Kineticist expanded element grants one or two wild talents?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does the Expanded Element class ability of the Kineticist grant you a second wild talent at 15th-level or just the bonuses?

It says the following:
She gains all the benefits from her new expanded element as listed above.

This makes me think that you do get the wild talent.

However, it goes on to say the following:
...if the kineticist selected her primary element as her expanded element at both 7th and 15th levels, her mastery of that element increases. For wild talents of her element, the kineticist gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls, as well as to caster level and DCs.

That, on the other hand, makes me think you don't get any wild talents that level.

What was the developer intent here?

Shadow Lodge

I believe the second bit is in addition to the talent you get for re-selecting your primary element.

Note that you can select your primary element for expanded element at 15 even if you selected another element at 7, which would give you a talent but not the bonus on attacks etc.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

But do you gain the talent AND the bonuses at 15th-level if you selected your prime element twice?


I'd say it is both.

The wording of "all benefits from her new expanded element as listed above" leads me to believe that.

We just need to summon Mark here to give us the WoM on it.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

The attack and damage bonus is apparently intended to compensate for the fact that selecting the same element three times gives you no additional simple or composite blasts at 15th level.

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't understand the thread title's relationship to the question, but you do indeed get both the wild talent and the bonuses at 15 if you go mono all the way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mark Seifter wrote:
I don't understand the thread title's relationship to the question, but you do indeed get both the wild talent and the bonuses at 15 if you go mono all the way.

Thanks Mark! The class ability's wording was not at all clear to me. Your answer has allowed me a big sigh of relief.

Designer

Ravingdork wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
I don't understand the thread title's relationship to the question, but you do indeed get both the wild talent and the bonuses at 15 if you go mono all the way.
Thanks Mark! I'm sorry to say it's not at all clear the way it is written out.

The question is worded well, I just wasn't expecting it based on the the title (I thought this was going to be about somehow taking both basic kinesis of a new element and the wild talent of an old element on the same expanded element, or something like that).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mark Seifter wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
I don't understand the thread title's relationship to the question, but you do indeed get both the wild talent and the bonuses at 15 if you go mono all the way.
Thanks Mark! I'm sorry to say it's not at all clear the way it is written out.
The question is worded well, I just wasn't expecting it based on the the title (I thought this was going to be about somehow taking both basic kinesis of a new element and the wild talent of an old element on the same expanded element, or something like that).

I edited my post above right after posting it as I realized my meaning could be easily misinterpreted.

Looks like I was too late, as you misinterpreted it in exactly the manner I feared you might. Sorry for the confusion!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticist expanded element grants one or two wild talents? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.