Hunters Edge, Animal Companion and Beastmaster Dedication


Rules Discussion


If I have the Ranger's Animal Companion feat (which also lets my companion benefit from my Hunters Edge) then I later gain the Beastmaster Dedication (allowing me to switch between two companions) does my alternate animal companion gain the benefit of my Hunters Edge when it is an active animal companion?

Ranger's animal companion text:
Ranger: When you Hunt Prey, your animal companion gains the action's benefits and your hunter's edge benefit if you have one.


It doesn't say that it only affects the animal companion you get with Ranger feats, so I don't see why it shouldn't get the benefit.


It's allowed, and there's even precedent; most feats are class agnostic to allow for smoother multiclassing. Heck, in the playtest, calculated splash worked on acid splash because it was just a substitution of int for splash damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hunters Edge, Animal Companion and Beastmaster Dedication All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.