Conflict when fighting two monster


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Does a Summoned Ghoul end my turn if undefeated, before I get to fight the monster who summoned it?

I am playing the Underneath Sandpoint scenario and encountered The Scribbler – which reads: Before the encounter, each character at this location summons and encounters a random monster.
This seemed fine until he summoned a Ghoul – which reads: If undefeated, reset your hand and end your turn.
So what happens if for some reason I does not defeat him and the Ghoul forces me to reset my hand and end my turn?

1. The Scribbler is shuffled into his location deck, neither defeated nor undefeated
2. I have to fight The Scribbler after I reset my hand and end my turn.
3. Ignore the wish off the ghoul and fight The Scribbler as normal


Hmmm....Interesting question. I'd consider two options:

1. You reset your hand and end your turn. The Scribbler gets shuffled back into his location.
2. You reset your hand and end your turn. The Scribbler escapes as per normal villain encounter when you did not defeat the villain.

I think I'd lean toward option 2. The villain encounter rules say this:

Rulebook v3 18 wrote:
If you did not defeat the villain, do the same thing, but retrieve the blessings from the blessings deck instead of from the box.

It doesn't say "undefeated" villain. And your situation with the Scribbler is a case where the villain is "not defeated." Plus, if you went with option 1, you'd actually have an advantage from loosing to the Ghoul, since you'd gain the knowledge of where the Scribbler is without having to encounter him, which is perhaps the most beneficial thing to know in the game.

Just my opinion.


It makes sense that the villain escapes, as I did not defeat him. For some reason I thought I would evade him. Thanks for the quick response Hawkmoon269, this is my first post but you have helped me countless of times before with your wisdom.

Sovereign Court

Hmm, I've never thought of this scenario. That would certainly suck to have happen, and I agree with the Villain escaping pulling blessings from the deck. Glad I never encountered this.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yep—Option 2 is correct. Better defeat that ghoul!


Yes, I actually did defeat the mighty ghoul, just had to use some resources I was hoping to save for the villain. Thanks for the help

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Conflict when fighting two monster All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion