
![]() |

Rulebook uses Hook mountain massacre example.
RAW "After you begin HMM, ...you may use...any cards from an adventure whose AD number is 2 lower than the adventure you're playing."
Does this mean you have to play through the very first scenario of HMM before adding cards with adventure deck number 1, or can you begin HMM with adventure deck number 1 cards in your char deck?
RAW is after Them Ogres Ain't Right.
Of course the ruling affects part 5 as well.

csouth154 |
If you are starting a brand new character who's first scenario will be a scenario from deck 3 or higher, you can create it using any cards from (deck# - 2).
For existing characters, you would have to at least attempt a scenario from deck 3 or above before being allowed to use this rule when going to the box for cards.
And remember, you can't go to the box for cards between scenarios just because you want to. Everyone must rebuild their decks between scenarios with cards available to all characters if they are able.

Hawkmoon269 |

I'd say that you begin Hook Mountain Massacre once you actually start playing a scenario from it. If you have finished Skinsaw Murders and I asked you "Have you started Hook Mountain Massacre?" you would surely say "No, not yet. I'm about to though." (Or something like that.)
So that rule activates the moment you start playing Them Ogre's Ain't Right. But since the only get to apply the rule in two situations that wouldn't exist until after the end of the a scenario, you don't really get to use it until after Them Ogre's Ain't Right ends. And like CSouth said, you can only do it two ways:
1. When starting a new character (who will have no skill, power, or card feats). You can create a starting deck with cards from decks B, C, or 1 instead of just from cards with the Basic trait. (The max deck level being current adventure number - 2).
2. When you are rebuilding your deck and are short a card type and no other character in your group has a card of that type they won't need to rebuild their deck. Instead of only being able to get a card with the Basic trait, you can get a card from B, C, or any deck 2 less than the adventure you are on.

Nefrubyr |

Does this mean you have to play through the very first scenario of HMM before adding cards with adventure deck number 1, or can you begin HMM with adventure deck number 1 cards in your char deck?
Just to make sure this is clear - sorry if this is not what you were asking - you can keep anything in your deck that you acquire during play, subject to your character's limits on how many cards he can have of each type. The rule about adventure number - 2 only applies to building new characters, or going to the box for cards when you don't have enough of a certain type.
You can certainly begin AP3 with AP1 and 2 cards already in your deck, if you found those cards while playing those adventures.