Quick Identify


Rules Questions


13 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Looking for some clarification on the Pathfinder Savant's Quick Identification ability.

The spell-like ability essentially says you "can use identify as a swift action (caster level equals your character level)."

Does that mean you can cast it as a swift action, but must still use 3 rounds to identify an item?

Or does it mean you can straight up identify an item as a swift action?

It's unclear, as it says "use" rather than "cast" identify as a swift action.


#2


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

If it did say "cast", then the only savings would be reducing the casting time to a swift action instead of the usual standard action.

Since it does say "use", I interpret that to mean "cast and use". Thus, you do get the benefit of the identify spell that normally takes 3 rounds in one swift action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Identify All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions