Mythic Charges Without A Mythic Path?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm reading over the mythic path section of the rulebook and something had piqued my interest.

WotR Rulebook p22 wrote:
After you gain a mythic path card, you begin each scenario with a number of mythic charges equal to that scenario’s adventure deck number. Use the provided counters to track your mythic charges.

So that seems straightforward enough.

WotR Rulebook p22 continued wrote:
If you encounter a bane that has the Mythic trait, when it is defeated, you get 1 charge. You may expend charges for certain powers. When you reset your hand at the end of your turn, if you have more mythic charges than the scenario’s adventure deck number, expend charges down to that number.

So, how connected are those two things? In other words, does anything stop me from having mythic charges without a mythic path? There are cards that would care about me having a mythic charge. And there are ways to get them (perhaps by defeating a mythic bane, or some boons give you some as well). I don't see why I couldn't have them when I don't have a mythic path.

Obviously, in a B scenario, I'd only have them until the end of my turn then I'd expend them. But in a 1 scenario I could keep 1 around, though I wouldn't start the scenario with one.

I don't see anything stopping me from doing that.

Sovereign Court

As written, it certainly doesn't seem to be stopping you from having charges. However in actual implementation, you really can't have Mythic power until you are Mythic, so logically I'd say you can't have charges at all if you don't have a Mythic Path.


Which cards? Maybe I just missed it looking through everything, but I didn't notice any cards in B/C or 1 that interact with mythic charges apart from gaining them.


One of the blessings is auto acquired if you have a charge.


Ahh, I didn't check blessings. Ascension is the one.

It appears... wow, that you could obtain a charge for no other reason than to acquire Blessings of Ascension for free, with the rulebook as currently written.

It doesn't seem intended though?


Yeah. I don't know the RPG stuff, so I don't know the thematic underpinnings of it. Andrew says it shouldn't work that way, and I assume he means from an RPG perspective.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Yeah. I don't know the RPG stuff, so I don't know the thematic underpinnings of it. Andrew says it shouldn't work that way, and I assume he means from an RPG perspective.

It is that way in the RPG. "Mythic power" (which are the charges) are used as a fuel resource for mythic abilities, along with the "surge" (which, in PACG, is the transform to d20; in the RPG, it's a dice bonus to a d20.)

However, in the RPG, there IS a way for non-mythics to (sorta) gain mythic power: the Marked for Glory feat gives you one use of "surge" per day.

So there isn't a thematic problem with AD0 or AD1 character gaining the charge. Apart from bypassing the Cha / Divine to get B. of Ascension, though, there doesn't seem to be a reason to do so. :)

Adventure Card Game Designer

There is no rule that says you can't have charges if you don't have a mythic path. What you won't have is any powers that will let you expend those charges.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Also note that when you reset your hand, you also have to expend mythic charges down to the current adventure deck number. So, if you're playing a B scenario, you can't keep any between your turns. If you're playing a 1 scenario, though, you can get free Blessings of Ascension for the whole rest of the game! Worth it at that point, I'd say.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Mythic Charges Without A Mythic Path? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion