![]() ![]()
That's fairly close to what I need, but the only technicality is that this is not infinite, because Master of Trade can only be used once each session. ![]()
Is there a specific ruling for how treasure/jewelry works in PFS? I know it counts as trade goods and can be sold back for what it's worth, but I can't find if you can buy it in the first place in Society, or if there are modifications to how you handle it like the other accommodations for currency so you don't have to run off to the bank or consider the physical weight of all your gold. http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateEquipment/appendix.html For example, could I buy a ethereal tapestry for for 13k and sell it back? Would I get 13k, 6.5k, or is buying/selling it not allowed in the first place? ![]()
Cyrad wrote:
What other types of natural healing are there? So far I've only seen resting is natural healing, mechanically speaking. ![]()
Since fast healing is "just like natural healing" and natural healing is resting, would it interact meaningfully? The feat description hints that it's intended to work with natural healing (and therefore fast healing), but I've seen some arguments over it. Here's the relevant rules: Fast Healing (Ex) A creature with fast healing regains hit points at an exceptional rate, usually 1 or more hit points per round, as given in the creature's entry. Except where noted here, fast healing is just like natural healing. Fast healing does not restore hit points lost from starvation, thirst, or suffocation, nor does it allow a creature to regrow lost body parts. Unless otherwise stated, it does not allow lost body parts to be reattached. Fast healing continues to function (even at negative hit points) until a creature dies, at which point the effects of fast healing end immediately. Natural Healing: With a full night's rest (8 hours of sleep or more), you recover 1 hit point per character level. Any significant interruption during your rest prevents you from healing that night. Fast Healer
![]()
Losing the AC bonus isn't really an issue. I'd use it as a one-handed weapon, while using a proper shield for the other hand. We've agreed it's still a shield for various other effects, so there's only a couple corner cases that I can deal with as they come up. As it stands, I'd be able to one-hand it as a weapon, but I wouldn't be able to wear it as armor because it isn't properly sized to fit. ![]()
I was interpreting it as allowing me to treat my shield as an appropriately sized light weapon. So making it one size larger would make it an oversized version of a weapon that is considered a light weapon for me. In this way, it could be considered an oversized light weapon, which would make it one-handed instead of two-handed. The only thing stopping this interpretation seems to be the original weapon classification as a one-handed weapon. But the trait lets me consider it a light weapon, so does it's original size still matter? ![]()
James Risner wrote:
But since I am Shield Trained, I treat Heavy Shields as light weapons. Oversized light weapons are treated as a one-handed weapons in normal size progression. http://archivesofnethys.com/TraitDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Shield-Trained I'm just confused as to whether I treat it as an oversized light weapon, or an oversized one handed weapon. ![]()
I'm planning on oversizing a Heavy Shield, but I'm not sure how it interacts with Shield Trained. Normally if a Heavy Shield is oversized, it becomes a two-handed weapon, but the trait makes me treat it as a light weapon which causes some confusion. I'm just wondering what happens if I oversize this weapon. Do I follow the normal progression based on its "real" size, or do I treat it as starting as a light weapon? Would it become a one-handed weapon since I treat it as a light weapon, or would it become a two-handed weapon because it is a one-handed weapon? ![]()
Okay, so the argument is that Shield Spikes change the physical size, and Bashing changes the virtual size of it? That's good to know. I've been using Hero Lab, so I'm just using whatever it tells me and double check with my DM's to see if they want to keep going with the same damage modifiers we've been using. ![]()
If I give my character Shield-Trained to treat a Heavy Shield as a light shield and a simple weapon, I know I can still wield it as a shield. But if I increase the size category to get more damage, would I still be able to use it as a shield? If not, would stuff like Shield Spikes and Bashing still apply to any damage I would do with it? ![]()
When a class ability references it's own level, is there a functional difference between referencing it's levels explicitly and implicitly? For some class abilities, it's based on your class level, but if it states the class specifically, is there a difference? For example, if a class gains another class' feature, do you treat the use of the class level as self referencing the original class, or as referencing the level of the class using it? For example, the Daring Champion gains the Panache and Deeds feature of the Swashbuckler class. For deeds that reference the Swashbuckler level, do we assume that it is distinctly different than deeds that reference "your (class) level"? With this feature, you gain access to Precise Strike. When you have at least one Panache Point, you gain a bonus equal to your Swashbuckler level. Is this distinctly different than the Deed class feature, which only references the level of the class using it? Deed: A swashbuckler can only perform deeds of her level or lower. Precise Strike (Ex) : At 3rd level, while she has at least 1 panache point, a swashbuckler gains the ability to strike precisely with a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon (though not natural weapon attacks), adding her swashbuckler level to the damage dealt. Is it intended to work distinctly different, or is it just proper self referencing? ![]()
I know that when I attack with a shield there are only the usual penalties, but my GM caused a bit of confusion, saying I've missed -2 to my attacks, and we can't communicate what it's from. I'm making a Shield Bash with a Spiked Shield of Bashing, which I thought was just a normal attack, but now I'm not so sure. Is it just a normal attack, or something else? If I'm wielding two of them, is there any other penalty beyond TWF and the other usual suspects? ![]()
From Paizo's website: The benefits of the ranger's chosen style feats apply only when he wears light, medium, or no armor. He loses all benefits of his combat style feats when wearing heavy armor. Once a ranger selects a combat style, it cannot be changed. It IS heavy armor, even though it counts as medium. It opens up the possibility that you check what the item actually is, instead of what it counts as. I know it's dumb, but I had a lengthy argument with a GM at PFS over it, because of that ambiguity. ![]()
I know Combat Style Feats don't work when you are wearing Heavy Armor, but how does that interact with Mithral? I know that you need Heavy Armor Proficiency to counteract the penalties, but when you wear it, it counts as Medium armor for the purpose of movement and other limitations. Does Combat Style fit under "limitations"? |