CompliantHornet's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 16 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

It's definitely enough for a proof of concept!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Hi!
I want to develop a module for Foundry Virtual Tabletop to aid GMs doing Harrow readings, but to do so I would need high quality assets for a Harrow Deck. I'd be happy to buy a pdf of either of the two in the store, but they're not available - is there a book that has the full 54 cards?
Thanks!!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

That'd work too, for sure.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So, reading through the playtest, a pair of feats stood out to me as feeling particularly thematic and cool- Alchemical Shot, and Shattering Shot. Both of these focus on augmenting your fighting style with bombs - and both of these felt way cooler than most of the default path stuff. Shattering Shot felt a bit weird because it's tied to the Sniper path, but honestly these kinda feel like they should be part of their own thing to me.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So from a game design elegance thing - I think a focus pool and non-spell focus abilities is cleanest.

From keeping these separate - I really don't want to take a action that has an 80% chance to do nothing. Even if they made it so that you always rolled, even on the first, and it affected subsequent uses, that'd be significantly preferable.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
The Raven Black wrote:


Astonishingly, I see nothing against poisoning your firearm's rounds, so a poisoned cone of Bunderbuss pellets seems RAW.

You can absolutely poison a cone of Blunderbuss pellets, but only the primary target would be poisoned - it's the only one targeted by the strike.

Injury Poisons wrote:


An injury poison is activated by applying it to a weapon or ammunition, and it affects the target of the first Strike made using the poisoned item. If that Strike is a success and deals piercing or slashing damage, the target must attempt a saving throw against the poison. On a failed Strike, the target is unaffected, but the poison remains on the weapon and you can try again. On a critical failure, or if the Strike fails to deal slashing or piercing damage for some other reason, the poison is spent but the target is unaffected.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Yeah, they apparently changed it in this errata bundle - MAP was previously written as only affecting attack rolls. My bad on the misinterpretation - in my defense, I think this is a very non-intuitive change given how many weapons with trip or grapple have finesse, and I can't actually access the written rules due to paizo 500s.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Since Grapple isn't an attack roll, it reads that it doesn't suffer from Multiple Attack Penalty (but does contribute). Is this the intended functionality?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Given that Cold Iron Blanch states that all members of the Pathfinder Society have access to it, do PFS players have access to it? The Blog explicitly notes several other passages that grant access through the text like that, but not that one.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Eric Nielsen wrote:
CompliantHornet wrote:

I'm unsure about how downtime is worded in this guide, and specifically the part that says Earn Income is resolved first.

To give an example: Would a Field Commissioned Agent be able to spend their 12 days of downtime after a scenario by using the 8 day block to Earn Income, and the 4 day block to start Retraining a Feat, then in their subsequent downtime spend the 8 day block finishing the Retraining and starting another one, finishing it during the 4 day block?

From the guide:

"Earning Income is the most common Downtime activity, though it is the last option to resolve. Complete any Crafting or Retraining before beginning Earn Income checks."

The guide says its resolved _last_ not _first_.

Right, but the guide also says that you spend the chunks discretely as units, and that's the only part that says resolve. I had read that as how to handle disparate downtimes as a GM expeditiously, not a restriction on the order in which you can perform them.

That said, I don't particularly disagree with your argument - I just think there are multiple valid readings, and that's why I posted here :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I'm unsure about how downtime is worded in this guide, and specifically the part that says Earn Income is resolved first.

To give an example: Would a Field Commissioned Agent be able to spend their 12 days of downtime after a scenario by using the 8 day block to Earn Income, and the 4 day block to start Retraining a Feat, then in their subsequent downtime spend the 8 day block finishing the Retraining and starting another one, finishing it during the 4 day block?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

That's exactly what I was hoping for, thanks!

I had also submitted a ticket via email- please disregard that one.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I had placed an order that started a Lost Omens subscription, and thought that by starting with Gods & Magic, I'd also be getting Legends on the subscription plan (ie. with PDF included). This is in part because of this image stating that both are in my cart.

However, the order didn't ship with (or charge for - don't worry about that) Legends. Is there a way for me to have Legends + PDF added to my Pathfinder's Guide shipment, such that I pay for Legends and get the PDF as part of my sub?

Thank you!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

@Grcles de Cross: It is best to think of familiars as being a completely separate thing that looks like an animal. They aren't actually based on the animal that you have them look like at all - for instance, if you make it a bird, it doesn't have a fly speed without you getting the Flight as you picked.

The entirety of their stats are detailed here (core stats and rules), here (familiar abilities), and here (specific familiars). As far as I can tell, the closest you get to an attack is Faerie Dragon's breath weapon.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
graystone wrote:
CompliantHornet wrote:
Does Eldritch Shot benefit from Magical Trickster, allowing you to sneak attack twice, or does succeeding on a spell attack roll necessitate actually rolling, with ES's substitution not working for it?
It doesn't say roll just succeed so it looks good for 2 sneak attacks.

Right, sorry - I've seen comments about 'succeeding on a roll' requiring a roll other places. I think the strongest counter argument is Assurance, but I'm not positive. Also that it might be too good to be true.

graystone wrote:


CompliantHornet wrote:
For Mastermind Rogue, is it intended that it get harder to flatfoot your target each time? How does creature identification work when fighting against a bunch of the same type of creature?

Additional Knowledge

Source Core Rulebook pg. 506
"Sometimes a character might want to follow up on a check to Recall Knowledge, rolling another check to discover more information. After a success, further uses of Recall Knowledge can yield more information, but you should adjust the difficulty to be higher for each attempt. Once a character has attempted an incredibly hard check or failed a check, further attempts are fruitless—the character has recalled everything they know about the subject."

Looking at the chart:
Hard, +2
Very hard, +5
Incredibly hard, +10
So first check normal next DC+2, 3rd DC+5, 4th DC+10, no 5th

Ah sorry - what was confusing me was that Creature Identification has another entry after that that makes it seem like "Yep, that's a troll" on secondary successes.

I'm still unsure if identifying one troll in a combat identifies his buddies, or even future trolls.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Does Eldritch Shot benefit from Magical Trickster, allowing you to sneak attack twice, or does succeeding on a spell attack roll necessitate actually rolling, with ES's substitution not working for it?

For Mastermind Rogue, is it intended that it get harder to flatfoot your target each time? How does creature identification work when fighting against a bunch of the same type of creature?