
![]() |

Does the skald's Inspired Rage ability count as rage for the purpose of prerequisites and the like?
For example, could a Tiefling skald take the Fury of the Tainted feat, and gain the bonus vs. [good] spells while under the effects of Inspired Rage?

![]() |

Generally no, and for Fury of the Tainted, specifically no.
If you JUST needed to be raging then it would work, but the "rage class feature" is more specific.
Bloodragers have a line saying, "Bloodrage counts as the barbarian's rage class feature for the purpose of feat prerequisites, feat abilities, magic item abilities, and spell effects."
So a Bloodrager COULD take Fury of the Tainted. Skald's don't get the same exception.

![]() |

Being in a rage and having the rage class feature are obviously two different things.
You need the rage class feature (or allowed equivalent, e.g. bloodrage class feature) to take the Fury of the Tainted feat.
You need to be in a rage to gain the benefits of the Fury of the Tainted feat. This rage could be generated by barbarian rage, bloodrage, inspired rage, the effects of the Rage spell, or anything else that allows the character to rage.
A GM could rule that only barbarian rage and bloodrage count as the right 'kind' of rage to activate the feat, since the corresponding class abilities are required as pre-reqs. However, as the writeup only says that you have to be in a rage (rather than a specific kind of rage) I think most would allow it with any.

![]() |

Thanks for the help!
I've got another question, but it's only semi-related, so I made a new thread for it. If you've got answers to that one as well, I'd be much obliged.