| Sandslice |
Just a couple.
1. When you display Abyssal Rift (or similar flip locations, not that we have any yet) using Planar Tuning Fork, do you get to choose which side is displayed? Or do you use the side designated as the starting side?
2. Does the Fork's power remain in effect if the underlying location is re-opened?
3. If the underlying location has a closed At This Location power, does it remain in effect during the Fork's effect, or is it suppressed by the Fork's effect?
(My thought as to the answers is:
1. The designated starting side.
2. Yes, because nothing says the location card is banished by such an event.
3. Yes, because there's no "instead" used.)
| skizzerz |
1. The faceup side is displayed: "... choose and display a location from the box faceup next to your location." For Abyssal Rift, that would be the Abyssal side (since that side says "Begin the scenario with this side up" meaning that is the faceup side). EDIT: Actually, see below -- after reading through the rulebook I think you get to pick.
2. I also think the answer to this one is yes but not fully sure on it. The sentence "While displayed, treat the closed location..." could be reasonably interpreted two ways in my opinion. The first interpretation is that "closed location" is simply informing you of the context of the sentence, e.g. that the sentence is referring to the location you were at and not the location you just displayed. The other interpretation is that the sentence only applies while the card is displayed and the location is closed. I think the first interpretation is slightly more reasonable though due to comma placement (e.g. the condition is "While displayed, blah" rather than "While displayed at a closed location, blah"), which is why I'm tentatively saying yes.
3. Flavor-wise I really want to say "instead of", but cards do what they say and don't do what they don't say. I don't see the card saying that it replaces the At This Location power of the closed location, just that you treat the closed location as if it had the At This Location power of the displayed one. As such, I'd say that yes the powers of the closed location remain in effect.
EDIT:
The more I read through the rulebook, the more I believe that Abyssal Rift has two faceup sides and as such you get to choose which one you want to use when playing the Planar Tuning Fork.
Assumption 1: While it isn't defined anywhere in the rulebook, common sense indicates that the "front" of a card is its "faceup" side.
Rule 1, p6: "Set Out the Locations. ... Put the location cards you're using faceup in the middle of the table."
By rule 1 and assumption 1, this means you put the front side of the location facing up in the middle of the table. But what's the front side?
Rule 2, p21: "Location Cards ... The front of each location card has the following features. Traits ... Deck List ... At This Location ... When Closing ... When Permanently Closed"
So by rule 2, the front of Abyssal Rift is the side of the card that has all of those things. Except both sides of the card have all of those things, meaning both sides are the "front" of the card.
If we have two front sides of the card, which do we set faceup when setting up the location? That is where Abyssal Rift comes in with its "Begin the scenario with this side up" power. Because there are two faceup sides to the card, it needs to tell us which to use. If there were not two front/faceup sides to the card, then that text would not have been needed since we'd be able to tell which to put up to begin with.
Because of this, I believe Abyssal Rift has two front/faceup sides, meaning when playing Planar Tuning Fork you get to choose which side you want to use.
Vic Wertz
Chief Technical Officer
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
1. When you display Abyssal Rift (or similar flip locations, not that we have any yet) using Planar Tuning Fork, do you get to choose which side is displayed? Or do you use the side designated as the starting side?
Good question. Will get back to you.
2. Does the Fork's power remain in effect if the underlying location is re-opened?
No, because it says "While displayed, treat the closed location as if it had the At This Location power from the displayed card." If the location isn't closed, this sentence becomes impossible.
3. If the underlying location has a closed At This Location power, does it remain in effect during the Fork's effect, or is it suppressed by the Fork's effect?
The intent is certainly "instead."
Vic Wertz
Chief Technical Officer
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The answer on 1 is that you choose. The rulebook says "On story cards and location cards, the side with the more colorful version of the artwork is the face; the less colorful version is the back. Very rarely, a card can have two faces." Abyssal Rift has two faces, so either side is "faceup."
The resolution to 3 has been added to the FAQ.
| skizzerz |
Wow, I totally missed that sentence in the rulebook about cards able to have two faces and feel silly now. For others that are curious, that sentence may be found on page 4.