I have a question on regards to flanking condition. Even though there are extensive messages on this (and several are contradicting), I will like to hear from source.
Scenario (all medium creatures and 5' sqrs):
If E is the target, then:
My apologies for the silly question.
In the race, how would you treat Invisible Stalkers (air elemental)? Would the Pc's be able to discern their shape and see them b/c is raining and water is delineating their shape?
Would they get minuses to Stealth?
Would they get concealment (20%) or total concealment (50%)?
What would the DC for Perception be once on the ship (still 42)?
If the Stalkers are Water Elementals,
I agree with Riggler. Yes, this AP makes it hard to sink ships.
- I talked to my players about what this AP is about and the others. I told them is too early for a fleet and talked to them about the hindrance of having too many ships in terms of upkeep/plunder.
- They have been getting several ships (I hate Make Whole spell). I always make sure to only leave behind some NPC's of the captured ship. This makes it difficult/impossible for the PC's to man more than 2 ships at once. If things get out of control in terms of them figuiring out a way to man them, then the Kraken will dispose of one of them or mutiny or have 3 Cheliax Man-o-War ships hunt them down (which fits w/ the AP).
You can always find ways reduce the number of ships.
I think the developers did not took this fact into account in terms of how easy is to get/defeat ships.
I told my PC's that towards the end they will be getting more ships as part of the AP so no need to have an armada rightnow. I mentioned to keep 1 extra ship b/c the more they have the more they spend on fees, crew, etc. and more likely they will be attacked more and loose those extra ships. All those extra NPC's are fighting in the background and not engaging the bosses.
Skeld,Thanks for clarifying. Makes sense ;)
I ran the encounter with the Devil's Pallor tonight and the party attacked with both of their ships. They took out Svard and stopped the Sea Chanty from getting away. Upon finding out that they were Sargavian the captain and crew elected to repair her ship and escort her to Bloodcove and let them go in an attempt to gain favor with Sargava. This could play well later. However as they stocked up on rations and water I could not use needing fresh water to set up the Dominator encounter so I will have to run it later. I ran the first two nights of For Whom the Bell Tolls instead and broke for the night.
My players so far are attacking anything that moves regardless of country. They captured both ships but I managed to leave alive enough crew to skeleton 2 and not 3 ships. They salvaged the third ship.
James Jacobs wrote:
Thank you as always!!!!
Can you use UMD (activate blindly) to determine the secret word?
I understand you can do it with a wand, scroll or other items that were created with a magic Item Creation Feat (ICF). But, if someone casted the spell on a simple love letter (for example) or on an item not created with ICF, would it be considered a magic item and UMD can be used.
I searched the message boards and Rules forum with no luck.
Secret Page spell description:
"A comprehend languages spell alone cannot reveal a secret page's contents. You are able to reveal the original contents by speaking a special word. You can then peruse the actual page and return it to its secret page form at will. You can also remove the spell by double repetition of the special word. A detect magic spell reveals dim magic on the page in question but does not reveal its true contents. True seeing reveals the presence of the hidden material but does not reveal the contents unless cast in combination with comprehend languages. A secret page spell can be dispelled, and the hidden writings can be destroyed by means of an erase spell."
If a regular item is protected with the secret page spell (like a letter of Marque):
1) is it considered a "magic item"?
I am confused b/c the spell description tells how to go around it.
Hi Ferri...that is what I planned on doing...my concern is if the PC's decide to help the NPC's then I have to give additional XP...but is doable...we game tomorrow and we will have a housekeeping session (30 minutes) to go over this and naval combat and establish some common ground to speed things up.
However, when the PC's and 7 crew members boarded Whalebone's ship, there was no enemy crew to fight in the background. The monsters the PC's had to face "alone" where Whalebone and the zombies.
In this case how can this be avoided. I do not want to tell them: "you can't do it" because is their crew.
Hi fellow DM's.
I need some help here. The PC's they have their own ship with a crew of 39. I modified (house ruled) the boarding party attacks. While the PC's are fighting the enemy marines/captain/monster (if any), both the crew sailors (from PC and NPC ships) will be fighting in the background and at random round rounds I roll to see how many die on each side.
This has not happened yet. The PC's have boarded some ships (Event 11 and Event 14) with their crew and have engaged the enemy. For these two events the enemy ships do not have crew sailors to fight the PC's crew (they are Level 2 fighters) in the background. Needless to say their APL go down, the encounter's difficulty increases (by 1 step), and they should receive less XP. I have been giving full XP and just using the APL of the PC's only b/c since Wormwood Mutiny I house ruled that their crew will not gain XP points.
