Orc Ranger

AngryOrc's page

28 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ragnvald Hrolfson wrote:

They trapped him merely because the Lord in Iron did not yet exist. The gods of old did not truly understand what it is to walk the path of gore.

Crush all in your path, slay your enemies and annoint yourself in the spilled ichor of their defeat. Or die yourself. He does not care so long as you do so with sword in hand and fire in your heart.

Rovagug make Orcs, Orcs make war, War makes Gorum, Rovgug made Gorum!!! Rovagug so strong when he sneeze new deity is born.All fear Rovagug power. Only deity not afraid of Rovagug maybe Groetus "The God of the End Times" because Rovagug give him job! Why worship lesser deity Rovagug embrace the Orc blood inside you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Rovagug it will make your interactions way more fun. "His worshipers are savage monsters and human nihilists. He is the primary deity of the orcs"
You don't have to follow him for his evilness but respect his power. The guy was apposed buy the entire pantheon of gods and the best they could do was trap him. That's how I run my half-orc "Gorum just give you power to fight, Rovagug give you power to win!"


So Uncanny Grapple just gives you more options with your grapple you don't do any more per grapple check?


So trying a 7 BloodRager/1 Brawler/Mythic 1
My focus is on Grappling so I saw this:

Uncanny Grapple:
Uncanny Grapple (Ex): Upon making a successful grapple combat maneuver check against a creature you are grappling, you can perform one of the following actions: throw, crush, or swing. For a throw, you can throw the target of your grapple up to 10 feet per tier; if the creature strikes a solid object before reaching this distance, it takes 1d6 points of damage per 10 feet of the remaining throwing distance and lands prone. For a crush, you deal 1d6 points of nonlethal damage per tier. For a swing, you can use the target as a weapon against another creature, treating the grappled creature as a two-handed weapon. If you succeed at a melee attack against an opponent adjacent to the target, both that opponent and the grappled creature take 1d8 points of bludgeoning damage from this attack + 1-1/2 × your Strength modifier.

I then read this thread.

So does that mean that Uncanny Grapple can be use per Grapple check?
so with Rapid Grappler Feat does that mean 3 per full action?

And with Snapping Turtle Clutch Feat


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Moved to Rules Questions. :)

:O I love you I thought this was lost in space and time!!! Thank you Doctor!


So my dream is to play a giant barbarian and look down on those puny creatures that appose me. When I saw Demonic Bulk I was like yeah this is the stuff but now our dm added a Mythic level to us. So this made me wonder can I be a bigger giant? Would Augmented Spell Enlarge Person work on Demonic Bulk(Su)?

Demonic Bulk (Su):
Demonic Bulk (Su): At 4th level, when you enter a
bloodrage, you can choose to grow one size category
larger than your base size (as enlarge person, even if you
aren’t humanoid).

Enlarge Person(mythic):
Enlarge Person(mythic):
You can increase the target's size by up to two size categories, to a maximum of Huge. If the target grows two sizes, its weight increases by a factor of 25, it gains a +4 size bonus to Strength, and takes a –4 size penalty to Dexterity and a –2 penalty on attack rolls and to AC because of its increased size. A Medium humanoid creature whose size increases to Huge has a space of 15 feet and a natural reach of 10 feet. Mythic enlarge person counters and dispels mythic reduce person.


Rikkan wrote:

INA and Strong Jaw don't stack.

For the exact same reason Lead Blades and Impact don't stack.

Lead Blades and Impact don't stack because they are the same magic the make mention to the build.

Someone said wrote:


Weapon Special Ability, Impact: Does this stack with the lead blades spell?

No. The weapon special ability and the spell are similar effects; note that impact lists lead blades as a construction requirement.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 08/02/13

Also they don't say anything about feats.

What this says to me is 2 druid's can't cast strong jaw on the same creature.

And most of the bonus(Size,Moral,Enhance,ect..) discussed here are untyped.


Chris Lambertz wrote:
Merged all threads together. In the future, you can flag posts to get them moved to the appropriate forum :)

Thank you!

But back to the subject I've been doing some digging and this is what i found rearguards to the feat in question:

Sean K Reynolds wrote:

I know the playtest document calls them "alternate classes," but I don't think the design team has made a decision about whether or not they count as their component classes for the purpose of qualifying for class-specific feats.

It's a good question, though.

Designer Post.

So the answer is I don't know.


This is the monk's version for reference

Flurry of Blows:

Flurry of Blows (Ex): Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so, he may make on additional attack, taking a -2 penalty on all of his attack rolls, as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon (he does not need to use two weapons to use this ability). For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus.

At 8th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

At 15th level, the monk can make three additional attacks using flurry of blows, as if using Greater Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands. A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows. A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks..


AngryOrc wrote:
ecw1701 wrote:
AngryOrc wrote:
Harrowed Wizard wrote:

Just a heads up, this thread should probably be under either the Playtest General Discussion forum or the Playtest Class Discussion forum.

oh sorry can I move it or do I have to repost it?

I don't know how to move a thread, either, but I did recreate this topic over there on the playtest board. It would be great if this can get moved by the admins, though, so all this excellent dialog isn't lost.

lol i did the same thing at the same time whoops

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qfgc?BLOODRAGER-BRAWLER-MULTICLASSING-FERAL#1

deleted mine


ecw1701 wrote:
AngryOrc wrote:
Harrowed Wizard wrote:

Just a heads up, this thread should probably be under either the Playtest General Discussion forum or the Playtest Class Discussion forum.

oh sorry can I move it or do I have to repost it?

I don't know how to move a thread, either, but I did recreate this topic over there on the playtest board. It would be great if this can get moved by the admins, though, so all this excellent dialog isn't lost.

lol i did the same thing at the same time whoops

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qfgc?BLOODRAGER-BRAWLER-MULTICLASSING-FERAL#1


Harrowed Wizard wrote:

Just a heads up, this thread should probably be under either the Playtest General Discussion forum or the Playtest Class Discussion forum.

oh sorry can I move it or do I have to repost it?


ecw1701 wrote:

Well, I think everyone agrees it would work for a Bloodrager/Monk.

But Monks and Brawlers aren't the same thing, and bring different class abilities to the table that have to be considered. And, for the sake of the playtest, I'm trying to stick to RaW as much as possible.

If they ment it and left it out then yeah but if they didn't then it will go untested. I guess this is what play testing is for to shake out problems like thus. Also the question isn't wheter you can multiclass brawler its weather you can take advantage of "Brawler’s Flurry" with "Natural Weapons" using "Feral Combat Training "


Bigdaddyjug wrote:
The reason the feat doesn't mention Brawler's Flurry is because when it was written hat class didn't exist yet. This is a case of having to use common sense. The brawler is a fighter/monk hybrid that gets a flurry ability almost identical to monk's flurry. Feral Combat Training works with monk flurry, therefore it should work with Brawler's Flurry.

I'm with you on this I can't understand why it shouldn't work. You can have the same effect with a different class. The real reason here I want the Brawler vs Monk:

A. Fun to test out the new class
B. Better match my playstyle
C. I don't Have to be a lawful rager (although allowed now with bloodrager)


ecw1701 wrote:

Yes, but it's also come up in the errata since that Improved Natural Attack does not work for Monks, so expressly saying no to natural weapons, again, has to be intentional.

And I hear you Frodo, the problem is as we are discussing in another thread this character is potentially dealing between 6d6 and 4d8 per attack in that flurry pending how the buffs stack, so it can all get out of hand pretty quickly. We split the threads because the questions are different...but highly related.

That's true but how is that any different then you going Bloodrager/Monk and using the "Flurry of Blows" I guess the question would be is that is it more 'OP' to use "Brawler’s Flurry" vs "Flurry of Blows"


So the two flurry in question :

Monk:
Flurry of Blows (Ex)
When unarmored, a monk may strike with a flurry of blows at the expense of accuracy. When doing so, she may make one extra attack in a round at her highest base attack bonus, but this attack takes a -2 penalty, as does each other attack made that round. The resulting modified base attack bonuses are shown in the Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus column on Table: The Monk. This penalty applies for 1 round, so it also affects attacks of opportunity the monk might make before her next action. When a monk reaches 5th level, the penalty lessens to -1, and at 9th level it disappears. A monk must use a full attack action to strike with a flurry of blows.

When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham). She may attack with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons interchangeably as desired. When using weapons as part of a flurry of blows, a monk applies her Strength bonus (not Str bonus × 1½ or ×½) to her damage rolls for all successful attacks, whether she wields a weapon in one or both hands. The monk can’t use any weapon other than a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows.

In the case of the quarterstaff, each end counts as a separate weapon for the purpose of using the flurry of blows ability. Even though the quarterstaff requires two hands to use, a monk may still intersperse unarmed strikes with quarterstaff strikes, assuming that she has enough attacks in her flurry of blows routine to do so.
Greater Flurry

When a monk reaches 11th level, her flurry of blows ability improves. In addition to the standard single extra attack she gets from flurry of blows, she gets a second extra attack at her full base attack bonus.


vs
Brawler:

Brawler’s Flurry (Ex): Starting at 2nd level, a brawler
can make a brawler’s flurry as a full-attack action. When
doing so, a brawler is treated as having the Two-Weapon
Fighting feat when attacking with unarmed strikes or
weapons with the “monk” special feature. She does not
need to use two different weapons to use this ability.

A brawler applies her full Strength bonus to her damage
rolls for all successful attacks made with brawler’s flurry,
whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a
weapon wielded in both hands. A brawler may substitute
disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed
attacks as part of brawler’s flurry. A brawler with natural
weapons cannot use such weapons as part of brawler’s
flurry, nor can she make natural attacks in addition to
her brawler’s flurry attacks.

At 8th level, the brawler is treated as having the
Improved Two-Weapon Fighting feat when using
brawler’s flurry. At 15th level, the brawler is treated as
having the Greater Two-Weapon Fighting feat when
using brawler’s flurry.


FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:
To though in some opposing arguement (not that I agree with it), specific trumps general. Which is more specific, that the brawlers flurry does not work with natural attacks, or the feat allows natural attacks to be used in stead of unarmed strikes?

yup it just leaves me confused

paizo wrote:

A brawler with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of brawler’s flurry, nor can she make natural attacks in addition to

her brawler’s flurry attacks.

vs

paizo wrote:
Benefit: Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite, as well as effects that augment an unarmed strike.

oh paizo what did you mean for a half-orc bloodrager who dreams of flurrying is claws as a brawler to do?


Bigdaddyjug wrote:
Well the claws are a natural weapon, so I don't see why not. Also, you do realize the bloodrager is a sorceror/barbarian hybrid, right?

Yeah I'll revise you take your spells from the Magus list so i got confused


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I'm testing out a bloodrager(sorcerer/barbarian) but you get most of your best stuff by level 12 so i was looking into multiclassing a Brawler(Monk/Fighter) focusing on the claws I get while in bloodrage however I cant go take advantage of my claws with Flurry "A brawler with natural
weapons cannot use such weapons as part of brawler’s
flurry, nor can she make natural attacks in addition to
her brawler’s flurry attacks."

Brawler’s Flurry:

Brawler’s Flurry (Ex): Starting at 2nd level, a brawler
can make a brawler’s f lurry as a full-attack action. When
doing so, a brawler is treated as having the Two-Weapon
Fighting feat when attacking with unarmed strikes or
weapons with the “monk” special feature. She does not
need to use two different weapons to use this ability.
A brawler applies her full Strength bonus to her damage
rolls for all successful attacks made with brawler’s f lurry,
whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a
weapon wielded in both hands. A brawler may substitute
disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed
attacks as part of brawler’s flurry. A brawler with natural
weapons cannot use such weapons as part of brawler’s
flurry, nor can she make natural attacks in addition to
her brawler’s flurry attacks.
At 8th level, the brawler is treated as having the
Improved Two-Weapon Fighting feat when using
brawler’s flurry. At 15th level, the brawler is treated as
having the Greater Two-Weapon Fighting feat when
using brawler’s flurry.

However this is based of the Monk's Flurry so I was wondering if Feral Combat Training would apply to brawler's as well?

Feral Combat Training:
Feral Combat Training (Combat)

You were taught a style of martial arts that relies on the natural weapons from your racial ability or class feature.

Prerequisite: Improved Unarmed Strike, Weapon Focus with selected natural weapon.

Benefit: Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite, as well as effects that augment an unarmed strike.

Special: If you are a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon with your flurry of blows class feature.


if we follow strong jaw we would end up with

1d8/1d8(start) -> 2d6/2d6(improved) ->2d8(Demon bulk)->3d6/3d6(Gorilla aspect)->(strong jaw over the chart so double) 2d8/2d8-> 4d8/4d8

this is a 1d8 long sword for comparison:
Medium 1d8, Large 2d6, Huge 3d6, Gargantuan 4d6, Colossal 6d6
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/weapons.htm


also would Feral Combat Training effect Aspect of Gorilla if it doesn't?
Feral Combat Training (Combat)

Feral Combat Training:
You were taught a style of martial arts that relies on the natural weapons from your racial ability or class feature.

Prerequisite: Improved Unarmed Strike, Weapon Focus with selected natural weapon.

Benefit: Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite, as well as effects that augment an unarmed strike.

Special: If you are a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon with your flurry of blows class feature.


also some one could arguable throw lead blades in there as well

Lead blades:
Lead Blades

School transmutation; Level ranger 1

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S

Range personal

Target touch

Duration 1 minute/level (D)

Lead blades increases the momentum and density of your melee weapons just as they strike a foe. All melee weapons you are carrying when the spell is cast deal damage as if one size category larger than they actually are. For instance, a Medium longsword normally deals 1d8 points of damage, but it would instead deal 2d6 points of damage if benefiting from lead blades. Only you can benefit from this spell. If anyone else uses one of your weapons to make an attack it deals damage as normal for its size.


James Risner wrote:
AngryOrc wrote:

Stick of Infinite Charm Person = 56,000 gp-ish

Wand of charm person x50: 750gp

Also would a wand of mage armor be more like 16000 for 50 charges?

Eyes of Charming is a slot item, a stick (slotless) would cost 112,000 gp.

Wand of 1st level spell (Charm Person, Mage Armor, etc) would be 750 gp for 50 charges. Wands require UMD or a class with the spell on their spell list.

For that price of the infinite charm stick you could cast charm 7466 from wands


DM_Blake wrote:
Whoops! Looks like the jig's up, AngryOrc - your GM discovered your sneaky plot to undermine his campaign. He's onto you. Better skip town and lie low til the hoo-hah blows over...

Lol I asked him all these questions first so no worry I would never try to pull a fast one besides the gm can always be like "oh so sorry my friend that item you just spent all your moneys on got stolen."

Pathfinder is deep and it's rules are complex I'm trying to get a reasonable Idea of what type of magic you could find and what the pricing would be:

Stick of Infinite Charm Person = 56,000 gp-ish

EYES OF CHARMING:
EYES OF CHARMING
Aura moderate enchantment; CL 7th
Slot eyes; Price 56,000 gp for a pair; Weight —
DESCRIPTION
These two crystal lenses fit over the user's eyes. The wearer is able to use charm person (one target per round) merely by meeting a target's gaze. Those failing a DC 16 Will save are charmed as per the spell. Both lenses must be worn for the magic item to take effect.

However is the pricing the same for wands then?

Craft Wand:
Craft Wand (Item Creation)
You can create magic wands.

Prerequisite: Caster level 5th.

Benefit: You can create a wand of any 4th-level or lower spell that you know. Crafting a wand takes 1 day for each 1,000 gp in its base price. To craft a wand, you must use up raw materials costing half of this base price. A newly created wand has 50 charges.

See magic item creation rules for more information.


Wand of charm person x50: 750gp

Also would a wand of mage armor be more like 16000 for 50 charges?

if a Wand of Mage Armor x50 is only 750 it seems like this would be the way to go until you hit higher levels you get the armor for an hour +4 ac


James Risner wrote:
AngryOrc wrote:
So if you wanted to make an Necklace of "mage-armor" it would be 1,800

Magic item creation is complex. You didn't read all the rules around it.

In general, if you go to the charts and numbers when creating an item. You jumped to the last rule.

The first rule is price similar. There is a similar item. Bracers of Armor. You can't make a magic item with the magic item creation rules that provides an AC bonus for less than other items that do the same thing.

Bracers of armor +4 = 16,000 gp

so this is true while it would cost more does it mean you can't create an item that would allow a person to cast mage armor or could you still make it and just give it a similar price?

Necklace Of Mage's Armor 14,000 - 18,000 gp?
While the bonus of +4 AC is similar the mechanics work differently (however for that price you can afford to make a whole lot of wands)

James Risner wrote:
The second rule is essentially price what it is worth. An item with use activated cure light is worth millions of gp.

I understand why DM would never allow an unlimited heal item into a game. But you could resolve that with the "Divide by (5 divided by charges per day)" so give it a cap of 5 per day?

But what about any number of other useful low level spells?
Shield, Mage Armor, Alarm, Grease, Speak with Animals, Lead Weapons?

All of these can be put on wands for the wand price (Spell level × caster level × 750 gp) but can you not make wondrous items that give the user the ability to cast these spells?


I found it

Other Considerations:
Other Considerations: Once you have a cost figure, reduce that number if either of the following conditions applies:

Item Requires Skill to Use: Some items require a specific skill to get them to function. This factor should reduce the cost about 10%.

Item Requires Specific Class or Alignment to Use: Even more restrictive than requiring a skill, this limitation cuts the price by 30%.

Prices presented in the magic item descriptions (the gold piece value following the item's slot) are the market value, which is generally twice what it costs the creator to make the item.

Since different classes get access to certain spells at different levels, the prices for two characters to make the same item might actually be different. An item is only worth two times what the caster of the lowest possible level can make it for. Calculate the market price based on the lowest possible level caster, no matter who makes the item.

Not all items adhere to these formulas. First and foremost, these few formulas aren't enough to truly gauge the exact differences between items. The price of a magic item may be modified based on its actual worth. The formulas only provide a starting point. The pricing of scrolls assumes that, whenever possible, a wizard or cleric created it. Potions and wands follow the formulas exactly. Staves follow the formulas closely, and other items require at least some judgment calls.

so its a 30% discount for adding class/skill restrictions
lvl 1 = 1,260(per-day:252)

DM_Blake wrote:

But, arguably, someone with Craft Wondrous Item could make a Stick of Infinite Charm Person that looks exactly like a wand and has infinite uses for 1 x 1 x 1,800 = 1,800gp, more than double the price. (No, it doesn't have to be a "stick", I just did that to compare apples to apples - it could, of course, be an amulet or a pair of boots or a rock or whatever).

Stick of Infinite Charm Person on command use(fighter can use with out umd check)

1800

Stick of Infinite Charm Person Requires Skill(works like wand with umd check of 20)
1620

Stick of Infinite Charm Person class/skill restrictions (umd check like casting from scroll 20 + caster level)
1,260

Is that legit?


So after reading over the magic item construction I've managed to extrapolate some information:

Spell level × caster level × 1,800 gp(/5 for per day uses)
lvl 0 = 900(per-day:180)
lvl 1 = 1,800(per-day:360)
lvl 2 = 14,400(per-day:2880)
lvl 4 = 54,000(per-day:10800)

example item:
Hand of the Mage
This mummified elf hand hangs by a golden chain around a character’s neck (taking up space as a magic necklace would). It allows the wearer to utilize the spell mage hand at will.

Faint transmutation; CL 2nd; Craft Wondrous Item, mage hand; Price 900 gp; Weight 2 lb.

So if you wanted to make an Necklace of "mage-armor" it would be 1,800 but the command word doesn't take a UMD check to activate.

Command Word:
Command Word: If no activation method is suggested either in the magic item description or by the nature of the item, assume that a command word is needed to activate it. Command word activation means that a character speaks the word and the item activates. No other special knowledge is needed.

A command word can be a real word, but when this is the case, the holder of the item runs the risk of activating the item accidentally by speaking the word in normal conversation. More often, the command word is some seemingly nonsensical word, or a word or phrase from an ancient language no longer in common use. Activating a command word magic item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Sometimes the command word to activate an item is written right on the item. Occasionally, it might be hidden within a pattern or design engraved on, carved into, or built into the item, or the item might bear a clue to the command word.

The Knowledge (arcana) and Knowledge (history) skills might be useful in helping to identify command words or deciphering clues regarding them. A successful check against DC 30 is needed to come up with the word itself. If that check is failed, succeeding on a second check (DC 25) might provide some insight into a clue. The spells detect magic, identify, and analyze dweomer all reveal command words if the properties of the item are successfully identified.

My question is can you make an unlimited use item or per-day use item using the spell trigger price "spell trigger: Spell level × caster level × 750 gp" and take the risk of a umd check or having to meet the caster requirements. Instead of using the Command word price?

http://paizo.com/prd/magicItems/magicItemCreation.html


So was looking into magic tattoos but the don't give a number of uses per day and it says "It vanishes when activated." does that mean its only good for one spell? What would be the point of tattooing a one time use spell on your body if you weren't trying to make it at least a once per day?
Why would anyone want to pay four times the price?

Rule:

Tattoo, Spell
Aura varies; CL varies

Slot none; Price varies

DESCRIPTION
A spell tattoo is essentially a wearable scroll inscribed on flesh instead of on parchment or vellum. These tattoos appear as colorful and intricate patterns rather than magical writing. The tattoo is a silent, spell completion item that only the bearer can activate. It vanishes when activated. A spell tattoo must be visible to the bearer and must be touched as part of its activation. These magical tattoos are not normally placed on the head, neck, or back as a result, since most creatures would require mirrors to activate them. A spell tattoo’s aura and caster level varies as per the scroll it emulates. A spell tattoo has a market price four times as much as an equivalent scroll.