Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

staggered AoO


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Do staggered creatures such as zombies get to make attacks of opportunity?


AoOs are non-actions...staggered mentions nothing about affecting the ability to threaten or make AoOs :)

Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:

Staggered: A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can still take free, swift and immediate actions. A creature with nonlethal damage exactly equal to its current hit points gains the staggered condition.

Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round.

If they already did their action beforehand, I would think they could not. If they are staggered because of low hp's, they could use the AoO, but then would take a HP and fall. I believe it is in the rules for being at 0 hps.


thaX wrote:
...If they are staggered because of low hp's, they could use the AoO, but then would take a HP and fall. I believe it is in the rules for being at 0 hps.

They're staggered for a different reason though. I doubt the 0-hp issue would apply:

zombie wrote:
Staggered (Ex): Zombies have poor reflexes and can only perform a single move action or standard action each round. A zombie can move up to its speed and attack in the same round as a charge action.

Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thinking on it... let me look up a couple more things.

It depends on what they did (or did not do) on the turn after they got Staggered.

If they acted normally then was staggered (brought to 0 hps or a target of a spell/effect), they would not be able to AoO. If they didn't do anything but a Free/swift/immediate action, then they can do an AoO, but if they are at 0 hp, after the attack is resolved they take a hp and fall.

It does say it is a single melee attack.

Am I missing something, Drakkiel?

Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thinking more...

I have had Zombies do AoO's in the past. I think the AoO may be an immediate reaction, thus allowing the attack. Wow.. I am messed up because of the Thunder and Fang thread...


Drakkiel is correct. However, for the followup:

AoOs do not take an action. They consume neither standard, move, or immediate action, and can be done once a round, or more, if you have Combat Reflexes. They interrupt the normal flow of combat.

You can substitute trip, sunder, or disarm for attacks, and can do so with AoOs (though whether a zombie has the mindset to do so is another matter).

Also...yeah zombies are staggered because they are zombies. If your zombie is at 0 Hp, its been destroyed because it has the misfortune to be undead.

Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I should stop posting when I am half asleep...


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

^lol


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

thanx guys. in my head AoO's were immediate acts with specific triggers. now that i read drakkiel and flaming ducks entries i realize i made the right ruling for slightly inaccurate reasons. same result though. thanx!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / staggered AoO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.