![]() ![]()
So, one of my players is an Antipaladin (we're playing Way of the Wicked). He's considering going into the Holy Vindicator prestige class. Before doing so, however, he plans to take a single level of Cleric, making him have Channel Energy from two classes. Now, as per the errata, Channel Energy doesn't stack, so he'll have: A Channel Energy that uses 2x Touch of Corruption A Channel Energy usable 3 + Cha modifier per day Now he enters the Holy Vindicator prestige class. What happens? Holy Vindicator says "The vindicator’s class level stacks with levels in any other class that grants the channel energy ability." From that wording, it sounds like the Holy Vindicator progresses both his Cleric's and his Antipaladin's channel, is that correct? ![]()
Hi. My players are in Rashemen (Forgotten Realms) and one of them might want to learn the techniques of the Runescarred Berserkers. For simplicity's sake, I developed them as a set of Rage Powers, and I'd like some feedback on balance and mechanics specifically, if you have the time. Thanks in advance :) ![]()
Under the rules for Space, Reach & Threatened Area, on www.d20pfsrd.com, two different measures for reach appear. One states that reach is like area-of-effect template, in that you threaten and can attack an area like the radius-template of a spell or other effect. The other states that you simply threaten every square within the feet-indicator of your reach. In pictures, one gives these rules for reach: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/_/rsrc/1389122892341/images/size-space-3d.png While the other gives these: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/_/rsrc/1389073071030/images/large-tall.png What am I missing? ![]()
Thank you! Quote: If the AP recommends that the players should be level four before storming the castle, I simple make sure they are level four before they storm the castle. I strongly dislike doing this myself as I dislike level-scaling. PCs are rewarded for good role-playing, handy solution or in-depth completition of tasks and the overcoming of obstacles. In my games, I like that to be reflected in tangible differantiation in XP levels :) ![]()
*spoilers ahead* I'm getting ready for a run of Way of the Wicked, and I'm a little confused about the XP awards. For example, depending on the PCs' success at preparing for Fireaxe's attack, they get different amounts of XP. An entry could say, for example, "Award 2,400XP for the destruction of Balentyne." Is that 2,400XP each or (as I would think) 2,400XP to share? Also, how do you generally award other XP at such sandboxy quests? There are 100 guards stationed at Balentyne, after all, what if they (probably won't happen) kill them all? Does that yield more XP than cleverly overcoming the threat? I will probably give XP based on role-playing and clever solutions, I'm just wondering what the "official" way to do it is. ![]()
Gator the Unread wrote:
Makes senses. Will do that. Also, yes. It will probably be done, but is not a priority. ![]()
CURRENT VERSION: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3613210/Durthan.pdf As said in my thread concerning the Red Wizard (http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q8p3?Compiled-Red-Wizard-prestigle-class) I will soon be running the Way of the Wicked campaign in Forgotten Realms' Rashemen. One of my players has declared he would like to adopt the role of a durthan, so naturally, we had to look at a conversion for that prestige class from 3.5 to Pathfinder. The original durthan is a somewhat messy and very poor prestige class. In our conversion attempt, we have tried to stay true to the fluff (and most of the mechanics) by turning it into an alternative version of the Mystic Theurge prestige class. As such, the power level here should be around the level of a Mystic Theurge, but a little above that. Basically, the durthan is a Mystic Theurge which can cast any spell she knows using her available spell slots (an advantage compared to the Mystic Theurge) but spends extra time to do so (a disadvantage compared to the Mystic Theurge). She has no spell synthesis, but instead gain an incorporeal animal companion (which has a similar progression to a Ranger's companion) and some resist cold. Please don't hesitate to comment :) ![]()
Arakhor wrote: That's not quite the same as removing options though. Since familiars are based on wizard level, you could just specify that the Red Wizard does not increase your familiar's power and that your ability to imbue your arcane bond is also limited by your wizard level. Killing those options altogether is rather heavy-handed. It is already specified under the spellcasting sections that these things do not grow with pres class levels. Also, I realise that it is a little hamfisted, but it does make sense that an "überspecialist" loses those things. ![]()
In the end, I took away the bonus metamagic/item creation feat. I also removed access to Arcane Bond/Familiar. It's supposed to be a prestige class offering new options, and so it shouldn't get what a standard wizard does. Opinions on power level as well as the new "no arcane bond" clause are welcomed :) This is the latest version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3613210/Red%20Wizard%20of%20Thay.pdf Don't hesitate to comment. ![]()
I'd still like impressions on the power level above all :) Detect Magic wrote: Never being able to prepare spells from your opposition schools is a pretty big drawback, but the red wizard's class features are pretty good. Perhaps they balance each other out? I don't know. Hmm, I just don't know. Is losing three schools really that bad? I mean, all your other spells are still as awesome, and your specialzied spells are super-mega-awesome... At the same time, you gain a bit (though not much) of semi-free meta-magic. Arakhor wrote: I think you're better off just listing all three prohibited schools each time e.g. Abjuration - evocation, necromancy & illusion. You can always provide a link and copyright details for the Sin Mage rules to cover your including that text in your PDF. Perhaps. I'll take a look at it. ![]()
Sellsword2587 wrote: Looks alright, but "Enhanced Specialization" seems to only hamper the Red Wizard; there is no balancing benefit, not within that class feature anyway. The problem with this prestige class seems to be too high of a power level rather than the opposite, so I don't see anything wrong with the above :) Detect Magic wrote: Have you seen this? Might be a good place to start for a pathfinderized "Enhanced Specialization". That's perfect! Added it as an entry requirement, and changed Enhanced Specialization to "you get an additional prohibited school." The problem now of course is that this makes the Red Wizard even more powerful. What to do? I like all the features he gets. Perhaps simply remove the bonus feats? Updated version is here, please comment: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3613210/Red%20Wizard%20of%20Thay.pdf ![]()
CURRENT VERSION: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3613210/Red%20Wizard%20of%20Thay.pdf Hi everybody. I will soon be starting a run of Way of the Wicked with some cool people. As always, we plan on running the adventure in Forgotten Realms, more specifically we've all read up on Rashemen and I've decided to set the adventure there. Naturally, one of my players wants to be a Red Wizard, which fits nicely into the frame of both the setting and the adventure. As we all more or less like the concept of the original 3.5 prestige class (http://dndtools.eu/classes/red-wizard/), I've decided to look at converting the prestige class and perhaps make it a bit more interesting. I've read most of the talk of conversion on this forum, and with a basis in this thread: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pc2a?Red-Wizard-prestige-class-conversion-from -FR I've made this conversion. I would really like some feedback, basically on whether it is "Pathfindery" enough and whether the power curve is cool beans. Thanks in advance :) ![]()
Dazz wrote: I would imagine these are counted separately. Because the archetype gives channeling for one specific purpose, while the other is general energy channeling, my interpretation is that the "harm evil outsiders" channeling stays that way no matter what. My concern is that you could also view Sacred Scourge as simply giving the Alignment Channel feat, and the some Channel to go with it. Once you get another Channel, they don't stack, but you can still use your Channel to harm outsiders. The rule that Channels are seperate also clears up any confusion concerning which Channel feats a character has apply to which Channel Energy abilities. Keeping them seperate seems to line up with other rulings I've read. But yes, this does seem a bit like a special case. ![]()
Hi. One of my players is an Aasimar Oracle with the Purifier Archetype. This Archetype grants him the ability to use Channel Energy a number of times per day equal to 1 + Charisma modifier to harm evil outsiders. Simultaneously, he has picked up the Life Mystery to gain the Channel revelation, which grants him the regular Channel Energy a Cleric has at 1 + Charisma modifier per day. Are these abilities seperate (1 + cha mod/day channel to harm evil outsiders, 1 + cha mod/day channel to heal living or damage unliving) or are they one (1 + cha mod/day channel to harm evil outsiders, heal living or damage unliving)? I know that usually Channel is not seperate, so I imagine the latter is true. Correct? ![]()
Diego Rossi wrote:
Since there is no clear rule here, I'd personally rule that "cannot [..-] drink or eat properly" means "with difficulty", and so, keeping to the numerical rules given in the rest of the item, I'd stick to saying "20% chance to fail your extract" for the alchemist, signifying that he spills the contents of his extracts over the muzzle and onto the ground instead of pouring it into the mouth. Similarly, I'd apply a 20% chance of a potion being ingested improperly. That sticks to the provisions given for Spell Failure and chance to incorrectly speak a command word. ![]()
Drakkiel wrote: Those two abilities work entirely different...one is based off swallow whole and follows its mechanics along with what is added in its description...the other has nothing to do with swallow whole and has its own effects But if you gain the pinned condition and can still cut your way out, then there are two possibilites: 1) You can cut when pinned. 2) You can somehow cut when pinned only while engulfed. So I understand the confusion. Pinned is not clearly defined. ![]()
Shfish wrote:
Hmm, interesting thoughts! And yeah, I made a mistake listing the feats, old D&D habits die hard :P I think I'll be going with the Strength build. ![]()
