Dual-wielding a scimitar and Frostbite using Dervish Dance?


Rules Questions


Dervish Dance wrote:
You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand.

If you had Frostbite active and attacked with Frostbite in your off-hand, does that count as "carrying a weapon" and prevent Dervish Dance from working?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No. A held charge of Frostbite does not constitute a weapon or a shield. If it said 'attack with a weapon using your off hand' you could argue it counted, since making a touch attack counts as an armed attack, but it's certainly not a weapon that you are carrying in your hand. Dervish Dancers can attack with an unarmed strike with their empty hand and not cause problems for their scimitar.


There's a quote floating around from James Jacobs that says no. I can probably dig it up if need be.

Scarab Sages

kestral287 wrote:
There's a quote floating around from James Jacobs that says no. I can probably dig it up if need be.

I'm sure there is. That doesn't mean it's disallowed by the rules, it just means he wouldn't allow in his game.


Imbicatus wrote:
kestral287 wrote:
There's a quote floating around from James Jacobs that says no. I can probably dig it up if need be.
I'm sure there is. That doesn't mean it's disallowed by the rules, it just means he wouldn't allow in his game.

... Or, in the actual context of the discussion here, that he would allow the combination to be used.

Scarab Sages

Sorry, I read no as not allowing it. My mistake.


Most excellent. I am getting psyched about a character that dual-wields Flame Blade and Frostbite. I am also thinking I want to give him permanent Arcane Sight, just for the visual effect of the glowing eyes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dual-wielding a scimitar and Frostbite using Dervish Dance? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions