GM G's Intro 1: First Steps—Part I: In Service to Lore (Inactive)

Game Master Magabeus

Four simple errands, what can go wrong?

Map



Tears at Bitter Manor

Discussion thread


Tears at Bitter Manor

Guys,

Tomorrow and Friday I will be out of country on a business trip. I do not think I will be able to post until Saturday morning, but will check later tonight if I can progress the combat to round 2.


Tears at Bitter Manor

All,

I am not sure how accustomed you are to Pathfinder Society Play, so maybe this is redundant, but better safe than sorry.

You do not get to keep any items that you find in the scenario. After the scenario all found items are 'gone' and you get a sum of money for your troubles to represent your loot and reward. With this sum of money you can buy (almost) anything you want. You can use everything you find in the remainder of the scenario without repercussions.

Read pages 23 to 25 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society for more information on how purchasing works in PFS.

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

GM G, I was aware of that, but can I ask about expendable items? If I hurl a vial of acid found on the mission do I need to pay for it will the gold received after the mission?

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3

No you are free to use any items you find without having to pay for them. You only have to pay for the items you keep.


Tears at Bitter Manor
Silas Garman wrote:
GM G, I was aware of that, but can I ask about expendable items? If I hurl a vial of acid found on the mission do I need to pay for it will the gold received after the mission?

Asking never hurts ;-)

If you use expendable items during the mission you do not have to pay for them at the end of the mission. My interpretation is also that if you had bought acid before the mission and found another flask of acid and then used one you always use the found one first.

Grand Lodge

Gunslinger 7 HP: 60/60 AC: 23 FF: 16, Touch: 16 Init:+6 F:+10 R:+11, W:+7 Perception+13 Sense Motive+13 (effects)

Yep. What they said. The Society has a really good reimbursement policy when it comes to consumables. :)

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

Lol, yes indeed, anyone mind if I snag one of those alchemists fires on that basis, they are a bit better than my bombs - now I know they are free!

Grand Lodge

Gunslinger 7 HP: 60/60 AC: 23 FF: 16, Touch: 16 Init:+6 F:+10 R:+11, W:+7 Perception+13 Sense Motive+13 (effects)

All yours.

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3

Go ahead you'll probably do a better job with them then me,

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

Thanks folks :)

Grand Lodge

Ranger 1 - Init +1; Perception +6 - AC 14; touch 11; flat-footed 13 - hp 13 - Fort +4, Ref +3, Will +2

Thanks for the advice. Just so I understand, if I want to buy the book of footprints at the end of the scenario - do I pay full price?

The reason I ask is that some of the items we found were mundane and multiple e.g. masterwork thieve's tools. I'm unsure of the benefit of finding them as we'd have to buy them if we wanted to keep them.

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3

Yes anything you want to keep you have to pay full price, that's the rule.

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

I would guess its more of a verisimilitude thing, the wealth we find roughly approximating the amount of gold we get at the end of the scenario.

Grand Lodge

Ranger 1 - Init +1; Perception +6 - AC 14; touch 11; flat-footed 13 - hp 13 - Fort +4, Ref +3, Will +2
Silas Garman wrote:
I would guess its more of a verisimilitude thing, the wealth we find roughly approximating the amount of gold we get at the end of the scenario.

That would make perfect sense except the Society rules state, "Some items may be so valuable that the gold you receive in one scenario is insufficient to purchase it." This suggests you don't get the full value for every item found. The rules also state, "Every player who completes a scenario receives a set amount of gold for the scenario that she may spend to acquire items... This gold piece total can fluctuate depending on what you accomplished and how you accomplished it."

This threw me until I read the various FAQs. I forgot that we have to split the booty x ways. A 1,000gp item isn't afforable if I only get 1000/x gp for finding it!


Tears at Bitter Manor

OK guys, that was a tough round, reading back that might just have to do with my newness to PbP GM'ing though.

I had to do some judgement calls which I would like to go into.

1) Although you can post (and should do so) in any order, I still resolve your actions in initiative order. Coronoides, Ken touched you after your count came up, so you could not reroll this turn. I will ignore the second roll in that post. You can reroll one d20 in your next action. Please try not to use the knowledge you get from earlier posts by others that act after you.

2) Please state how and where you want to move, it is very easy for me to misinterpret your intention

Regarding rules:
3) Improvised weapons still let you use your strength modifier on attack and damage.

I am having great fun with the way you are dealing with the challenges, keep up the good work. I hope that my newness in online GM'in is not detracting from your fun!

If there are any concerns / remarks on your part, please state them.


GM G wrote:

1) Although you can post (and should do so) in any order, I still resolve your actions in initiative order. Coronoides, Ken touched you after your count came up, so you could not reroll this turn. I will ignore the second roll in that post. You can reroll one d20 in your next action. Please try not to use the knowledge you get from earlier posts by others that act after you.

Not a concern but an observation that I'm still hazy on the 'luck' rule. I hope I demonstrated that I delayed my action past the point that Ken blessed me. This means that the fact that my initiative was 18 to Ken's 8 doesn't matter - I acted after him.

Now I didn't expect to use the blessing this turn due to my reading of the rule - but if it acts between Ken's action this turn and his action next turn, then logically I would be able to use it twice.

I'm only asking as I suspect it will come up again during this adventure and I want to be sure I know what to do.

Oh, and I guessed at 1d4 for the riding crop. 1d4+4 felt too much damage but happy to use it next round.

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3
Core Rule Book wrote:
Bit of Luck (Sp): You can touch a willing creature as a standard action, giving it a bit of luck. For the next round, any time the target rolls a d20, he may roll twice and take the more favorable result. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
GM Birch wrote:

Not a concern but an observation that I'm still hazy on the 'luck' rule. I hope I demonstrated that I delayed my action past the point that Ken blessed me. This means that the fact that my initiative was 18 to Ken's 8 doesn't matter - I acted after him.

Now I didn't expect to use the blessing this turn due to my reading of the rule - but if it acts between Ken's action this turn and his action next turn, then logically I would be able to use it twice.

I'm only asking as I suspect it will come up again during this adventure and I want to be sure I know what to do

I haven't got a clue. I do know that it works on all d20 rolls in a single round. I was at GenCon playing with a different Luck Domain Cleric and I tapped a Zen Archer with it who then got to use it on both his arrow attacks, his saving throw and then his stablization roll all on the same round.

I only started playing Pathfinder in July and belive it or not this is the first time it's come up in one of my games.

Oh you only roll damage once for each attack unless the damage dice is a d20.

Grand Lodge

Gunslinger 7 HP: 60/60 AC: 23 FF: 16, Touch: 16 Init:+6 F:+10 R:+11, W:+7 Perception+13 Sense Motive+13 (effects)

Well Initiative in PBP is a bit wonky. But the ability starts working as soon as you get hit with it. So if Kennaniah goes and you have to make a save before you come up again, you can use it.


Tears at Bitter Manor

Coroniodes: what irks me a bit (not personal!) is that you delay based on something that happens later. At the time you may act you did not know that Ken would tap you later. There was no prior IC discussion that Ken asked / told Coroniodes to wait until he was tapped.

Never mind, said my piece and we will move on!

On the bit of luck: I agree completely that the rules are that you use it on all d20 rolls in one round. I also think it makes the Luck domain power ridiculously strong compared to other domains, however those are the rules.

And again: comments regarding my style / handling of the rules are welcome, trying to improve my GM'ing

Grand Lodge

Gunslinger 7 HP: 60/60 AC: 23 FF: 16, Touch: 16 Init:+6 F:+10 R:+11, W:+7 Perception+13 Sense Motive+13 (effects)

Well it is only for 1 round and it costs Kennaniah his action. It is very good though.


Tears at Bitter Manor

I am very sorry that my post 2 up can be read as if I am implying that Coroniodes was cheating. This was not my intention!!!

Coroniodes: my apologies.

I think you all are playing by the rules and that a discussion how rules should be applied is a normal part of any game.

EDIT: removed bold around normal, after rereading it could be read like I meant that you guys are not treating that discussion as normal. Why is it so difficult to show intentions on the internet?

Grand Lodge

Ranger 1 - Init +1; Perception +6 - AC 14; touch 11; flat-footed 13 - hp 13 - Fort +4, Ref +3, Will +2

The benefit of holidays is that you get more leisure time. Except for me it works the other way around. I apologise in advance if I’m a little slow over the next week or so – normal service will be resumed very soon.

Sczarni

Male Human (Varisian) Witch 1 HP 2/8; AC 15, Touch 11, FF, 10; F+2, R+1, W+2; Init +2; Perc +1

Thanks GM and Merry Christmas to all who celebrate. Let me know if any of you are running more scenarios as I am enjoying getting into PFS online.

Sterelin aka Crellan

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

Merry Christmas all :)

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3

Merry Christmas,

Ken, aka ghost1776


Tears at Bitter Manor

Coronoides, Ken, Silas and Sterelin,

Please post the PFS ID for your character.

All,

Thanks for playing!

If you have a day job, can you roll for it?

I am intending to run Mists of Mwangi after New Year, if you are interested let me know, I will reserve a spot for you in that case.

And last but not least: Happy Christalhue!

Liberty's Edge

Male Aasimar Cleric 1 HP 10/10 | AC 18 T 11 F F15 | CMD 13 | F+4 R+2 W+6| Init +1| Perc +5 | SM +3

PFS# 93713-5

Sorry I can't play. I am intrested in Mists of Mwangi, but will be running my own Homebrew PbP Pathfinder campaign then so I'm cutting back my player time. If your intrested it's the "So I Have a Map" recruitment thread, even if your not intrested in playing I would welcome any comments or suggestions.

Grand Lodge

Gunslinger 7 HP: 60/60 AC: 23 FF: 16, Touch: 16 Init:+6 F:+10 R:+11, W:+7 Perception+13 Sense Motive+13 (effects)

Profession(Gambler): 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (4) + 6 = 10

Sczarni

Male Human (Varisian) Witch 1 HP 2/8; AC 15, Touch 11, FF, 10; F+2, R+1, W+2; Init +2; Perc +1

# 75411-3

Count me in for Mists of Mwangi!

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

# 113331-2

I'm up for Mist of Mwangi, sounds awesome. Day job roll includes a alchemists lab, which will be purchased shortly.

Craft Alchemy: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (9) + 13 = 22

Dark Archive

Alchemist (grenedier) 1 | HP 9/9 | AC:16 T:13, F:13 | CMD:14, CMB:+1 | Save (F+3, R+5, W-1) | Init:+5 | Perc: +3 | Bombs 4/6

Gah, forgot I have Crafters Fortune precisely for day job rolls, so should be 27 instead.


Tears at Bitter Manor

Chronicles PM'ed for everyone except Coronoides (waiting for your PFS ID)

Please let me know if I made a mistake.

Mists of Mwangi: I have Silas and Sterelin lined up. Next week is a busy week for me, will start recruiting after that.

Grand Lodge

Ranger 1 - Init +1; Perception +6 - AC 14; touch 11; flat-footed 13 - hp 13 - Fort +4, Ref +3, Will +2

My PFS number is: #113502

Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / GM G's Intro 1: First Steps—Part I: In Service to Lore Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.