So I hope you realize that it takes a bit of the fun away from a DM point of view in terms of having more men fighting (instead of being 5 PC's vs 1 monster it becomes 5PCs+5NPC's vs 1). Only 1 crew sailor has died.
Most importantly, I do not want to take the fun away form the PC's in using their crew. I like that they put in harms way their crew fighting a CR 6 creature.
How can I mitigate this w/o hindering the flow of the encounter and the fun? I want the CR to stay the same when the PC board with crew sailors and the enemy ship has no crew!!!
The only thing I can come up with is to add ad-hoc sailors (to make an Average encounter) to fight JUST the PC crew. This will not influence the CR of the encounter. My only concern is if the PC's decide to help the NPC's.
James Jacobs wrote:
Hi James,Thanks. So, if its a magic item guarded by a monster, a detect magic spell or spellcraft to ID will determine the magical property. Only way to detect the monster (poltergeist) in this case is after it manifest and if they see it. Correct?
Reason I ask is b/c sometimes I do not want to use templates and want to add things I find challenging but do not know how to adjudicate a fair and proper CR.
Can I do the same thing to NPC's?
Have any of you read Pirates Honor (PF Tale):
1)what level would Torius Vin and Celeste (Moon Naga) be?
I am planning on incorporating them to this AP.
The idea is to have the mutineers not keep the PC's ship...is more of a flavour aspect to have the PC leave the group rather than: once you got to port, John Doe resigned and left the crew.
THX for the suggestion!!!!!!!!!
James Jacobs wrote:
Thank you!!!! :)
The template states that: "The creature’s type changes to plant. It loses any subtypes it has, such as alignment subtypes (such as good) and subtypes that indicate kind (such as goblinoid or reptilian)."
Does this mean that it looses the swarm template (if so then I can not add this template)?
On Council of Thieves (#30)The Twice-Damned Prince, a Bag of Holding can be used to put out fires. A Type-I extinguish 3x3 square area which translates roughly to 36 buckets of water (using AP #30 "conversions") = 72 gallons of water.
How long does it take to fill a BoH-I with water (36 buckets)? Filling a single bucket is a move action.
Also, how does water retrieving works? It is not a solid object. Is it a move, standard, full round action.
PS: I checked the Twice-Damned Prince (GM Reference) forum with no luck.
The Ravenous has a crew of 40 without the officers. The main deck is struck by a flaming arrow (not the spell). Next round the 5 foot square catches fire (failed safe). The whole crew (40 sailors) rush over to extinguish the flames as the ship gains the Uncontrolled action.
Does this makes sense?
Bzali's approach seems more "reasonable".
I am still a bit confused. I think is the wording used in the PG.
When a wooden floor or ship's deck is on fire, the damage is 2d6/round on a failed safe.
1) The damage is always 2d6 regardless if 1 square or 20 squares caught fire?
2) Is this damage cumulative (spreading fire on a deck or floor)? Lets say first round 1 fire arrow ignited the wooden floor and next round 10 fire arrows ignited another section of the floor (10 new squares). Is it still 2d6 for all squares on fire?
Last night the ship's main deck caught fire (only 5 squares). The S&SPG (page 16)states that:
" Once a ship has caught fire, it automatically takes 2d6 points of fire damage per round (ignoring hardness) as the fire spreads. The ship’s crew can attempt to extinguish the flames as a full-round action for the entire crew, allowing the ship to make a Reflex save (DC 15 + the number of rounds the ship has been on fire)."
1) Does this makes sense? The entire crew!?!?! We had this scenario last night in which their ship caught fire (5 adjacent squares). I ruled for that particular fire that it was ok not to use the whole crew (since half of it boarded another ship). Any RAW on this?
2) The automatic damage is for each square? I rolled 2d6 for the 5 squares.
3) How many squares per round does the fire spreads??
1) If you have a recurring foe, lets say that my group encounters John Doe in 3 different occasions, do they get XP 3 times as if defeating him 3 times even though he is a recurring NPC???
2) If this same John Doe has a ship, does the PC's get extra XP also for defeating the ship or the ship gets "calculated" in the CR of John Doe??
Is there any RAW on this?
Thanks as always.