
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Metamagic: At what spell level does the spell count for concentration DCs, magus spell recall, or a pearl of power?
The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.
For example, an empowered burning hands uses a 3rd-level spell slot, counts as a 3rd-level spell for making concentration checks, counts as a 3rd-level spell for a magus's spell recall or a pearl of power.
In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. The advantages of the metamagic feat are spelled out in the Benefits section of the feat, and the increased spell slot level is a disadvantage.
Heighten Spell is really the only metamagic feat that makes using a higher-level spell slot an advantage instead of a disadvantage.
—Pathfinder Design Team, 10/18/13
You grew up on one of the wayang-populated islands of Minata, and your use of magic while hunting has been a boon to you. Select a spell of 3rd level or below. When you use this spell with a metamagic feat, it uses up a spell slot one level lower than it normally would.
How does the Wayang Spellhunter trait work with the part about:
"The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it."Take a 3rd level spell like Fireball as your choice. When you cast it with a +1 metamagic would it be considered 4th level and thus no longer be a vaild choice for the trait?
Or better yet cast it with a +2 metamagic so that even with the use of one slot level less for the trait. Is the spell considered 4th or higher level and invalidates itself for use of the trait? Thus not allowing the trait to be used?