Paladin of Iomedae

Corran Horn's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore 14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 28 Organized Play characters.


RSS

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

I have a character that I created at about the start of Season 9, but before even 9-07 came out. I have all 9 goals for the season completed, and would really like for him to be able to become a jeweled sage. Please tell me there will be something that will allow him to do so. Even if it is just a boon...


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

When will this scenario be retired?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Dis sounds like fun!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I thought about making a Sovereign Court Character, but these are awful. Advocate was the only one I was mildly interested in trying to get. Glad I wasn't the only one to think these are bad.

As a side question. What happens when Season 9 starts? Do we throw away the old cards, no matter where we are at on them? Will some things transfer over?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

In a recent game, I had a GM use the Blinding Gaze from the Blindheim every turn. I tried to tell him that it would only work once a round, but it says in the description of the ability it can turn it on and off at will as a free action. I know that some abilities (at least for characters) say that if a creature passes its save it can't be affected again for 24 hours. This doesn't say that. And from a realistic standpoint, if you continually look at a bright light, it can blind you. So it makes sense that it can affect you every round.

But he was having it affect people on every players turn in the round, including the Blindheim's. By the end of the first round (and before most even had a chance to take their turn), everyone was blind except me (Dwarf Cleric-1 with Protection Domain, 18 CON, +1 Fort Trait). I had an 8 Fortitude and wasn't having any problems making the saves. But each round I had to succeed at 6 saves (thankfully I never rolled below a five) and we were eventually able to kill it.

If the ability goes off every turn, this monster is incredibly OP (it may be OP anyways). But I couldn't think where to look in the rules to prove it would only happen once a round. Is the GM right (other than in using his GM powers to do what he wants) or am I?

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

Ragoz wrote:

While it is a shame it happened in your first game at least it didn't happen in like your 10th. It doesn't feel better dying 50 hours of character time in. This sort of stuff happens and is part of the game.

I had to run Trial by Machine for a group that was a huge majority new people. By the time they were at the end they ran for their lives after I probably fudged at least 20 rolls in their favor. (I would absolutely only do this in the case of many brand new people and because I was asked to go easy by the VO.)

You are probably right. Desna favor my other characters that they will be protected from a max hit crit that kills them in one blow.

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

Corran Horn wrote:
Quentin Coldwater wrote:
GM with a penchant for running difficult scenarios (and playing hard-ass) ran Hall of the Flesh Eaters for three newbies and a veteran. Only one of the newbies made it out (the Arcanist). One of those guys we've never seen again, though that may have been unrelated.
It was an incredibly lucky crit. Not just the attack roll and confirmation, but the damage was max damage. Coupled with doing almost max damage the turn before, though from a normal hit.

No I did not. Am I still allowed to have one?

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Veltharis wrote:

My second PFS character - the illustrious private investigator Sarin van Dyne of Taldor - was bitten in two by a giant water beetle due to an unlucky critical in the first round of the first combat of the first (and only) scenario I played him in. Brand new first level character taken from full HP to below negative-CON in one attack. No one else had even had a chance to act yet.

As others have said, it's the exception rather than the rule, but it can happen, even with an experienced players. It stinks, but there's really nothing to do but shrug it off and try again.

This wasn't meant to be a dig on you as a GM, in fact, had I been GMing, I probably would've done the same thing. I wasn't expecting the max crit, either. Nor my lackluster attack just before that. And

I should've had the Paladin heal me or taken my Pot.

The stars aligned to kill Jayfe... But I guess that means his brother Ryker (almost exactly the same character, funny how that works out), will have to carry on his brother's legacy.

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

Quentin Coldwater wrote:
GM with a penchant for running difficult scenarios (and playing hard-ass) ran Hall of the Flesh Eaters for three newbies and a veteran. Only one of the newbies made it out (the Arcanist). One of those guys we've never seen again, though that may have been unrelated.

It was an incredibly lucky crit. Not just the attack roll and confirmation, but the damage was max damage. Coupled with doing almost max damage the turn before, though from a normal hit.

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
Corran Horn wrote:
Got slaughtered in my debut PFS game. Kind of brutal... has this happened to anyone else? It's a bit off-putting.
What scenario were you playing, could you provide details?

8-21- Champion's Chalice, Part 2.

Warning: Possible spoilers- though I tried to eliminate as much as I could.

I was combating a baddie. Since I was doing the most damage, due to the weapon I was utilizing and my character being the only full melee in our party, it focused on me. (Though there was another PC in contact with it).

Round 1: I drank a pot for a boost.

Round 2: I went smashie smashie and really hurt it (12 or 13 damage- not much, but a lot for level 1). It then attacked me and took 9 of my 12 health despite the valiant effort of our Bard giving me bonuses to AC.

Round 3: (at this point there are a few 'if onlys'). 1st 'if only,' The Bard asked whether I wanted +4 AC or +4 to next attack, I took AC. I just missed its AC by 2 on my next attack (and I think would have killed it due to the damage I could produce). The other 'if only' was if the healer had healed me. Although it's possible this wouldn't have helped (because I ended up 5 past my Con in negative HP), it might have at least kept me from completely dying on the next hit. On the baddies next attack, it got a nat 20 and despite the Bard's assistance, it confirmed. Then the GM rolled max damage on both dice, coupled with its high strength, it reduced me to -17. So the healing may not have helped depending on his roll. The last 'if only' is if I had taken a 5-foot step back and used my Pot of Cure Light Wounds.

**** Venture-Agent, Maryland— Baltimore aka Corran Horn

Got slaughtered in my debut PFS game. Kind of brutal... has this happened to anyone else? It's a bit off-putting.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

With the exception of the Disguise kit, nothing at all lists makeup. If someone wants their character to have makeup, do they just need to suck it up and buy said kit? After all, a Courtesan, Geisha, or something similar wouldn't care about the fake beards, mustaches, or other things in the kit. Should I just use my GM powers and say it's half the cost of the kit and move on?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I would like to throw my hat in the ring. Never played on a message board before, though.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

For the Advanced Class Guide Feats: the Feat "Improved Studied Combatant" on the list states a prerequisite of "Int 14" but when you go the description of the feat itself, it says the prerequisite is "Int 13".