Enlarge Person cast on a Large humanoid or Medium Humanoid using Oversized weapons.


Rules Questions


Scenario #1:

Player A is a large Humanoid through non-magical means.
Player B casts Enlarge person on them.
Does Player A become huge?

Scenario #2:

Player A is a medium Humanoid through non-magical means and he's carrying an oversized Large weapon (taking the -4 to use it).
Player B casts Enlarge person on them.
Does Player A's weapon become huge?

All it says is that the creature is increased by a size category, and that equipment is similarly enlarged. This means that your equipment goes up in a size category, right?

In both these scenarios, Player A's weapon should be Huge, correct?

Grand Lodge

Yep! Each creature's equipment is 'similarly enlarge.' I.e. one size category. That is my initial response anyway.


Axoren wrote:

Scenario #1:

Player A is a large Humanoid through non-magical means.
Player B casts Enlarge person on them.
Does Player A become huge?

Enlarge person wrote:
This increase changes the creature's size category to the next larger one.

Yes, the target becomes huge.

Axoren wrote:


Scenario #2:

Player A is a medium Humanoid through non-magical means and he's carrying an oversized Large weapon (taking the -4 to use it).

You either have specific class abilities regarding oversized weapons, or you're doing something wrong. At best, a large bastard sword or waraxe can be wielded two-handed for 2d8, at -2. Let's assume you were doing that.

Axoren wrote:

Player B casts Enlarge person on them.

Does Player A's weapon become huge?

All it says is that the creature is increased by a size category, and that equipment is similarly enlarged. This means that your equipment goes up in a size category, right?

In both these scenarios, Player A's weapon should be Huge, correct?

Yes and yes.


Casual Viking wrote:

Axoren wrote:


Scenario #2:

Player A is a medium Humanoid through non-magical means and he's carrying an oversized Large weapon (taking the -4 to use it).

You either have specific class abilities regarding oversized weapons, or you're doing something wrong. At best, a large bastard sword or waraxe can be wielded two-handed for 2d8, at -2. Let's assume you were doing that.

Isn't the penalty for using oversized weapons -4?


Axoren wrote:
Isn't the penalty for using oversized weapons -4?
Weapon Size wrote:
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.


Archaeik wrote:
Axoren wrote:
Isn't the penalty for using oversized weapons -4?
Weapon Size wrote:
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

That was my mistake. I was forgetting that the character is Large after the spell and not Medium. This makes it all even better.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge Person cast on a Large humanoid or Medium Humanoid using Oversized weapons. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions