Lord Soth

Asethe's page

220 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


1 to 50 of 220 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

It's a focus spell, so heightens automatically at half your level rounded up. The darkness specifically says it creates darkness as the Darkness spell cast at equal level, so you don't have to do anything special to heighten the effect.

Skyrender wrote:

What happens if a human and an elf have a planetouched (i.e.: aasimar or tiefling) child together? How do you stat up the resulting character? Normally, a half-elf would be a human with the half-elf heritage, and an planetouched would be a heritage added to any normal race in a similar fashion. The half-elf and planetouched options provide low-light vision, although the planetouched can also upgrade low-light vision to darkvision. Different racial feats are opened up, with the half-elf granting elf and half-elf options, and the planetouched having its own selection (split into aasimar and tiefling options).

For that matter, what happens if an aasimar and a tielfing have a kid together?

Ugh. A person could go crazy thinking about this.

Versatile Heritages wrote:

Many Ancestries

Though a character can have only one heritage, it doesn't mean characters with lineages tracing back to multiple ancestries or heritages don't exist. It's certainly possible for a dhampir to be born to a half-elf mother, or for a duskwalker to appear in a community of death warden dwarves. In these cases, the influence of the versatile heritage overshadows the other heritage—the dhampir heritage overshadows the half-elf heritage, and the duskwalker abilities replace those of the death warden dwarf heritage. So while, superficially, a character might bear a resemblance to both heritages, mechanically, they only gain the benefits of the versatile heritage.

The half-elf side doesn't matter except for descriptive purposes, the versatile heritage has dominance.

breithauptclan wrote:
Asethe wrote:

This is what I'm basing it on:

Precious wrote:
Valuable materials with special properties have the precious trait. They can be substituted for base materials when you Craft items.
A straight RAW reading would be that the object flung loses all traits, so that would include the Precious trait of the material, so a silver ingot flung has no more effect than a rock against a werewolf. Also fits with the general power level expected of a cantrip.

Hmm... Maybe. Though it could also be that it simply loses the 'precious' trait and becomes ... non-precious silver?

Also the argument only works for some of the materials. Wood, for example, would still be wood. Because it wasn't precious to begin with.

Wood, and stone, might be the exceptions to this, but everything else loses a trait of being 'a valuable material with special properties'. Silver without its special properties is just soft metal, so not so useful against excited upright puppies and infernal fiends.

breithauptclan wrote:

Technically Gortle is correct on that. The Materials rules never actually use the word 'traits'. So the item's material composition would not be either the 'specific traits' or 'magical properties' that Telekinetic Projectile removes.

Though I did have to look up and read through the rules again to double check that. As well as change my own response mid-post. Because I thought the same thing initially.

This is what I'm basing it on:

Precious wrote:
Valuable materials with special properties have the precious trait. They can be substituted for base materials when you Craft items.

A straight RAW reading would be that the object flung loses all traits, so that would include the Precious trait of the material, so a silver ingot flung has no more effect than a rock against a werewolf. Also fits with the general power level expected of a cantrip.

Gortle wrote:
g) Telekinetic Projectile is a magical effect, it does magical damage of type bludgeoning, piercing or slashing. Because being made of a material is not a magical property or a trait, with the right object the damage can also technically have properties of silver, adamantine, wood, cold iron like any regular weapon.
Telekinetic Projectile wrote:
No specific traits or magic properties of the hurled item affect the attack or the damage.

Your assertion about TP being able to cause material type damage is wrong. TP cannot use traits, and the trait of Silver, Adamantine, etc is Precious. A TP can not be considered a material for damage resistance etc.

It does mean you have to spend your first action each combat dropping into stance, but that gets mitigated later on as well

4 people marked this as a favorite.

You would need the 2nd level Monk feat Shooting Stars Stance to allow you to flurry with them:

Shooting Stars Stance wrote:
You enter a stance that lets you throw shuriken with lightning speed. While in this stance, you can use your monk feats or monk abilities that normally require unarmed attacks with shuriken instead.

It has the prerequisite of Monastic Weaponry, so you would grab that at first level, and Shooing Stars Stance at second if you wanted to focus on shuriken as your weapon of choice.

Waldham wrote:

For example, shadow gift :

encompassing darkness
The shadows at your feet can hold objects. You can Interact with your shadow to store or remove objects, just like you would a mundane container. Your shadow can contain 3 Bulk of objects, which don’t count toward the Bulk you are carrying. At 6th level, and every 4 levels thereafter, you can store 1 additional Bulk of objects in your shadow.
Is it possible to store several shields and to change shield in a combat ? Is it 2 actions ?

Yes, you can store shields up to the bulk limit of the shadows. It would either be 2 actions or 3, depending on whether you strap your shields, and another Raise Shield action to get the benefits (potentially unstrap and drop 1 action otherwise Free action drop, retrieve from shadows 1 action, equip the shield 1 action, Raise Shield to get the defensive buff 1 action)

Are there a feat to reduce the number of actions ?

Viking archetype has a Second Shield at level 6 that would let you drop and equip a new shield as an action, but the provisio is that it's stored on your person.

Arguably Encompassing Darkness is not on your person, so your GM may decide you can't draw from the shadow as part of this feat action, but that doesn't stop you drawing a spare before combat begins and just have it on you for when your first shield breaks.

Waldham wrote:
Is it possible to use controlled bullet with a bullet (juxtaposition ammuniton) poisoned with a stupor poison on the first target and the chemical contagion feat to place the other targets adjacent to the triggering creature exposed to the triggering poison ?

Short answer: no.

Longer answer: Your poison wouldn't activate as it's an injury poison and juxtaposition ammunition does no damage, so can't inflict injury poison, so doesn't trigger a poison save that would have to be critically failed to trigger the Chemical Contagion.

Even if you somehow got a contact poison or similar to work, your opportunity to trigger Chemical Contagion would be when the initial hit occurred, the poison had to be saved against, and was critically failed, which would all occur before the teleport, so still no.

If it's not on the list in black and white, it's not included.

Might we worthwhile reaching out to Paizo to find out if there is a release they could provide, or at least some insight, to help you with your development.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Reading through the Spellcasting Archetypes section again, I agree with breithauptclan's read on how they work and needing Basic Spellcasting to be able to use spell list checked items as they don't gain the Spellcasting feature until they take that archetype feat.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes, you have it right in your examples.

Eldritch Researcher doesn't give Spellcasting, just a single cantrip, so they wouldn't be able to use anything that checks against the Occult spell list, and would need TMI to use them.

There is nothing specific that immediately springs to mind for the witch angle, but a variant on the Clone ritual, or even a successful use of the Clone ritual might get you close in terms of rules. Or a Clone ritual that didn't quite go right.

It would mean that you wouldn't have yourself as a living patron, but level progression could be played as the new body starting to remember more of the old life, and being able to use more power as it grows into it. Your familiar could be like a phylactery, filled with all the old memories and powers that it teaches, or allows you to access, as you progress.

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Actual spellcasters have the class feature <Tradition> Spellcaster which grants access to a spell list for that tradition. Focus spells don't appear on a spell list, and don't grant access to one, but are aligned to a tradition for purposes of spell attacks and DCs, and checks to identify their focus spell use.

Staves require a caster with slots to be able to charge, and the spell to appear on the right spell list to be able to cast from, and can only be used by the one that charges them.

Wands and scrolls require access to a spell list with their spell on it to be able to cast. Scrolls can also be cast by someone who can cast the spell on the scroll by other means (they have that spell as an innate spell from an ancestry feat, for instance).

In general, focus only classes cannot use these items, and are mostly only usable by someone with the right Spellcaster class feature in a tradition that has the spell(s) on the spell list. The Trick Magic Item feat can offer a way to use some items with varying degrees of success.

Waldham wrote:
Is it possible to use sticky poison with chain reaction ?

No. Chain Reaction's damage isn't from the bullet, it's from circumstantial, happenstance, or environmental effects. A poisoned bullet that doesn't hit anyone doesn't poison them.

I've always viewed the 'risk falling prone or even injuring yourself' part to refer to the other aspects of what uneven ground is.

A good example would be two swashbuckling pirates fighting on a yard arm above the ship's deck. If they fail their balance check, they get to sway like Jack Sparrow on a bender for an action while they regain balance, and if they crit fail their Balance check, it's 40' to the deck below, or 60' to an inpromptu bath.
Another would be fighting during an earthquake, which could cause extra damage if you were to lose your balance during it and end up bouncing on shaking ground face first.

A Reflex save isn't really appropriate for this sort of check, though it might be useful in dealing with the consequences, like Grabbing a Ledge to catch the yard arm or the rope if the swashbuckler falls, or finding a way to brace themselves if they fall in an earthquake.

As for the Balance check itself, a creative party will find ways to swing it in their favour, like a skilled Acrobat taking a rope across an unstable area to allow those less skilled to cross with both a rope to help support them and, depending how bad the worst member is at keeping their feet, Follow the Leader to guide them across.

The Balance check is used for exactly what it says on the tin. If the character knows that they aren't that steady on their feet, they need to think their way around the problem with the tools they have available. That's the challenge of having to deal with terrain encounters.

Waldham wrote:
Is it possible to use subtle delivery from poisoner archetype with a palm crossbow as the palm crossbow uses a blowgun dart ?

By straight RAW? No, as the feat specifies a blowgun as a weapon.

That having been said, in any non-strict environment, a GM might allow it given the same ammunition and weaponry primarily designed to be used from stealth in both cases.

You might want your miniaturised World of Warcraft Night Elf to have their very own Blade Launcher ballista?

But, on a more serious note, the only advantage it would have over an actual weapon is that it isn't a weapon. It uses the proficiency of the weapon loaded into it, and that includes any special modifiers for that weapon type that aren't specifically excluded.

Not spectacularly useful, given everyone has the capacity to use a crossbow, but I suppose it fits a thematic niche.

8 people marked this as a favorite.

This is possibly the silliest debate I've ever seen here.

Thanks for the laugh, all!

Why would the other become trained in the Dual Studies' chosen skills? It explicitly states that those proficiencies are not shared, and increasing them doesn't change anything in that stipulation.

A proficiency is an explicit level of a skill, not the bonus it imparts. Just because you went from Expert to Master doesn't mean the other gets Master-2 ranks because the proficiency rank is still a single, explicit rank, and nothing has overcome the Dual Studies limitation of the proficiency in those skills not being shared.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rest and Daily Preparation wrote:

You perform at your best when you take enough time to rest and prepare. Once every 24 hours, you can take a period of rest (typically 8 hours), after which you regain Hit Points equal to your Constitution modifier (minimum 1) times your level, and you might recover from or improve certain conditions (page 453). Sleeping in armor results in poor rest that leaves you fatigued. If you go more than 16 hours without resting, you become fatigued (you cannot recover from this until you rest at least 6 continuous hours).

After you rest, you make your daily preparations, which takes around 1 hour. You can prepare only if you’ve rested, and only once per day. Preparing includes the following:
Spellcasters regain spell slots, and prepared spellcasters choose spells to have available that day.
Focus Points, other abilities that refresh during your preparations, and abilities that can be used only a certain number of times per day, including magic item uses, are reset.
You don armor and equip weapons and other gear.
You invest up to 10 worn magic items to gain their benefits for the day.

RAW it can only be once per 24 hour period, is done after an 8 hour rest, takes an hour, and everything that would require prep, like spell selection, staff preparation, full Focus point regain, and magic item investiture happens during this period.

So, it's a 'no' by RAW on most of what you proposed

7 people marked this as a favorite.
Ediwir wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Warning : analyzing the content of a setting book through a game power lens might cause distress.
Sounds like someone who never read the stats for vegemite.

This made me laugh more than it should have.

This is why Australians can continue to live in a country where everything wants to kill them.

Vipersfang wrote:
So you can't use eschew materials to learn from a spellbook to cut the gold requirements?

No. Only when casting a spell, not learning one.

The feat just replaces a Material Component Pouch, so also doesn't remove the requirement for any special materials casting the spell might have listed in it.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

While I still think it feels very wrong that simply changing weapons dramatically increases the utility of these types of spells, I have to concede you are technically right, and in this subforum, that is always the best kind of right.

aobst128 wrote:
I believe what the rules state is that either, a cone or line emits from you, or that it emits from an adjacent square if using reach or ranged attacks. It's not emitting from you when you change the source from range or reach, it has a new source. "From you" in this case isn't deciding direction but the source.

I view it as both as it has no language to exclude the caster for directional purposes. Functionally it would operate similar to a spell under the Reach Spell metamagic feat; the alignment is the same, it just starts all the way over there.

To expand on my previous assertion, that this would allow the starlit span or reach weapon magus to do something that a regular melee magus or a caster with a Reach Spell feat couldn't falls into the too good to be true territory. There is a clear disconnect in the way the 'any square' part is being read and previous similar spell interactions.

The Raven Black wrote:
Asethe wrote:

It's not quite that good:

Expansive Spellstrike wrote:

If the spell has an area, the target must be in that area. A burst is centered on a corner of the target's square, or the square corner closest to the center of the target, if the target is Large or larger; you choose the corner if more than one is eligible. A cone or line emits from you and must include the target; if you're not adjacent to the target (using a reach weapon or starlit span, for example), choose any square adjacent to the target as the source. The spell affects all creatures in the area as normal, but the Strike still targets only one creature.

That is all one sentence, so the cone or line still emits 'from you' but you can select its starting point, which means the cone or line will still always be going away from you. You can't change the orientation of the effect except by moving yourself.
If such was the case, you could not both choose any square adjacent to the target as the source AND ensure that the target must be in that era. So, yes you can change the orientation.

Being able to do something completely different because you're using a long stick or a bow that a close melee magus couldn't is clearly in the tgtbt territory, and the 'any square' simply allows you, generally, a selection of two or three origin squares without having to waste words.

That is the only place to find it.

Are you sure it was Animal Skin that was errata'd? I recall the Deer Animal Instinct getting errata in base Barbarian but not Animal Skin by name. Might want to check the alchemist errata as well for their changes if that's the interaction you remember

It's not quite that good:

Expansive Spellstrike wrote:

If the spell has an area, the target must be in that area. A burst is centered on a corner of the target's square, or the square corner closest to the center of the target, if the target is Large or larger; you choose the corner if more than one is eligible. A cone or line emits from you and must include the target; if you're not adjacent to the target (using a reach weapon or starlit span, for example), choose any square adjacent to the target as the source. The spell affects all creatures in the area as normal, but the Strike still targets only one creature.

That is all one sentence, so the cone or line still emits 'from you' but you can select its starting point, which means the cone or line will still always be going away from you. You can't change the orientation of the effect except by moving yourself.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
AlastarOG wrote:

It is possible that the intent behind the rule is that, to prevent exactly the kind of scenario I mentioned.

However if a player told me "I'm stealing my Ally's spell with spell steal" I would be hard pressed to justify saying no to that.

If a player can steal from an ally, can strike an ally, can do everything to an ally, why not an action that can be done on a foe.

Hence the need to come here and see what various people think. Because to me it's obvious, but I'd like to know what the case agaisnt it is.

The devs have done everything in their power this edition to stop bastard players from taking involuntary PvP actions. This is another example of that. The wording on spells has been fairly cleanly split between friendly- and enemy-affecting actions, and quite a lot of offensive actions now exclude friendly targets.

If you really want to allow that at your table, more power to you. If the wizard or battle oracle objects, that's on you as well to adjudicate the results.

PossibleCabbage wrote:
Despite the fact that the Inventor is the person for whom "make complicated weapons work" makes the most sense, it's kind of a bummer they can't base a weapons innovation on a repeating crossbow that's not the heavy one.

I think you just identified why the restriction is in place.

Waldham wrote:
With controlled bullet, is it possible to use a juxtaposition ammunition (only one bullet) to affect several targets ?
And for this ?

Depends on how your GM chooses to handle the bullet's 'destroyed after use' from being a consumable item. If he rules it that the first hit consumes it, it's valid. If he rules you can keep going, well, go for gold.

One thing to note, each target hit will have to go to a new square, so you can group them, but not stack them as was part of your proposal for the portal, and because the Forced Movement isn't a push or a pull, none of them can end up in a potentially dangerous position.

3 people marked this as a favorite.

It isn't a mistake; your wizard has to spend a day mumbling at a magic circle with some friends to raise a breeze with some falling water. A Storm Giant can just make it storm, or sleet, or shine, or whatever takes its fancy at will. It's cast at 5th level for purposes of counter checks.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lazarus Dark wrote:

What I'm stick on is: did the dev writing Inventor archetype say, "choose an innovation", and in the back of their mind thought, but if you aren't naturally trained in Medium armor, then you don't get to be trained in the Power suit even if you choose it.

OR: Did the dev say "choose an innovation" and in their mind they thought, anyone who can take this dedication can use any of the innovations in a useful way equally no matter what class as long as they meet the INT prerequisite of it, and they never realized lack of training would make Subterfuge suit difficult to fully use by half of the classes, or half the classes could not fully use a martial weapon even though the Innovation page they refer to gives the option of a martial weapon.

The dev intention, as it has been shown in previous offerings this edition, has never to automatically make something in a dedication useful just because you chose to take it, just to make it usable. There is a world of difference between those two things.

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Lazarus Dark wrote:

I have a question about Inventor Archetype dedication that I'm just not seeing eye to eye with others on. If a sorcerer for example takes Inventor Dedication at level 2 and chooses Armor Innovation, is it the intention that they be trained in that Armor Innovation? If not, then the earliest they could be trained is level 7 after taking the Armor proficiency general feat at both level 3 and 7 to get medium proficiency. Whereas a martial class would not have this issue. Additionally, if the intention is to be trained in your innovation, then what about scaling? Scale like an Inventor or scale with the sorcerer's unarmored scaling? This still leaves it unequal to a martial with better scaling. Is the intention that any class can use and scale the armor innovation equally using the Inventor's scaling? Secondly, the weapon innovation let's you choose a simple or martial weapon, how does training/scaling work for those if you are a sorcerer and choose martial weapon or even a wizard choosing a simple weapon they are not trained in?

More discussion can be found here, with deeper analysis by me, but I feel I'm at an impass with everyone else, I just think the devs might have had intentions that every class could take the Inventor Dedication and use it equally, but I could be wrong: https://paizo.com/threads/rzs43i5d?Inventor-Archetype-are-you-trained

The devs rarely, if ever, have answered directly in this thread, haven't had a Paizo casual stream since Payton left around this time last year, and didn't address rules questions that didn't already have an obvious answer on the stream since the very early versions of that stream.

Your best bet is to continue your original thread as you will not get anything official, or markedly different, here.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Lazarus, I think the biggest cognitive problem you're having with this is that you're trying to view it through the lens of getting another class. It's not. What it is is spending a class feat on something that's outside the list for your class.

Look at all the other MC/Archetype dedications. They mostly have a similar power, and few, if any, on their own outshine the best class feats. The advantage of Dedications is that they unlock access to feats from their MC/Archetype that you can then spend more class feats on later.

The Dedications that give any proficiency all give very little else in the Dedication feat itself. As has been pointed out, proficiency is expensive in terms of internal costing, and proficiency progression moreso.

Of course a fighter will be better at wearing armour with bells and whistles, or swinging a sword with gizmos hanging off it than a sorceror; the fighter is already trained in wearing armour and swinging a sword, where the sorceror is not. For the fighter, Inventor MC Dedication and the follow-on feats just add options to things he already knows. For the sorceror, it's picking up a completely alien set of implements.

Nothing in second edition stops you from using any type of armour or weapon without proficiency; you will just never be very good with them.

Archetype dedications' power budgets are quite small, so it's not at all out of line that the artificer doesn't offer any additional proficiency.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

RAW only one of them would count. You don't have to use paired weapons paired, they just gain a small advantage if you do

Snipper wrote:
Asethe wrote:
You wouldn't be able to shift the musket, as Shifting runes only affect melee weapons. In that regard, the stock isn't a weapon as much as an addition to an existing weapon.

Stock is a separate melee weapon with "attached" trait.

As I understand I can add any runes on attached weapons as long, as they don't require something special (like crushing rune only for bludgeoning weapon).

And so, I can add shifting rune on stock, bayonet, shield spikes, whatever and then shift them. Moreover, I can shift any melee weapon into reinforced stock and then attach it to musket!

Sorry, I should have been clearer. As an attached weapon, if you shift it, regardless of anything else, the musket will not change.

Also, once transformed, it will no longer be attached when you change it back, so you will have to spend the crafting time to reattach it to your musket.

It's also well within the bounds for your GM to rule that the-now-half-a-musket has the broken state until repaired, being no more usable than an axe without a haft, or a sling without its straps, and you then have to spend the time to fix it from 'broken' to a usable level.

The Shifting rune does weird things when used on attached weapons, and they really need to add some errata to either remove its function from them, or clarify what happens to the attached item.

You wouldn't be able to shift the musket, as Shifting runes only affect melee weapons. In that regard, the stock isn't a weapon as much as an addition to an existing weapon.

11 people marked this as a favorite.

Clearly a case of unacceptable power creep: The comparative amount of fun a player can have with this is far greater than the offerings before!

Mental is an interesting case against a Wall of Force. It would come down to whether the GM rules that a barrier that blocks physical effects is enough to block Line of Effect for mental damage effects.

As for lasers and the Lantern Archon, I would say that it does block them. It allows visual effects to pass through specifically, but both the example attacks are not Visual traited effects and do produce physical effects, so it would block Line of Effect for them.

The wall doesn't block Physical damage (capital 'P'), it blocks 'physical effects', which would include most energy damage on a plain text reading, which is why no one has tried arguing that you can Lightning Bolt through it before.

The introduction of more Mental damage spells with the forthcoming book might produce an interesting combination.

For a repeater, the Tower Shield would give you some additional AC while you had shots left, but because a Tower Shield requires it be Raised, and you can only Take Cover while it's Raised, you wouldn't have a free hand to perform the reload as it would be taken up wielding the shield and maintaining the raised shield to Take Cover behind.

The Dual Weapon Reload feat is probably a non-starter because of:

Attacking With Shields wrote:
A shield can be used as a martial weapon for attacks, using the statistics listed for a shield bash on Table 6–7: Melee Weapons (page 280). The shield bash is an option only for shields that weren’t designed to be used as weapons. A shield can’t have runes added to it. You can also buy and attach a shield boss or shield spikes to a shield to make it a more practical weapon. These can be found on Table 6–7. These work like other weapons and can even be etched with runes.

Which implies that a shield is not a weapon for that purpose.

A GM might allow it, but RAW it's very grey.

Pretty much what Seisho said.

It's still bigger than you are, you're still clumsy, and you still need it to get the full benefit from Giant Instinct rage.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
HumbleGamer wrote:

And solving crimes ( detective background and dedication ).

Who let the gnoll out?

Did you just make Scrappy Doo?

HumbleGamer wrote:

Now I have a doubt.

Are Ant Gnoll supposed to be like puppies or just small gnolls?

I mean, though the size may lower their scary appareance, can't I do a scary look or savage look ( something which may intimidate people around him rather than making them love him ), can I?

I now have an image of a rabid chihuahua in plate armour with a divine aura.

TBH, the goblin will probably cop more flak than da cute little puppy.

A full-sized fanged menace, from a race that raids settlements and eats people, would probably be received notably less well, but Golarion is a world where people with clearly demonic features and demonic magic can find a place in civilised society, so *shrug*

2 people marked this as a favorite.

GM fiat, but PF2e takes a fairly commonsense approach to what you can wear. As Healer's Gloves are not described as particularly bulky, I would say a provisio'd 'yes'. AFAIK there is nothing in the rules to prevent you from doing so, assuming you Invest them at the start of the day, but there is also nothing to explicitly let you.

The provisio is they probably can't be used while you are wearing the gauntlets because of the big chunk of leather and metal between the gloves and your intended patient.

Really, this one will vary table to table, and comes down to how the GM wants to handle it.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

For Power Attack, the MAP applies after your attack completes. So, you Power Attack at -0, then any subsequent strike(s) would be at -10 or -8 if you have an Agile weapon.

I can't think of an instance that you don't apply MAP after the Strike completes

I think he got lucky after inviting Mark Seifter on to chat about other stuff, and Paizo's devs wanting a way to get information out without publishing a full blown FAQ/errata set yet.

1 to 50 of 220 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>