Brotato's page

591 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.

So the group I'm with just finished the tower with Katiyana. We are a NG Master Summoner of Desna with Summon Good Monster, Sacred Slayer Inquisitor of Shizuru, and a Mysterious Stranger 1/Ninja X. We were level 8 during this encounter. My summoner had 3 hound archons summoned from previous encounters in the tower (2 just from the remorhaz on the floor below).

Round 1
Summoner: Dimension Door all three party members to ledge with Katiyana.
Ninja: 3 Focused Aim sneak attack shots, 91 damage
Sacred Slayer: Bane outsider(native), free action study target on hit w/sneak attack, 45 damage. Katiyana dead before acting.

We didn't even play out the combat with the 3 hound archons vs the hoar frost spirits as it would have been a joke at this point.

There's not a real point to this story, I just thought it was pretty fun to one round a CR 11 encounter when down 1 PC and wanted to share.

What happens?

Edit: Turns out the point is moot vs Foo creatures, as their type changes. Carry on!

Very simply: Is a door that is designed for Medium sized creatures (that is, a Large sized creature would have to squeeze to get through) a Medium sized object?

So I'm having trouble coming to a determination for this for myself and it may become relevant shortly, so I'm looking for outside interpretations. Can a person casting Sunbeam use one of their allotted beams on the same round they cast as part of the casting action, or must they cast the spell then wait until their next turn to use a beam as a standard action?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok, so according to this recent FAQ, temp hp from different sources do stack. But this now creates a different conundrum. How do you determine which stack of temp hp is used?

Sample scenario:

Devourer has precast Spectral Hand and uses Spectral Hand through it, gaining 31 temporary hp. The Devourer is hit for 6 damage and goes down to 25 temp hp. The next round the Devourer hits with one of its two claws, energy draining and gaining 5 temp hp (different source), going up to 30 temp hp.

So now, at this point, what happens if the Devourer is hit for another 6 damage?

1) 5 damage is subtracted from the energy drain temp pool, and one is subtracted from the VP pool, putting the Devourer at 24 VP temp hp with the capability of energy draining on its next attack and replenishing the ED pool, thus going up to 29 total temp hp.


2) 6 damage is subtracted from VP pool, leaving the Devourer at 19 VP temp hp and 5 ED temp hp for a total of 24, but now cannot potentially go up to 29 temp hp on a successful ED next round.

Subject line pretty much says it all, but I'll try to elaborate. Line of effect/sight rules are all written in terms of spell effects, not supernatural effects.

So, for instance, a witch has already successfully Misfortuned an enemy but is then cut off from the enemy by say a Wall of Stone spell so that s/he has absolutely no line of effect to the Mistfortuned enemy, but is still within 30 feet of said enemy. Can s/he Cackle to extend duration of said Misfortune?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does an ability that grants temporary immunity to an effect--such as a Life Oracle's Energy Body when poisoned, stunned, etc.--clear the condition the character is immune to or simply suppress it?

Link to thread that started the discussion.

So a scenario played out last night in the RotR game I'm GMing that originally ended with one dead player but was rewound due to a curious turn of events.

RotR Chapter 2 Spoilers:
So it's Chapter 2 and the PCs are desperately trying to follow Iesha as she makes a beeline for Aldern. Everything's going ok until they get pincered by the goblin ghasts and the 4 ghouls from the side passage. I allow certain standing orders as I'm aware that my players, playing only once a week, can forget things that their characters, who live the adventure never would. The character (a sohei/rogue) in question has the Sihedron medallion and has a standing order that he activates the False Life effect when he reaches 50% health, unless he tells me otherwise. The PCs have fought the ghouls from the farms and made high Know(religion) checks, so they were familiar with the ghoul tactic of CDG on a paralyzed target.

So the PC gets paralyzed by a ghast for 2 rounds. His turn comes and goes, and then a ghoul shifts in and starts a CDG, but is split in half by the Oracle's AoO. Another ghoul then shifts into range and completes the CDG (no combat reflexes on the Oracle) but only rolls 6 damage. Even so, the rogue fails the 16 Fort save, and that appears to be that.

However, directly after the combat, as I'm assuring the player that the character can be rezzed easily enough and that he can help me during the short time his character will be down, the player playing the sorcerer mentions the False Life effect. This is obviously one of those situations where the character would have thought to try this last ditch gambit, even though none of us, myself included, had.

After some rules digging and conversation, I can't find any reason to say that activating the False Life effect is anything but a purely mental action. Even if the roll was minimum, that would be 6 temp hp, which would have completely absorbed the damage in the first place. Since the rogue never actually took damage, I ruled that there was no system shock, and so no Fort save was needed. The rogue lives yet again (this is not the first time he's been on death's door.)

While I'm confident in my ruling and am not likely to change it, I'm curious as to what others would rule given their interpretation of the rules at play here. If the damage from a CDG fails to pierce a temp hp shield or even DR, do you think the creature should still have to make a Fort save or die, and why would you rule that way? If you do, what should that DC be and why?

For instance, MP IV into a Grimlock.

  • Scenario 1: Not blind, no blindsight, no blindsense (since Grimlocks do not specifically have blindsense)

  • Scenario 2: Blind, no blindsight, no blindsense

  • Scenario 3: Blind, no blindsight, blindsense to blindsight range (40 ft.)

RAW seems to support Scenario 2. Is there any evidence I'm overlooking to favor Scenarios 1 or 3?

So while taking a look at the Cavalier orders for a game I'll be both GMing and likely manipulating a PC level NPC (our group is down to 4 including myself) for We Be Goblins, I noticed a particular part of the edict Order of the Cockatrice:

prd wrote:
The cavalier must take every opportunity to increase his own stature, prestige, and power.

Seems to me that with this one line, a particularly combative GM could cause a cavalier to be forced in a lose-lose situation akin to a paladin fall-fall scenario simply by having every big bad guy offer the cavalier a high ranking position in their NWO, but only if they help said BBEG kill the rest of the party.

Any thoughts on this? Am I over analyzing, or is this just an inherent risk in taking the Order?

So, like many, I've always assumed Prone Shooter was a feat that did nothing. But going over it as I was perusing the Worst Feat thread again, I noticed something. Prone Shooter removes the penalty for attacking from prone using a firearm or crossbow. That is not something you can do without the feat. The prone condition states that you can't even use a ranged weapon except for a crossbow, it says nothing about you not taking the penalty to attack rolls when using said crossbow.

Has this already been discovered? Is it still considered a feat that does nothing?

(The fact that the prone condition does not specify being able to fire a gun from prone does throw a wrench into using the feat for firearms, however.)

So, while familiarizing myself with an adventure module I plan to GM within the next week or two, I noticed that the Shadow's ability to deal Str damage is specifically called out as a negative energy effect. Now, one of the players is an Aasimar Evangelist of Sarenrae with Deathless Spirit (Negative Energy Resistance 5). So before I am actually faced with this situation in game, would the Aasimar's resistance come into play against this Str damage or not, and why or why not?

My search fu fails to find any reference to this particular inquiry, so I figured what the hey. I'm trying to head off an argument in case a player that's playing an Aasimar fighter takes the wings racial feat. I'm wondering how others feel about how(or even if) Fighter Armor Training should interact with Angel Wings. Should they be able to fly at full speed or does the specific text in the feat (which makes no exception for abilities that improve speed in armor) supersede the fighter class ability? Personally I'm inclined to let it work. For the investment I can't really see a justification for saying "you can move better on the ground but not flying."

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So the Juju mystery goes out of its way to give Create Undead to the oracle as a 5th level spell for the express purpose of creating Juju zombies, but the spell description says that you must also cast enervation or energy drain to raise a Juju zombie. Of the two, only energy drain is on the oracle spell list, and juju doesn't get enervation as a mystery spell. Is it really intended that a juju oracle can't raise a juju zombie until 18th level without help from a wizard/witch?

This came up in a thread discussion about barbarian pounce. When calculating whether you get the extra attack from pseudo ImpTWF and pseudo GTWF, do you use your BAB or your monk level.

Example A: Fighter19/Monk1 Flurries. BAB is +20, higher than 15 and 8, so flurry adds 3 attacks for a total of 7.

Example B: Fighter19/Monk1 Flurries. BAB is +20 but monk level is still only 1, so only one flurry is added for a total of 5 attacks.

Here is the original thread for cross reference purposes.

Shift (the granted ability from the Focused School Teleportation) specifically states that you need to see the location you wish to teleport to, but Dimensional Steps doesn't say one way or the other. Can you then choose abstractions like "30 feet to my right"? Anyone have experience using this ability?

16 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

So I've seen this come up in a couple threads now and while there are print books with some ambiguous wording, this has been clarified in the PRD.

PRD wrote:


You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Sunder feat, or a similar ability, attempting to sunder an item provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.

EDIT: Upon further research, it is only correct to admit incorrectness. Vital Strike, obviously a standard action, and sunder, use the same wording. This seems like definitive proof that sunder is the same (which means a sunder specialist would benefit greatly from the Vital Strike tree.)

So my wizard was tasked with killing a 12 headed advanced hydra last Sunday. Long story short I open up on it with a Glitterdust from invisible and flying to negate some of the damage that will come my BSFs way, and the question comes up: does the hydra save only once for all 12 heads, or 12 times (once for each head)? If I had used Blindness/Deafness instead of Glitterdust (not wise considering high Fort but just for hypotheticalness) would I only be blinding one head, or all heads?

On the fly we agreed to the 12 saves simply because logically to both myself and my GM it didn't seem to make sense otherwise, but we were both curious if there was some ruling we weren't aware of.

