
steve496 |
Seoni's corruptor role card has the following power:
"You may treat a card in your hand that has the corrupted trait as though it has the same powers as the top card of the blessings discard pile. This counts as playing a blessing"
My understanding is that this does not copy corruption effects from the top card of the blessings deck, because those are instructions rather than powers - this has previously been discussed in the context of Blessing of the Gods.
However, what's not clear to me is whether it still uses the corruption instructions on the card that you are playing. That is: if I play a (corrupted) Corroded Helm as a Blessing of Ascension off the blessing deck, do I still have to bury a random card from my discard pile in accordance with the instruction on the card?
I feel like the answer should be no, and that is the (unofficial) answer stated here; but it does seem a little odd, as, for instance, that would mean that if I played a Blessing of Abraxas, copying a Blessing of Abraxas off the top of the blessings discard pile, I don't have to pay the Abraxas corruption cost off either card. Is that the way it's supposed to work, or is there some subtlety of the rules I'm missing?

skizzerz |

My understanding: You copy all the text in the powers box for the blessing, including all non-power instructions (such as penalties for playing corrupted blessings). BotG works the same way, but copying the powers does not copy the card name, so the BotG is still a BotG and therefore doesn’t match for the free recharge.
So, you don’t pay the Corroded Helm penalty, but you DO pay the Blessing of Abraxas penalty.

Irgy |

I think the key point in the interpretation is that when you choose to activate the power, the corrupted card has "the same powers as the top card of the blessings discard pile" instead of its original powers, not as well as. In which case it works as Skizzerz describes.
If it had those powers "as well" as its original powers, then a "when you play this card" power would still apply and you might even have to pay a penalty from both cards.
I wouldn't say it's entirely self-apparent from the wording that it is indeed "instead", but I think it's the right interpretation.

Irgy |

Vic explicitly stated that Blessing of the Gods doesn't pick up the penalties (or rewards) of corruption here, so I don't think that can be the answer.
Hmm well spotted. So to elaborate:
Skizzerz and I were wrong because we assumed "powers" meant all the text in the box, but the corrupted-penalty-text on Blessing of Abraxis and presumably on Corrupted Helm as well are not "powers". The consequences of that are:
* Whether Seoni's ability replaces or adds to the powers on the card is acutally irrelevant. Even if the new powers replace the old powers there's nothing to suggest they replace any non-power text on the card.
* You would have to pay the price for the Corroded Helm. It still has that power non-power text written on it, and you are playing the card, and it still has the corrupted trait, so I can't see any reason not to pay the penalty.
* You wouldn't have to pay the penalty for Abraxis because that text isn't a power and isn't copied.
Some corrupted penalties are in the actual text of a power, so they wouldn't apply on the card you're playing if you're not playing that power, but would apply on the card your copying. So if you somehow copied a Blessing of Noticula for 2 dice that corrupted penalty would apply (but would presumably do nothing anyway).
As for what "is" or "isn't" a power, the rulebook never states it explicitly. Going through the mentions of the word, things that are powers definitely include:
* Things you activate yourself,
* Things that you can only choose to do at a certain time or situation (optional "triggered" powers), and
* At least some things you must do at a certain time (mandatory "triggered" powers), but evidently not if that certain time is "when you play this card".
It seems like corrupted penalties are the only things written on cards that aren't powers. Maybe someone can find another example of non-power card text.

steve496 |
A lot of recharge functionalities (and other blessings-matching abilities) are instructions as well. I'm not sure if there are any corrupted spells, but under this interpretation if you played a corrupted spell as a blessing, you'd still be subject to the banish if you don't have arcane/divine instruction, and you'd still get to make the recharge check if you had the appropriate skill.

Hawkmoon269 |

In the section of the rulebook about boons, you'll find this:
Powers: Each power is presented as a complete paragraph. Powers allow you to perform a specified action to cause an effect, such as discarding the boon to add to a check. (Common actions include revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, and banishing, but other actions may be specified.) When you perform an action with the card to cause an effect, you are playing it for its power. (See Playing Cards, p. 8).
If a paragraph on a boon doesn’t require you to perform an action with that boon to cause an effect, that paragraph is not a power; do what it says at the appropriate time. For example, if a paragraph says “After you play this card, if you have the Divine skill, recharge it instead of discarding it,” and you have the Divine skill, you must recharge the card after you play it. If a card says “If proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand,” and you are proficient with light armors, then when you reset your hand, you may recharge that card. When you are required to do something with the card as part of the effect (rather than to cause an effect), that does not count as playing it. So in either of the previous examples, recharging the card does not count as playing it.
If a card tells you that you may treat it as if it has the same powers as another boon, do not include paragraphs that are not powers.
The second and third paragraphs are key.
It seems like corrupted penalties are the only things written on cards that aren't powers. Maybe someone can find another example of non-power card text.
Other things include:
The standard recharge text on a spell.
The ability to recharge armors if you are proficient with the type.
The standard "After playing this card, if the top card of the blessings discard pile..." on blessings.
I'd say that Seoni has to deal with any effects on the card she actually plays, even when she copies the top powers of the blessings discard pile. So, she'd have to discard a card to play Corroded Helm as a blessing.