![]() ![]()
I think this is fine as is. The witch's patron is granting access to power outside of the base knowledge of the witch. It basically does what forsaken(?) Knowledge does for a paladin, allowing access to magic otherwise denied to the witch. It being worded as saying that it is automatically added to the list of spells known isn't as redundant as it sounds. It prevents questions such as, 'Does this take up one of the two spells I gain this level?' It is done without input from the player as a bonus. Further, The wording about adding to the spells known isnt odd since these spells are added to the list of spells known, not the list of spells on the a witch can draw from on the witch's spell list is the reason why other witch's can't learn spells from other patrons. Bards can learn cure spells, but wizards can't learn them because it isn't on the wizard spell list even though it is arcane magic from a bard. ![]()
Darkleaf cloth does a number of amazing things to leather based armor, making them very attractive to casters who don't mind a minute bit of spell failure chance (5%) and one feat. I may end up doing this with a sorcerer I'm building. However, I noticed that you can make clothing from Darkleaf cloth. Does this infer some kind of bonus or benefit? It says it makes the cloth as resilient as cured hide as well as reducing many other penalties. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/special-materials#TOC-Darkleaf-Cl oth So If someone could shed some light on this materiel, I'd like to know if it would give clothing an AC bonus. It doesn't flat out say that it gets one, but it does seem like it might. Otherwise, I'd see no reason to make clothing from darkleaf cloth. ![]()
"No. Vital Strike can only be used as part of an attack action, which is a specific kind of standard action. Spring Attack is a special kind of full-round action that includes the ability to make one melee attack, not one attack action. Charging uses similar language and can also not be used in combination with Vital Strike." from d20pfsrd.com ![]()
This whole question may be solved if this first idea is wrong, however, it has come to my attention that you may be able to enchant normal clothing with an enhancement bonus to armor. I haven't found anything saying you can't, but that's not to say that you can. In the event that you can, would the magical Enhancement Bonus on your, let's say +3 doublet, stack with a +3 Armor Bonus from your Bracers of armor. Bracers of armor clearly state that "They surround the wearer with An invisible but tangible field of force, granting him an armor bonus of +1 to +8, just as though he were wearing armor." The rules for enhancing magic armor state "In general, magic armor protects the wearer to a greater extent than non-magical armor. Magic armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses). All magic armor is also masterwork armor, reducing armor check penalties by 1." It goes on to state that "A suit of armor or a shield may be made of an unusual material." and cotton or linen seems a little unusual for armor to me. Granted that may be stretching the rules a bit far. Either way, it clearly states that an enhancement bonus to armor class stacks with a standard armor bonus and doesn't dictate a restriction on the source of either bonus. If it is agreed that Bracers of Armor would stack with an enhancement bonus from another source, but, you cannot magically enhance your clothing in such a way, the next best solution for a caster would be the armored kilt, as it has no spell failure and a high max dexterity. Any input or prior rulings on this is greatly appreciated. I'm sure there are more arguments I could make for and against this, but to me it seems as far as this goes, it is two separate types of bonuses that do stack. Thanks so much for your time. ![]()
I would like to point out that regardless of whether or not the Wyvern could move afterwords is a moot point for the simple fact that no attack of opportunity could have been taken anyhow. The Wyvern is a large creature that has a ten foot threat range. The only people who could do anything, and that is on their turn, is those with ranged attacks. (unless the proper feat tree was followed of course). I didn't take the time to read all of the posts but I ran into a similar issue last night when I ran "The Last Riddle" for a group of friends. I simply ruled that the wyvern could fly due to it's str with some penalties to it's fly check due to the weight of the creature. Fly by attack means that the creature can take a standard action (which grappling is) and continue it's movement. Once the target is grappled and lifted, the target has no way to gain leverage, other than breaking free of the grapple or attempting to take control of the grapple. This is all assuming of course that the target is a medium creature and has no ability to fly on their own. Just some things to think about, and maybe someone might drop some insight my way as well. |