What are the mechanics for use of alchemical items as foci for arcane spells? I was running a game and had made the ruling that since most are splash weapons and bulky they needed to be held in the non-casting hand.
The counterargument was that the way I ruled would prevent magus from using focus items, rods etc. to enhance there spell casting.
As counter-intuitive as it is, I have less issue with additional material components since it doesn't leave you with a weapon in hand for free.
So the questions are:
1) Does an arcane focus item take an additional hand?
2) What kind of action is it to draw?
3) Why aren't PFS VOs backing up judges on table rulings about vague rules?