In the first encounter, at tier 1-2, the Aspis Consortium mercenaries and the captain are riding mounts not trained in combat. The core rulebook says that controlling a mount that is not combat trained requires a DC 20 ride check. The scenario, although pointing to that rule, uses the term "melee combat". I have seen more than one GM run this as being only when the mounts are within 5 feet of an opponent wielding a melee weapon is the check made. This seems to make the encounter incredibly difficult, almost always resulting in at least one death, especially when they are fighting 8+ mercenaries along with the charging captain.
Having said that, assuming the captain must make a ride check every round as long as he is in battle, which uses a movement action, can he still charge? I have had debates before over whether you are using the mount's actions or the character's actions when you charge.
Also, does anyone add difficult terrain to this encounter? This was almost suicide for one party (one character did die), and I felt the GM was a little liberal in the captain being able to charge from one side of the map to the other every round, using ride-by attack, without any form of hindrance. This may have only been an issue with the lack of ride checks though.
tl;dr - dot points!
- SCENARIO refers to controlling untrained mounts in combat, referring specifically to the core rulebook section on the Ride skill. However, while summarising the rule, uses the term "enter melee combat".
- The CORE RULEBOOK, specifically referenced by the scenario, uses the term "while in battle". Further, the Mounted Combat section of the rulebook is quite explicit about untrained mounts being frightened in combat and requiring a DC 20 Ride check.
- I would suggest that the intention for this encounter is for every opponent, mercenaries and captain alike, to make the ride check every round of combat as appears to be the case RAW in the core rulebook, and not just while a mount is within 5 feet of a melee combatant.
- If the above suggestion is indeed the case, can the captain still charge as in his tactics? He uses a movement action and charge is full-round. It seems to me, according to the Mounted Combat rule of the core rulebook, the mount makes the charge and the captain is just using a standard action at the end of it to make an attack. Therefore, he could control his mount with a movement action and still charge as per tactics.
- Should this map have difficult terrain? Or, as someone just pointed out to me, are those TREES dotting the landscape and therefore completely impassable? The last GM I saw run this ignored the trees (which I thought might have been bushes causing difficult terrain) and just charged right over them.