OK, thanks. 3 seems the best option. 1 seems at odds with RAW: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/weapon-finesse-combat---final "Therefore, if you're attempting a disarm, sunder, or trip maneuver, you can apply your Dex bonus instead of your Str mod on the combat maneuver check (assuming you're using a finessable weapon, of course)." Emphasis mine. Moving on, he has a general build question for you guys. Right now he has 12 STR, 19 DEX and 16 INT. He's been pondering switching STR and INT, giving him 16 STR and 19 DEX. With his Belt of Physical Might that would be 18 STR and 21 DEX, and since he hasn't used his ability score point from 8th level, that would be 18STR and 22DEX. On the one hand, that's more damage for his whip, and he could forego Weapon Finesse and instead pick up Fury's Fall for a total of +10 from his stats (!) to CMB for the purposes of Tripping. This does, however, mean that he actually reduces his attack roll by 2, since his Strength is again used for attack rolls. It's quite an awkward situation, I don't know what to recommend him. He has so many skill points already I'm not sure 16 INT is better than 16STR, but with 16STR switching Weapon Finesse for Fury's Fall is attractive, but costs +2 to hit. Hmm. Maybe the correct play here is to actually switch STR and DEX, so he would have 22STR and 18DEX. That costs him a bit of his skill-powah and Armour Class, but seems pretty good besides. Oh Pathfinder, the options... ![]()
There are a lot of overlapping feats when it comes to adding Dexterity to Combat Maneuver Bonus. A lot of threads about it too, but I haven't found anything conclusive. There are: Weapon Finesse: Which lets you replace your Str with Dex for the purposes of CMB. Agile Maneuvers: Lets you do the above with whatever you want, not just your Weapon Finesse attacks. Fury's Fall: Lets you ADD Dex to CMB ON TOP OF Str when you attempt a trip. Now, one of my players plays a Whip-master Archaeologist dude. He has 12 STR and 19 DEX, and he has Weapon Finesse. He's now wondering what, if he anything, he should pick up for feats, and the above overlap is part of his confusion. Any assistance? EDIT: He's level 8. His feats so far look like this: Combat Expertise (1st level)
Help would be greatly appreciated. ![]()
MurphysParadox wrote: It is only for his bonus spells. Considering it says that you are more comfortable using the bonus spells. Yeah, in my mind it's like this: In favor of "only for bonus spells" is the first line, where it says more comfortable with bonus spells. Against it is the komma: "He gains a +4 bonus on all concentration checks, on caster level checks made to overcome spell resistance, and on all Knowledge (arcana) and Spellcraft checks made on topics associated with his bonus spells." ^ This sentence read without the first line is grammatically constructed to say: +4 Conc +4 Spell-pen +4 Know (arc) and Spellcraft made on topics associated his bonus spells So yeah. My gut tells me you're right though, so I'm probably going to change this archetype. There's not much to it unless most of the spells from your Mystery benefit from meta-magic and Conc + Spell-pen, which makes little sense considering the Lore-mystery fits so well with the Seeker Archetype thematically. ![]()
Hmm. Alright, you make a pretty good case. I'll let my players run it as you wrote it in my campaign. I do think that I'm going to let my players choose between replacing Weapon Mastery or Armor Mastery though. That said, however, I'm grateful you fixed this one up. The moment I saw the archetype I thought "two-handed weapon and buckler slam? Awesome!" and then I realized that wasn't what it did, and I was a sad fish. Stumbling upon your thread save the day :) ![]()
I'm actually considering whether you could remove Weapon Training and Weapon Mastery instead. The problem is that this build will (hopefully) be power-attacking as much as possible. Taking a -2 penalty for bucklering on top of TWF penalties already penalizes this build enough as far as I see it. Removing Weapon Training is arguably a tougher blow than Armor Training in campaigns where you can always find and buy just the magic weapon you need, but in less "gamist" campaigns where you must make do with what you find, Weapon Training is seldom used to its full potential anyway. (Not to mention this guy also needs Improved Shield Bash and stuff like that to do this) ![]()
I have a question about the Oracle Archetype "Seeker", specifically the "Seeker Lore" ability. From RAW: "By 3rd level, a seeker has already learned much about his mystery, and is more comfortable using the bonus spells gained by that mystery. He gains a +4 bonus on all concentration checks, on caster level checks made to overcome spell resistance, and on all Knowledge (arcana) and Spellcraft checks made on topics associated with his bonus spells. This ability replaces the revelation gained at 3rd level." My question is whether the +4 to Conc and spell-pen applies to all the Oracle's spells or just the bonus spells from her mystery? The first seems extremely good, while the latter seems extremely weak for the price of a revelation, especially since the Lore mystery, which plays very well with the Seeker thematically, literally has no spells that play well with Conc or spell-pen. Though I suppose the latter is true for Seeker Magic as well. So yeah, what's the right reading? ![]()
Bump! I like this idea, and I'm using it for my new campaign. One thing I'm iffy about though, is that this build will want high dex (for improved two-weapon fighting and such), but because it loses armor mastery, it can't use heavy armor to huge effect like other fighters, which might be a big enough trade-off that this Archetype is still on the weak side. ![]()
From RAW: "At 8th level, an inquisitor using judgment can unleash the verdict of exorcism on a creature. When she does, her judgment ends, but the creature is dazed for 1 round (Will negates); if the creature is possessed, the possessing entity must succeed at a Will saving throw (DC 10 + 1/2 inquisitor level + inquisitor’s Wisdom bonus), or be exorcised and never again allowed in that same body." What action is the Verdict? Standard? It doesn't say, as far as I can see. |