I gotta admit, when I saw the thread title, I assumed this was going to be about kitsune sorcerer and slumber witch PCs. I have seen the fun get sucked out of a lot more encounters by a player soloing it in round 1 than I have from one-shot player death (SoD spell, x3 crit, or any other method).
As mentioned, PFS has a special mechanic with prestige points to specifically help with player death (and other effects) without affecting WBL. Besides, even if you have to use gold, that just means delay upgrading your belt to a +4 by a couple of sessions, not enough to destroy your future usefulness.
I would use the Swashbuckler class for guidance. It has a deed to do exactly this.
At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.
If a PC wants to use a readied action to step away from an attacker, I would allow a bonus to AC but not negate the attack entirely.
The Sleuth archetype for the Investigator has a luck mechanic called Sleuth's Luck. There are two ways to regain luck.
Knowledge or Sense Motive Rolls:
Rolling a Natural 20 on a Knowledge or Sense Motive Check: While on an investigation, a sleuth regains luck by uncovering secrets. Rolling a natural 20 on these skill checks while actively investigating causes the sleuth to regain 1 luck point. Such skill checks made for more mundane reasons (such as normal research or using Sense Motive to gain information during normal bargaining or while gambling) do not regain luck for the sleuth. Determining which skill checks qualify is up to the GM.
Rolling a 6 or Higher on an Inspiration Roll: When a sleuth rolls an inspiration die while on an investigation and the die comes up a 6 or higher, she regains 1 luck point. (If she rolls multiple inspiration dice at a time, she regains 1 luck point if the total is 6 or higher.) Like regaining luck via a natural 20 on a qualifying skill check, inspiration checks made for more mundane reasons don’t qualify for regaining luck. The GM is the final arbitrator for what rolls qualify. It’s possible for a investigator to regain 2 luck points on the same Skill check, if both the qualifying skill check is a natural 20 and any inspiration roll made is a 6 or higher.
Both methods of regaining Luck are at the GM's discretion? So how does that work in PFS? Expect table variance?
Don't give up hope. After years of my wife saying she would never play RPGs, she finally tried a PFS session and loves it. Miracles can happen!
Sorry if this has been asked before, but the closest I could find was this, which didn't give a definitive answer, and is also now old, as GM reward rules have changed.
If I GM a mod and apply the certificate to a wizard character, can the character scribe any wizard scrolls listed on the sheet into his spellbook by paying the scribing costs? The current version of the Guide states that GMs get access to any special boons, such as free magical treasure, but I am not sure if access to scrolls for scribing counts.
Hawkmoon269 said "Anything you don't keep to rebuild your character deck is put back in the box with the other cards of the same type (not technically banished, which is an important distinction later in the game that starts to matter in Hook Mountain Massacre)."
Can someone explain this to me? I thought banish meant it got put back in the box where it could possibly be drawn again, but this statement seems to imply that banishing is different. I just started the game. We have finished Perils of the Lost Coast and are about to start Burnt Offerings if that matters.
The Mounted Combat rules need to a FAQ in the worst way. I recently built a cavalier and had many of the same questions. Based on the many messageboard threads, this is what I think are the answers:
7. I think the movement rules still apply even if the mount is an eidolon. Your mount is charging so you are also charging, which means you can't full attack at the end. In fact, I think you have to make a ride check in order for your mount to attack in the same round as you (DC 15 I believe). Since your mount is sentient, that last part may not be necessary for you.
8. I think that is allowable as long as the movement rules are obeyed. Pounce requires a charge, which means a straight line. If you can line up the enemies so that you ride by attack the first while your mount finishes his charge and pounce at the second (and possibly requiring the ride check for you both to attack as mentioned above), then yes it should work. Pretty situational scenario.