make sense with Divine Bloodlines defacto affiliated to Alignment by Creature Type irrespective of Caster's Alignment.
So it seems each Divine Bloodline should specify "effective Deity Alignment" (Angel: Good, Demon: Chaotic Evil, Devil: Lawful Evil, Undead: Evil?) and at the same time specify "effective Favored Weapon", with Bloodline-specific weapon seeming more flavorful than generic Alignment association.

When you read these spells, the explicitness of "You can’t cast this spell if you don’t have a deity or if your deity is true neutral." and "Requirements You have a deity." suggests an intent that in the Lost Omens setting, no matter if you're a bard or sorcerer, these spells specifically require you to worship a deity, meeting their alignment requirements and following their anathema, as we know from Gods & Magic's abilities that benefit requirement-abiding deity-worshipers of all classes, not just champions and clerics. This makes sense to me, saves the Paizo devs time instead of having to write up extra rules and specifications for all these different sources of divine and occult spells, and makes it so that Trick Magic Item doesn't let you cheaply devalue the thematic strength of how a NG deity's divine lance, no matter if the cleric casting it is True Neutral or Chaotic, explicitly requires that you deal Good damage, because that's the energy type your deity's power is connected to.

How to resolve these spells RAW is clear: If a spell requires a deity, you are required to either worship a deity or choose a different spell to cast. Casual worship indeed doesn't affect your spellcasting, as CRB page 437 says that devout worship means abiding by anathema, so you must meet mechanical requirements to gain mechanical benefits like deity-exclusive spells. Planar concepts like alignment, and a deity's alignment over just a mortal's, are just that powerful in the Lost Omens setting. I think the CRB doesn't spend many paragraphs making a big deal about it because of course, GMs who don't want to set their campaigns in the Lost Omens setting are free to houserule otherwise.


-The Cleric focus spell downpour has the effect that: "Creatures with weakness to water that end their turns in the area take damage equal to their weakness." However, it is unclear what this actually does. Water is not a damage type, so creatures can't be weak to it in a conventional sense. Clay Golems are "harmed by water", is that all the effect does in the core game? Wouldn't the Clay Golem be harmed by downpour even if it didn't have the added text about water weakness? It's pretty weird that creatures like fire elementals ignore an area of heavy magic rain.


Henro wrote:
-The Cleric focus spell downpour has the effect that: "Creatures with weakness to water that end their turns in the area take damage equal to their weakness." However, it is unclear what this actually does. Water is not a damage type, so creatures can't be weak to it in a conventional sense. Clay Golems are "harmed by water", is that all the effect does in the core game? Wouldn't the Clay Golem be harmed by downpour even if it didn't have the added text about water weakness? It's pretty weird that creatures like fire elementals ignore an area of heavy magic rain.

There is a similar issue with hydraulic push and the "water" tag generally. Water elementals can attempt to counteract magical fire, but it doesn't seem like water has any additional damage effect on fire creatures.


Henro wrote:
Clay Golems are "harmed by water", is that all the effect does in the core game? Wouldn't the Clay Golem be harmed by downpour even if it didn't have the added text about water weakness?

Right, clay and stone golems take no damage but instead or even any spell effect from magic with the water trait; their golem antimagic ability instead deals 5d10 untyped damage to them. Though, there are the odd cases where "However, some complex effects might have parts that affect you even if you’re immune to one of the effect’s traits; for instance, a spell that deals both fire and acid damage can still deal acid damage to you even if you’re immune to fire."

101 to 107 of 107 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / CRB Typos / Mistakes / Etc Post Errata 1.0 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.