Daermoth's page

23 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


So the fact that the player in question was standing near the enemy and was being observed clearly has no relevance?


Can someone tell me, based on the rules of Ultimate Intrigue, if you were standing in a brightly lit corridor, right next to an enemy or say even 5 feet away from an enemy, could you use this feat to enter stealth eventhough the enemy is observing you with vision? Let's assume it's only vision for this scenario.

I am a bit puzzled with how this works, as this only kinda covers yourself in shifting, camouflaging shadows, but not the area around you, so if they already see you....would they be able to continue seeing you or could you roll a high stealth and suddenly you're basically invisible, eventhough you're a patch of shadow in a bright corridor?

I understand that if you started in cover or somewhere out of sight, you could technically continue stealthing with this without further cover as long as you need, but if you're already been seen, do you need cover/distraction first to break their vision, or can you just whoop, turn on feat and stealth?

Any sort of input would be invaluable, thanks:)


Diego Rossi wrote:

If the mount is fighting and not only being ridden, they count as two allies.

Thanks for the help, I figured as much myself as it seems to be the logical thing.


Hey there everyone, quick question only, if a rogue has the Gang Up feat:

Quote:

Gang Up (Combat)

You are adept at using greater numbers against foes.

Prerequisites: Int 13, Combat Expertise.

Benefit: You are considered to be flanking an opponent if at least two of your allies are threatening that opponent, regardless of your actual positioning.

Normal: You must be positioned opposite an ally to flank an opponent.

And that specific rogue has a buddy who is a Cavalier riding a mount, do the Cavalier and his mount count as "at least two of your allies" or only as one?

I'm leaning personally towards two but just would like to double check.


After researching a bit more and finding this rule about rays.

Ray: Some effects are rays. You aim a ray as if using a ranged weapon, though typically you make a ranged touch attack rather than a normal ranged attack. As with a ranged weapon, you can fire into the dark or at an invisible creature and hope you hit something. You don't have to see the creature you're trying to hit, as you do with a targeted spell. Intervening creatures and obstacles, however, can block your line of sight or provide cover for the creature at which you're aiming.

The line that says "You don't have to see the creature you're trying to hit, as you do with a targeted spell." seems to mention you really need to see and not just touch, could it be that the first rule about targeting mentions touching specifically only in relation to melee touch attack spells rather than the target one creature and such spells then?

Also it does say in invisibility that you need to employ means of seeing through invisibility either by mundane or magical means and it doesn't specify anywhere either that you can actually see yourself, and I don't see why you would really unless it mentioned it.


Hey there folks, I've got a few questions regarding some situations and some rules in terms of spells with a target of say creature and invisibility.

So for the pertinent rules...

Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.

Total Concealment: If you have line of effect to a target but not line of sight, he is considered to have total concealment from you. You can’t attack an opponent that has total concealment, though you can attack into a square that you think he occupies.

So based, on this we cannot attack or target a specific opponent that for example is invisible, we can attack a square, that's fine.

How does the "You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target." part of the rule interact with this, the you can touch the enemy is somewhat obvious, however the part after that makes it a bit confusing for me, what does specifically choose the target mean? Because if you cannot see them, I presume you cannot choose them since you cannot target. So if you wanted to say cast Hydraulic Push for example, which has the line "Target one creature or object", would you be able to cast it if you touch the enemy or not at all if the enemy was invisible? And if you could while touching them, would that provoke an attack since it is not explicitly called a touch spell?

As for another situation, can you cast spells of the same nature, that target a creature, on yourself while you are invisible, basically can you target yourself? More or less the same issue, would the touch part of the rule suffice or do you need to actually be able to specifically choose the target?

Thanks for any help in advance!


Questions:
My questions are these.

1. In the queen's castle, it is said to be made of living wood, no hardness or anything is given for this and it kind of becomes important later, what would it be recommended as since the castle is a giant thistle.

2. In the fight with the queen Rhoswen, she tree strides into pillars that have small holes in her room and then proceeds to cast spells at people from them, the module mentions "if the PC's find her" and such, and I'd love to know what kind of DC would be to notice that, as I presume she still casts spells and is loud doing that even from inside a pillar.

3. If the PC's do find her, how do they attack her? Do they first have to hit the pillar and destroy it, once more, what would be the HP/hardness of them, also if they target the room with aoe spells would she take damage while inside the pillar?

Can't think of anything else right now, but I'll ask more if I remember further down.


Wow, that cleared a lot up, thanks! Very good explanation:)


Thanks everyone, one more question not as related to this if folks don't mind. Noticed someone in another thread talking about Aqueous Orb, and was wondering if someone got caught by that on the round that the caster moves it and fails their reflex save...and then it comes to their turn, do they make a reflex save on their turn or do they make that save on the turn of the caster?

If they make the save on their turn, wouldn't that effectively give them 2 saves per round and make it disadvantageous for the caster to act before them?


Hey there, was curious if a 10th level druid wild shaped into a fire elemental and gained vulnerability to cold, and then used protection from energy against cold damage, would the following happen;

1) If say a source of cold damage hits him for 60 damage, would he actually take 90 damage to the protection from energy spell from that source?

2) If that source hits him, would it actually just be 60 damage to the protection from energy spell?

Basically just curious if the vulnerability applies while the spell is on, given that resistance doesn't seem to apply to it, I'm thinking the answer would be 2, but I am curious if anyone else has thoughts on the matter?


Thanks everyone!


Hey there, on the 2nd and subsequent ray attack, do you apply the -5 and then -10 modifiers? Or do they all attack at full BAB+Dex like the first one?


This is just a small thing that I'm pretty sure I know how it works but would like to double check.

Basically, when the monster uses the grab ability, can it roll CMB and take the -20 after seeing the result, or do you have to declare the use of the -20 before you make the roll?


Hey there, was curious about the interaction between these two, specifically will the various drakes still be able to activate speed surge while under the effect of a slow spell, and if yes can they take a second move action? And also do they still move at half speed for that second move?


Hey there, my players wish to purchase a wand of savage maw, now the only people providing that service in my town are clerics and as such I presume they cannot craft a wand of a lvl 1 savage maw that my players wand since its a 2nd level spell for clerics.

The question I have is, if one of the players(hunter) or a ranger npc provides the spell at lvl 1, do the clerics then craft it as a lvl 1 wand or lvl 2? And also can they actually provide the spell given that this is a spell trigger item and there's some strange wording all over the place about whether or not the caster HAS to have the spell to actually craft?


What about those with a permanent duration? Such as bestow curse and others. Does the curse/effect disappear?


If a summoned monster casts for example bestow curse, or any spell like that which puts an effect on the enemy or other permanent modifiers, does the curse/spell disappear and expire when the summoned creature dies?

I understand that for timed spells with rounds per level and such the spell ends and expires, but I am confused about such ones as bestow curse or other similar spells.


So if that same thug/inquisitor uses the frightening ability of the thug combined with a dazzling display, would he be able to choose which opponents get hit with fear, or does he hit all of them at once with it? For example if he hits 5 goblins all with a shaken duration of 5 rounds, and he chooses that only one will be frightened, is that possible? Or when he makes that choice all of them would become frightened? Because that first way allows him to completely strip say a boss monster of all its protection from henchmen and such and leave only the boss fighting, or it allows the player to just fear 2-3 out of 5 monsters away to make the fight easier even though he could've done it to all of them. I'm not really sure how this interaction works.


That's why I mentioned my player wants that thug/inquisitor combo which allows him to turn 4 rounds of shaken into 1 round of frightened, and how that would interact with the run around the corner, can't see enemy and such things, since its just one round basically.


Hmm thanks everyone, one more question, if a creature becomes frightened, it can say take a withdraw action I presume to run away, however if it turns a corner after taking that action and is no longer in view of the person doing a dazzling display, would it stop immediately or continue its full distance...how exactly does that work?


Hello there, one of my players wants to build an intimidate build with the thug/inquisitor combo and I was wondering what are people's opinions on the repeating +5 DC in combat for demoralize, does it apply on both success and failure or just on the failure? Also do I need to be wary of anything else with this build in particular? He's planning on utilizing dazzling display to basically frighten everything, does this work on animals and such low int creatures? Does it only not affect those immune to mind affecting things?


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
A Troll's reach is 10', so you were asking when the Troll can reach the top, can he just pull himself up? I don't see a rule describing this. is this an Acrobatics check or a Climb Check? I think that having access to the edge of the pit should give you some kind of bonus.

The particular rules I was mentioning for pulling himself up would be a combination of

"The maximum vertical reach (height the creature can reach without jumping) for an average creature of a given size is shown on the table below. (As a Medium creature, a typical human can reach 8 feet without jumping.)"

"If you wish to pull yourself up, you can do so with a move action and a DC 15 Climb check."

It is all under acrobatics, so if the troll climbed up to 15 feet in the pit, I could see him being able to pull himself out with one move action since it specifies in that table that large creatures have a 16 foot vertical reach.


Hey there everyone, I'd like some assistance on this matter if anyone could shed some light.

So the situation is as follows, if a wizard, let's say level 6 casts create pit, which is now 30 foot deep and a large creature falls inside, let's say a troll..

Well I have several things I'd like to ask here and more questions may arise as a result of this, but let's start with this:

1. Can this troll begin to chimney climb up the pit? I know this is somewhat controversial and many don't agree on this but I'm curious how would people rule on it, I personally lean towards yes and would lower the DC from 25 to 15.

2. While the troll is climbing, say he reaches the half way point..it says in the vertical reach that a large creature can reach up 16 feet under acrobatics, does that mean that the troll can now just reach up with his hand and pull himself out?

3. Alongside point 2, can the troll do a little jump while climbing and then grab hold of the edge with the vertical reach and climb out? Basically can you jump while in the middle of climbing, say if you start your round say 10 feet off the ground and you decide to do a vertical jump?