Pummeling Style and Sundering - Revisited


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm going to be bringing this up again because I never really got a clear vision of how this works.

Pummeling Style wrote:
Whenever you use a full-attack action or flurry of blows to make multiple attacks against a single opponent with unarmed strikes, total the damage from all hits before applying damage reduction. This ability works only with unarmed strikes, no matter what other abilities you might possess.

Does this ALWAYS add your attacks together first (thereby allowing you to effectively sunder), or does it only happen IF the target has Damage Reduction?

For example... You're fighting a basic wolf and you do 3 attacks, doing 10, 10, and 14 damage. Do you add it all together for 34 damage, and then subtract 0 for its DR, for 34 damage? Or do you do 10 damage, then 10 damage, then 14 damage?

If the latter, that means that Pummeling Style really is only effective in specific situations, not as an actual style to be used in all your combats, and also kind of ruins any sunder attempt with it. It also doesn't really make any sense to be using your style but unable to use your style just because the target doesn't have DR. When they don't have DR, are you just doing normal strikes but in the stance of your style?


RAI says you always hit the same spot in a continuous combo, so yeah, I'd say you always add the damage together in that instance.

RAW it says whenever (the important part) you use a full attack action or flurry of blows while unnarmed before putting a comma, so I'd say yes in that regard too.


That's how I've been looking at it. I'd love to hear an official response about it some time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pummeling Style and Sundering - Revisited All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.