Defraeter's page

395 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 1 alias.



4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The "anything confusing" is that it occupies the belt slot and "can transform the belt into a single masterwork slashing and/or piercing melee weapon of her choice".
Sure, 1 standard action to transform and 1 standard action to revert.

But,
1) when it is transformed in a weapon, does or doesn't occupy the belt slot?

a) it goes on to occupy the slot (i think so): you cannot use of another belt, except if you add new abilities to your belt.
But, you can argue that as the belt is transformed, the new abilities don't work then...

b) it doesn't occupy belt slot when transformed (which is valid): then you can have another belt which functions.
But i ask myself if this is the intent of creator...
It is just as a more powerful transformative weapon which costs less than a weapon with transformative added.
Sure, you should have the belt slot free to transform your weapon back in a belt, but someone could argue that if the blet slot is occupied, the other belt ceases to function when you use the power of the bladed belt (i.e transformation belt/weapon), so when you revert your weapon in belt, your other belt ceases to function.

2) There doesn't appear to be a restriction on weapon type, designation, or size, except slashing/piercing melee.

The Bladed Belt seems to be too advantageous for the price and requirements necessary to make it(if compared to "transformative"). And the fact that it's a belt is just to explain the low price...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Azaelas Fayth wrote:
I was meaning more as a Majority feel it should be a Free Action.

No, it's just your "feeling".

Too much threads have been written on this subject, so many don't react now.
I think that many have the modesty to wait dev's decision and don't try to impose their ideas as a mythic "general consensus".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

For curse and Remove Curse, it's worded "usually", that doesn't mean it's always the case. And no cure are written for Lycanthropy in glossary of CRB. So as it's written in Bestiary, you must apply those of Bestiary.

For Lycanthropy, it's a special case: the cure is specific to this curse and it's only by a cleric level 12+ with a remove disease or heal. Nothing else.

As the Bestiary is more recent than CRB, the rule inside Bestiary supersedes those of CRB anyway.

After... it's up to the GM to "soften his play" or allow players to have an access not too hard to scroll of remove disease lvl 12 or a priest lvl 12.
Because curse of lycanthropy is really a big nasty curse that can kill fastly an entire party. So players must be very very careful...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

ex 1: inquisitor 5 (Valor Inquisition)/ranger 3 counts as
- level 5 for powers of Valor.

ex 2: inquisitor 5 (Valor Inquisition)/cleric 3 (domain 1: Valor Inquisition; domain 2: Strength) counts as
- level 3 for domain Strength
- level 8 for powers of Valor inquisition

ex 3: inquisitor 5 (Valor Inquisition)/cleric 3 (domain 1: war; domain 2: Strength) counts as
- level 3 for domain Strength & War
- level 5 for powers of Valor inquisition


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Level of cleric and inquisitor stack but only in case of the domain shared.
Valor inquisition is a divine pursuit called "inquisition" that the inquisitor may take in place of a domain.

If PC inquisitor takes level in cleric, he is not bound to take the same domain. But his levels of inquisitor will stack with the levels of cleric (for power and effects, not spells) ONLY for the domain selected as inquisitor (so shared by the 2 classes).

An inquisitor with Valor Inquisition, if he chooses to take level as cleric, must take Valor Inquisition as one of his 2 domains if he wants to progress in the inquisition Valor.

If the domain shared has spells, his effective level for spells is only the level of cleric.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

each time you select the listed favored class reward, you apply what it's written.
So, for this one, each time, you select the 2 combat maneuvers for which you give a bonus of +1 CMD.

Ex:
first time: you decide to choose trip and grapple
2nd time: you decide to choose trip and sunder
3rd time: you decide to choose trip and disarm
4st time: you decide to choose trip and grapple

So it will give you combined bonus of
+4 CMD for trip
+2 CMD for grapple
+1 CMD for sunder
+1 CMD for disarm

I don't see where's the problem.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Grab is a monster's special ability which allow them to start a grapple with a free action after 1 attack. Grab have special rules different from grapple too.

If you hit with an attack which has grab, you can try a grab (i.e a grapple check) if your ennemy is your size or lesser (except if written differently in monster's text).
If you succeed, the ennemy is grappled and is moved to a space adjacent to you. And you gain the grappled condition too.
You can release a grapple as a free action.

On the second round, you may maintain the grapple or not. Maintain a grapple is a standard action.

The grap ability allow to choose another option: use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. The "hold" can be used when you start a grapple or when you maintain. your ennemy has the condition grappled grappled but not you. But the grapple check has a malus of -20.
The ennemy is hold and is not moved to a space adjacent.

The giant frog has the grab ability with its tongue, but other abilities too.
When it uses its tongue, it has a reach of 15 ft: if the tongue hit (a touch attack), the frog may make a grab, which is in reality a "hold without malus". So the ennemy has the condition grappled but not the frog, and the ennemy is not moved.

NOTE: you cannot attack a tentacle or a tongue or an arm. You must be able to attack the squares of a monster. So the ennemy cannot "cut the tongue".

The tongue has another power: when a attack is successful, the tongue may pull the ennemy (free grapple check). In the case of the frog, it is noted pull(tongue, 5 ft), so you may pull ennemy of 5 ft. You don't need to succeed your grab/hold.
NOTE: the grab/hold and the grab/pull are 2 grapple checks independents.

The third power of the frog is the swallow whole: if the frog succeeds to maintain a grapple check against an adjacent opponent (one size smaller), it may swallows its prey.

Ex: round 1: the giant frog attack a halfling at 15 ft with its tongues. Success! Check grab/hold is success, the ennemy is grappled. Check grab/pull is success, the ennemy is pulled of 5 ft. so 10 ft of frog.

round 2: the halfling didn't succeeded to escape. The tongue succeed its grab/pull and the halfling is pulled at 5 ft, so adjacent to frog. The frog maintain the grapple (with a +5 bonus because halfling didn't succeeded) and succeed the grab/hold: the frog swallow the halfling and do 1d4 bludgeonning damage.
The halfling may escape the grappling or cut his way if he has a hand with a light piercing or slashing weapon.

NOTE: a creature with the grappled condition cannot take equipment on itself, it must use what it has in one of its hand. So if you have a 2-H weapon, you cannot use it or draw a weapon.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Are wrote:

Edit: Cheapy has the right of it, the feat only works with a very select few of the summon monster options.

yep, only creature which have a subtype like outsider (azata, devil, demon,...) and elemental.

Animal* are not included by this feat.
And this subtype has to match the aura of your god...
EDIT: so Elemental are not included too...