DalvinCentury's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I spoke with my players about this very thing. I am adding a custom page into the YAPCG Excel spreadsheet to handle things like Legendary Items, and when I came across this, I needed some more eyes on the problem.
This thread being 6 years old will not stop me from sharing our conclusions.

Shape Change seems to be an ability unique to the Mythic Ability "Legendary Item". It reads:

Shape Change: The item can change its shape into one other form of the same size.

We have decided that it intends to read as:
Shape Change:

*Select from the following: Armor, Belt, Body, Chest, Eyes, Feet, Hands, Head, Headband, Neck, Ring, Rod, Shield, Shoulders, Staff, Weapons, Wrists.

*You may select this ability multiple times, each time selecting a different class of object.

*As an action of some sort, the item can change its shape into form of the chosen shape. It retains is size category when changing shape (i.e. small, medium, large, etc.)

*You may use your legendary surge ability to modify rolls related to your items current shape.

---Then, since this is truly a vague ability, we agreed on the following rules clarification at our own table:

*Activate as a move action

*You may have your item immediately equip itself to the appropriate slot, melding with or unequipping another item if one is present.

*If your item is now a weapon, it may be used as typical weapon of that variety (you must still supply ammunition).
Weapons morphed into non-weapons cannot be used as the weapon they were originally, but may still qualify as an improvised weapon.

*If your item is a shield or armor, it ceases to impart the AC bonus of the original item.

*You may choose to select the same class of object as your original item. In this case, you are able to morph your sword into a bow, or chest plate into full plate. Along will all of the benefits and detriments.

*Enchantments that are impossible to function on the new form simply fail to function, and do nothing. They continue to work when the item morphs into a appropriate form.