
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I decided to re-list this as it's own question, rather than bury it at the end of a necro'd thread as I had done earlier.
I'll soon be running
Thank you for your help!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
5 people marked this as a favorite. |

Normally I might just second G-Zeus, but with the introduction of the Core Campaign several months ago, I have to take a slightly tougher stance. In the Core Campaign it is integral that the extra spells only be from the Core Rulebook, otherwise these "pick X other spells" becomes a really bad backdoor way to get non-Core spells.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Odd as it sounds I'm not actually sure your choice will change what players can learn from the module (except perhaps if you give them enough time while playing through the module to learn a new spell) - generally I thought what was listed on the chronicle sheets did that (at least for Core campaigns I'm fairly sure this is the case and for non-core I believe it is though generally speaking as well any spell is available for someone to learn for the right price (so beyond the lowest levels typically at a price well in the range of pc's fame)
Unfortunately for some reason PFS has chosen to, as far as I know, never give Spellbooks as loot on chronicles (if they did this would make for all kinds of fun for spontaneous spell casters with magic items that can use spell books etc) - and it might open up opportunities for some of the unique spell books to be made legal (with a chronicle sheet) in PFS.
however since they don't often the scrolls on especially older chronicle sheets represent spells that might have been found on some of the enemies spell books during the scenario or module.
But as I noted given that buying spells for your spell book isn't all that costly at least at lower levels most PFS arcane prepared casters should be able to afford to just buy whatever they are interested in w/o needing it to have been on a chronicle sheet just with the need for it to be a legal spell and from a source they own (if not in the always available sources)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Ryucat, for a Normal PFS game, a wizard can copy spells out of ANY spellbook they come across. Not just those on chronicles (which is why they don't appear on chronicles). The player must still have the additional resources to use those spells. The GM should note on the chronicle that the wizard copied spells from that spellbook.
For a Core PFS game, a wizard can copy any Core Rulebook spells out of any spellbook they come across. If there are spells on the chronicle that are not Core, they can copy those too.
What is unclear is whether a wizard can copy a non-core spell he finds into his spellbook in anticipation of obtaining a chronicle in the future which opens up that spell.
The situation is even murkier if the spellbook he is copying from belongs to another player's character and the spell in question was gained via a chronicle for that second character.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Ryucat, for a Normal PFS game, a wizard can copy spells out of ANY spellbook they come across. Not just those on chronicles (which is why they don't appear on chronicles). The player must still have the additional resources to use those spells. The GM should note on the chronicle that the wizard copied spells from that spellbook.
For a Core PFS game, a wizard can copy any Core Rulebook spells out of any spellbook they come across. If there are spells on the chronicle that are not Core, they can copy those too.
What is unclear is whether a wizard can copy a non-core spell he finds into his spellbook in anticipation of obtaining a chronicle in the future which opens up that spell.
The situation is even murkier if the spellbook he is copying from belongs to another player's character and the spell in question was gained via a chronicle for that second character.
Actually, this was cleared up in a blog post not too long ago. You cna learn non-Core spells out of enemy caster books, even if they don't appear on the Chronicle. Thus, John Compton's earlier clarification.