So I've got a Prince of Persia/Assassin's Creed style character coming up in a campaign and I know for a fact that this character will have an extremely high acrobatics, climb, and swim checks and will have Spider Step. So I'm trying to get an idea of what someone can and can not do with Spider Step so I have some answers handy when the inevitable questions come up.

  • Situation #1: Can the character roll a Climb check on the wall he is running on (assuming it can actually be climbed) before his turn actually ends to prevent a fall if he cannot reach a ledge?

  • Situation #2: Could the character alternate Acrobatics checks against opposite walls to scale a shaft he couldn't otherwise climb (because of smoothness, etc.)?

  • Situation #3: The character is hanging on to a wall by a crack with his hands that he cannot fail to hold onto, but is not possible to stand on (the lip of the crack does not extend out far enough from the wall). There is another ledge/crack within his spider step range to the character's side that he could not fail the climb check to grab hold of, but the intervening distance is impossible to climb (perfectly smooth). Could the character use Spider Step to traverse the wall to grab the second crack?

These are just the most obvious situations I can think of atm. If you have any suggestions on how to handle situations you think up that I have not mentioned here, that input would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

So I'm curious. Say I have both Lightning Stance and Following Step. I move to enemy A and attack. Enemy A shifts away, triggering Following Step, which I use. Now I have used two actions to move in the same round. Does Lightning Stance activate? I guess the question is, does Lightning Stance mean YOUR turn, or THE turn, as in entire round.

So I've been converting most NPCs of this AP for my gaming group, and I came across Master Matajinn. I was at a loss as to what to do with the character since Assassin had changed so much since 3.5, but then Ultimate Combat playtest came out and I felt it would be a perfect opportunity to test out Ninja. So I reworked Matajinn as a 12th level Ninja, and I have to say, unless I've mistaken something, this guy stands a very good chance of outright murdering my players' entire group.

Master Matajinn:
CR 13 (XP 25,600)
Male efreeti-bound ninja 12 (Advanced Bestiary 133)
NE Medium humanoid (elf)
Init +6; Senses darkvision 60 ft, low-light vision, Perception +16
AC 24, touch 18, FF 24 (+6 armor, +2 deflection, +6 Dex)
hp 78 (12d8+24)
Fort +7, Ref +15, Will +4; +2 vs Enchantments
Defensive Abilities Improved Uncanny Dodge; Immune sleep; Resist fire 20
Speed 30 ft.
Melee Zin'Kali +16/+11 (1d6+4/15-20)
Ranged +1 composite shortbow (+3 bonus) +16/+11 (1d6+4/x3)
Special Attacks poison use, sneak attack +6d6
Spell-Like Abilities (CL 11th, concentration +13, ranged touch +15)
At will—produce flame, pyrotechnics (DC 14), scorching ray
3/day—invisibility, wall of fire (DC 16)
1/day—permanent image (DC 18)
Str 16 Dex 22 Con 14 Int 10 Wis 9 Cha 14
Base Attack +9 CB +12 CMD 30
Feats Combat Reflexes, Extra Ki, Improved Critical (rapier), Quick Draw, Skill Focus (Acrobatics), Weapon Finesse
Skills Acrobatics +27, Climb +3, Disable Device +21, Disguise +7, Escape Artist +21, Linguistics +1, Perception +16, Sense Motive +13, Sleight of Hand +19, Stealth +21, Use Magical Device +17
Racial Modifiers +2 Perception
SQ elven magic, genie-bound, genie empowered, genie magic, Ki pool (10), master tricks (invisible blade, ghost step) ninja tricks (acrobatic master, deadly range x2, vanishing trick), no trace +4

Everything else is unchanged. So basically, what I'm seeing here Matajinn is warned of incoming enemies by his efreeti minions, he casts a permanent image of himself doing something innocuous like reading and uses one of his 3 SLA invises and hides behind a chair in the room, just in case the party has invisibility detection. When the party enters, Matajinn uses Invisible Blade (a supernatural ability, so no verbal or visual cues to give him away) and waits for a spellcaster to get within 50 ft of him. Assuming he isn't spotted, he uses his surprise round to cast scorching ray, dealing a whopping 30d6 fire damage (assuming all 3 rays hit and get sneak attack, which is still a matter of debate in the PF community from the forums), likely obliterating any d6 die hp spellcaster in one round. Even assuming he doesn't get sneak attack to all 3 attacks of a scorching ray, this is still 18d6 fire damage, and he can do this at will, for another 11 rounds while still taking a move action each turn to confound glitterdust, all for 1 measly ki point. If the PCs turn out to find a way around his invis, he can easily just ghost step through a wall and they could spend the rest of their lives trying to find him to no avail. I really just don't see a way for the PCs to kill Matajinn in this incarnation, while he has a very real chance of killing at least 1 PC every time they encounter him.

Any thoughts/comments are welcome. Thanks for your time reading this.