Dalviss Crenn

Bloodlust's page

Organized Play Member. 92 posts. No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 92 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
The Exchange

Cool. I see the counter-argument (as I said to the GM on the day) however it because it says "your reach" and whether you used the reach weapon for the maneuver or not is not relevant to what your "reach" is. Otherwise AoOs would be seriously screwed up.

I'm going to run with it as you guys have said purely because (as I stated above) it makes ZERO difference really. If you interrupt someone's attack and move them back 5 feet or 50 feet, they still can't attack you - so all good :)

I'm waiting for the day I can get my CMB high enough I can sling-shot them all the way around me - which will of course send them back in time ;)

The Exchange

Brotato wrote:

It's an extrapolation from the Weapon Finesse on Combat Maneuvers FAQ.

I wonder if that was written before Reposition came out. I don't know when books were released.

The Exchange

I did not know this (nor can I find it in the rules). Please provide source.

Thanks :)

The Exchange

Actually, you DO have reach 10 just "by holding it". Take for example someone who holds a reach weapon and hasn't swung it, instead casting spells or moving. What happens if someone provokes 10 feet away?

Do they not have reach because according to you, "you only get the benefit of a weapon as long as you use it"?

Actual answer is - yes they do. So the matter is not so black and white, thanks anyway.

The Exchange

As I said above, whether you push someone back 5 feet or 50 feet it really doesn't matter as it still stops the attack (any melee attack from that foe, that round) from happening so I'm not really all that invested in it.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay, this wasn't entirely clear (I was playing the character in question so I'll clear some things up).

1. The setup above is correct :)
2. When the Magus stepped into my square with the 5ft step it did NOT do anything.
3. At the time I was holding a reach weapon.
4. When the Magus attacked me, I activated my "Redirection" using an Unarmed Strike (kick)and chose to do a "Reposition" manoeuvre. I have the required feat for this not to provoke.
5. I beat the Magus's CMD by 10+ and so therefore I could push him back further.

Okay, here is where it gets interesting.

My "reach", holding a reach weapon, is 10 feet. That is for attacks, attacks of opportunity - anything.

The Redirection (and subsequent Reposition) was activated by my Unarmed strike.

To quote the rule (as quoted above): "The *last* 5 feet can be outside of your -reach-". As established, my "reach" is 10 feet as I am still equipped with the reach weapon. What activated the ability (the unarmed strike) is irrelevant.

As written, this is how the rule works. I'm happy for it to be FAQ'ed, but until such a time, as per the rules, this is correct.

As it turns out, pushing him back 5, 10 or 15 feet made zero difference to the actual encounter (as even being pushed back 5 feet means they can't attack you (because they've already taken a 5 foot step, they can't move again, so I'm not bothered if the FAQ clarifies against) but it did cause some lively discussion.

If this has been clarified with an official ruling elsewhere, please let us know :)

Thanks.

The Exchange

3rd level???

This is a 5th level spell!

You know - like RAISE DEAD!

The Exchange

I don't believe that BP was even a consideration when they wrote Undead Traits. Undead Traits make sense - the body is not alive and therefore immune to a lot of stuff that would be horrible to a living creature.

Forcibly reshaping that creature (alive or undead) should have no bearing on that I believe.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

By the rules, undead are immune to any effect that requires a fort save.

Now I can understand this as it is immune to poison, disease, etc because the body is dead.

But what about Baleful Polymorph?

It turns your body into that of a small/tiny animal - forcibly.

I fail to see why undead should be immune to this.

Has this been FAQ'ed and I can't find it? Is there some other reason why it should work as written because it makes no sense to me?

The Exchange

Have: Ifrit

Want: Open to offers

PM me.

The Exchange

No, you've read that in the wrong order.

If it was a "ranged touch attack" you wouldn't need spectral hand. It is a "touch range". Meaning - Range: Touch.

The Exchange

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So here is an interesting question...

Can I deliver my healing hex using a spectral hand?

From the hex:
"Healing (Su): A witch can soothe the wounds of those she touches. This acts as a cure light wounds spell, using the witch's caster level. Once a creature has benefited from the healing hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours. At 5th level, this hex acts like cure moderate wounds."

I'm highlighting "This acts as a cure light wounds spell".

The difficulty comes with the description of Spectral hand:
"A ghostly hand shaped from your life force materializes and moves as you desire, allowing you to deliver low-level, touch range spells at a distance"

A hex is NOT a spell, it is a supernatural ability HOWEVER the healing Hex states that it "...acts as a cure light wounds spell".

SO -
How do you use it? - Supernatural ability
WHAT IS IT? - A spell

I personally believe yes but I'd like to know if there has been a ruling on it.

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I also agree that tier range is very helpful.

With regard to time zone, we should make all game times based on GMT. Everyone knows what time zone they are in. For example I'm in GMT+8. So any game I see being run, I look at the time and add eight hours. I've been confused as heck in the past and double checked times. There's been occasions where GMs have posted odd time zones I'd never even heard of before.

Keeping all game times as GMT will make life easier for all and then no-one has to try and convert anything (let alone figure in daylight savings).

The Exchange

Gunslinger 3 :)

The Exchange

You actually make two rolls when firing a double barrelled gun and each is at a -4.

"If both barrels are shot at once, they must both target the same creature or object, and the pistol becomes wildly inaccurate, imposing a –4 penalty on each shot."

So you do roll for, "each shot". You are correct in stating that because they are fired at the same time it is not two separate actions (which is what is stated is needed for a firearm to explode).

Action 1: Fire the gun (misfire - gains the broken condition)
Action 2: "If an early firearm with the broken condition misfires again"

"...it explodes."

Only one action triggers both rolls, not two :)

How double barrel guns are written in the rules:

Action 1: Fire both barrels "at once" (misfire - gun is broken)
Action 2: Time to get to clearing the broken condition.

The Exchange

For a more complete look at how the rules work and how they are worded (copied from my thread located at: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pyy1?Doublebarrel-misfire)

* * *

"When you fire both barrels "at once", you have the chance to get a double jam.

The wording is as follows:
"This musket has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be shot independently as a separate action, or both can be fired at once as the same attack."

or

"This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as a separate action, or both can be shot at once with the same action."

The operative words here are, "separate action" and "at once". Separate action is clear. "At once"; the only definition for this is that you pull one trigger or two at the same time and either one or both barrels fire. If you were playing at a table you would pick up one or two D20s and roll them together.

If you misfire, your gun gains the "broken" condition.

"Early Firearms: If an early firearm with the broken condition misfires again, it explodes."

The operative words here are, "with the broken condition" and "misfires again".

Using a double gun (pistol or musket) begins the round without the broken condition. It fires, regardless of how many misfires you roll (one or two - these happen at the same time as established above), at the end of those two barrels firing you NOW have the broken condition.

"If an early firearm with the broken condition..." It does not have the broken condition until the results of the barrels firing simultaneously are known. "...misfires again", no additional misfire in a separate action is happening.

Obviously, if you want to jam your gun and then try to shoot out the same barrel again (when it has not been properly cleared) then of course you're asking for trouble. This makes clear sense to me. This is one of the risks involved in shooting any gun - you need to keep them clean and free from obstruction.

Using a double gun that rolls two misfires (at the same time as established above), you get what I term a "double jam". Regardless of how many jams, it takes a standard (or move with quick clear) to clean it out and have it ready again. ((ADDED - I'd be happy that you had to clear each barrel individually costing you two actions))

At NO point do you take a broken gun, load it and fire it. Therefore the argument that a double misfire on the first causes it to be broken and on the second makes it explode is simply inaccurate as per the written rules which are 100% linguistically clear."

* * *

So, in summation, if the barrels were fired, "independently as a separate action" then yes, Mikkel would be correct, however they are fired, "at once" meaning at no point were you firing a "broken" gun.

The Exchange

Okay, thanks. I just didn't see how a camel could declare a charge and then stop 10 feet away so the lance could hit. I thought it would need to go right up to the target of the charge.

The Exchange

Rule 2: "You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent"

This is where I see the problem lying. The camel charges (with you on its back). It, "must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent", which means it must go into base contact as that is the closest space from which it can attack.

I personally think this is how it should work, but it's not how it's worded. Either that of you attack at 10feet and it completes its move. Either way. Just as it is written now, it's a mess :)

The Exchange

"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

So, "at the end of the charge" you can make your charge attack. How can you pull short on a charge?

The Exchange

I mean, you should be able to go from point A to point B and charge something with a lance without the need for any feats at all.

Not looking to do anything fancy here, just shove up a lance up some bad guys at maximum velocity ;)

The Exchange

Why would you cast a spell when you can just clear it with a standard action, or with a grit point, a move action.

OR

Are you claiming that because of the wording of the spell, "an item with the broken condition suffers no adverse effects from that condition", the firearm can never explode because it suffers "no adverse effects from that condition"?

Interesting.

You realise that it only lasts one round per level though? Not exactly all that useful unless you have lots of levels in that class.

The Exchange

I'm still not clear how you can charge (forget overrun for now) with a lance. This "should" be doable without the need for any feats.

The Exchange

If you can reload with a free action - go nuts.

That's basically the long and short of it.

I play a musket master so I always laugh when I hear people cry about balance and see myself jamming half-way through the first round. the odds of you getting off all of those attacks without jamming is very low.

The Exchange

Hello all :)

I'm currently making a samurai who wants to change in on his Camel "Ishtar" with a lance.

I'm seeing some problems here:

"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

The words, "at the end of the charge" bother me. That would mean that my camel would charge up next to it, bite it and I'd now be unable to use my lance (reach weapon) "at the end of the charge" to attack.

That's problem number one stated.

Now problem number two:

I want Ishtar to be a cranky camel who likes to just run right over folks and knock them on their butts :) For that I'm giving her Improved Overrun. Problem with the lance persists.

Do I:
a) attack when I am within "reach" and then Ishtar runs him over?
b) attack after Ishtar has knocked him over as we pass out the other side?
c) not get to attack at all?

"You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing an overrun combat maneuver." But do I, on the back of Ishtar (who is making the move), provoke as we move through? What about leaving the square behind the prone (or not prone) defender? Does that provoke for her as well?

These may well have been answered somewhere and I'd be delighted if someone could point that out :)

As it stands, I see no way to actually "charge" with a lance that doesn't require about three feats. Weird! :)

The Exchange

Now that we've clarified that one, please join me on the next discussion about double misfires, located here: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pyy1?Doublebarrel-misfire#1

The Exchange

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi folks :)

This thread applies to both the double pistol and musket.

When you fire both barrels "at once", you have the chance to get a double jam.

The wording is as follows:
"This musket has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be shot independently as a separate action, or both can be fired at once as the same attack."

or

"This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as a separate action, or both can be shot at once with the same action."

The operative words here are, "separate action" and "at once". Separate action is clear. "At once"; the only definition for this is that you pull one trigger or two at the same time and either one or both barrels fire. If you were playing at a table you would pick up one or two D20s and roll them together.

If you misfire, your gun gains the "broken" condition.

"Early Firearms: If an early firearm with the broken condition misfires again, it explodes."

The operative words here are, "with the broken condition" and "misfires again".

Using a double gun (pistol or musket) begins the round without the broken condition. It fires, regardless of how many misfires you roll (one or two - these happen at the same time as established above), at the end of those two barrels firing you NOW have the broken condition.

"If an early firearm with the broken condition..." It does not have the broken condition until the results of the barrels firing simultaneously are known. "...misfires again", no additional misfire in a separate action is happening.

Obviously, if you want to jam your gun and then try to shoot out the same barrel again (when it has not been properly cleared) then of course you're asking for trouble. This makes clear sense to me. This is one of the risks involved in shooting any gun - you need to keep them clean and free from obstruction.

Using a double gun that rolls two misfires (at the same time as established above), you get what I term a "double jam". Regardless of how many jams, it takes a standard (or move with quick clear) to clean it out and have it ready again.

At NO point do you take a broken gun, load it and fire it. Therefore the argument that a double misfire on the first causes it to be broken and on the second makes it explode is simply inaccurate as per the written rules which are 100% linguistically clear.

I didn't think this was even in contention as the rules are so very clearly printed but some people seem to disagree which is why I post it here for discussion and hopefully an official ruling. If it is NOT as it is written, then it makes using double weapons crazy dangerous!

Anyway, feel free to discuss and hit the FAQ button just like the last thread :)

Thanks in advance to the Design Team :)

The Exchange

Thank you very much for clarifying this. You've made a LOT of people very happy :)

The Exchange

Well I really hope that's not the case as I've just started playing a pistolero because this hasn't been clarified and don't want to be in 10ft range :(

I'll retire that dude immediately if that's the case!

The Exchange

Thanks for clarifying Jessica.

Good to see the thread/issue has been noticed :)

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I want to upgrade my firearm from +1 reliable to +1 reliable, greater.

As it says that you cannot have both enchantments on the same gun, it makes sense to me that this is an "upgrade".

The Exchange

"If cast upon a creature that has died within 1 round"

By that wording, as long as you're in combat rounds and the round has not expired, you can have five people all line up one after the other and do it on their initiative.

The Exchange

So it would be:

Buckler gun 750
masterwork the buckler +150
masterwork the gun +300

Total cost: 1200

The Exchange

I think the subject has been highlighted and discussed enough; it just needs a definitive answer.

Good point about the active status of a thread though. I'll keep bumping it and hopefully people will keep requesting it FAQ'd with the button above :)

Ultimately I didn't want another "discussion" thread that gets lost with all the rest. This thread is purely here so that we can get a ruling. Currently, the closest thing we have is this: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=469?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#23446

The Exchange

How does this item work for making it masterwork or enchanting it?

The Exchange

46 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

HI all,

I've been trauling through the many threads regarding this topic and while I've found one of the developers giving the 40ft range the green light, I'd like someone who has the authority to please answer this once and for all so it's nice and clear.

I think most GMs are logically seeing the obvious typo, but some want some form of official-ness before they allow the thing to have more than a 10' range.

This is not a thread to post your opinions, nor is it to complain about how much you hate gunslingers. The only purpose of this thread is for someone who can make an official "rules call" to do so whilst we wait for it to be added to an official errata (which we all understand - takes time).

If you want to help this effort, please all select it for FAQ (yes, I know it's been selected for FAQ in other threads - still we have no definitive answer).

This thread is so that people who play musket masters (or anyone else who uses this weapon) to be able to quickly and easily link to and pass on to their respective GMs.

The Exchange

I hadn't really thought of the wolf as an integral part of my character to be honest, he was more for distraction value.

The Exchange

I mostly just use the wolf to keep people off my guy so he can keep shooting.

The Exchange

What about Paladin?

Immunity to fear, diseases, better saves, lay on hands healing (way better with fey foundling feat added in), paladin spells, etc.

By the way, no boon companion feat as yet. My guy is currently level 4, going into level 5 ranger or ranger 4/paladin 1.

The Exchange

Yes, a wolf.

The Exchange

Hi guys,

I have an urban ranger (archer) who now has enough xp to get to level 5.

Some options I am toying with:
Swap to paladin now (or at level 6 after picking up many shot)
Swap to bard at level 7 and then on to Arcane Archer
Stay a ranger.

All have advantages.

stats:
s: 16
d: 16
c: 10
i: 12
w: 12
c: 12

feats so far:
Fey foundling
Point blank shot
Rapid shot
Precise shot

Considering deadly aim for level 5 feat.

All advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks :)

The Exchange

Quatar: Quite possibly.

The Exchange

Ah, thank you Grick :)

The Exchange

A small sized creature can use a longbow with str 10 and do d6.
A medium creature can use a longbow with str 10 and do d8.
A large creature can use a longbow with str 10 and do 2d6.

They all have str 10, using a longbow that is sized appropriately doing appropriate damage.

The collosal bow is a bit silly and I think you can only use something one size category either way from memory so it is an irrelevant sillyness :)

Having a medium creature using a large bow (sure, not really made for someone their size, hence the -2) seems fine to me but I want to know is it LEGAL?

The Exchange

Look at a daikyu. Those things are huge (some of them) but you do not pull the draw from the middle of the bow.

Daikyus are also legal in PFS, they are simply counted (statswise) as a longbow.

The Exchange

Animal companions do NOT come with tricks to begin with. You must train them - only one per scenario (or a package). None come, "pre-trained".

The Exchange

Larger arrows create bigger wounds - hence the extra damage.

Totally agree on the -2 attack though as per the normal rule.

The Exchange

...and many DC's for Handle Animal tricks are DC20. Meaning they will fail more than half the time.

Yes, with campaigns aside, I don't see any reason by the rules that you can't "take 20" when teaching an animal a trick. Not only that but I think by the definition of "take 20" this use is very much in spirit with that.

The Exchange

Considering there is an unlimited time between scenarios - the time factor doesn't really come into it at all.

It makes sense otherwise low level druids will have a very hard time teaching their animals anything for a few levels.

The Exchange

Is this possible?

"You need at least two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size" thought it is not a "two-handed weapon" (between firing it is held in one hand, not two).

The Exchange

Simple question - Can you "take 20" on a roll to train your animal companion (tricks)?

I'm not seeing where this is not possible and considering there is an infinite time between chronicles, surely the whole idea of "doing it until you get it right" would very much be applicable to teaching new tricks.

It's not like there is a "penalty for failure" and the animal bites your nuts off if you fail.

Would be kinda funny though ;)

1 to 50 of 92 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>