Close a location you aren't at?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, I ran into an odd situation while playing tonight. I went with the 'do exactly what the cards say' resolution, but perhaps someone will pipe in with what I may have done wrong.

Playing "The Traitor's Lodge". Shardra is at Great Hall, and encounters a henchman Wight. Location text: "When you encounter a henchman or villain, before you act, summon and encounter this adventure's servitor demon." Shardra encounters the demonling, and due to poor dice rolling, fails to defeat it. The demonling's power: "If undefeated, move to a random location." So I roll for random location, and she moves elsewhere.

However, that leaves her encounter with the Wight still ongoing. She defeats the Wight, which has the specific text "If defeated, you may immediately close the location this henchman came from." She is no longer at that location, but the card specifically does say attempt to close the location the Wight came from. Am I correct in assuming that Shardra could make the closing check on the location, even though she was no longer there? That's how I played it, at least, as that's the reading on the cards.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This FAQ says "You can never attempt to close a location unless your character is at that location." You're correct that the Wight earned her the opportunity to close the Great Hall and not her new location. But since she has to move before she can attempt to close, she effectively loses the opportunity to close.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Close a location you aren't at? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion