Pathfinder Chronicler Deep Pockets Question


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Deep pockets ability is slightly confusing. As it is listed, does it allow you to declare, at the point of removal, what the items are, or do you have to list the items within that gold value before hand. As an example, I need a cure potion, but I currently do not have any. With Deep Pockets, can I produce a potions from my pocket under these conditions, or must I have declared that I have one prior.

The Exchange

You declare the item when you "take it out." This is one of (if not THE) most powerful ability of the Pathfinder Chronicler. It basically represents that the Chronicler has got a lot of stuff stowed away, always ready for the proverbial "once in a blue moon" event. At the higher levels this gets even better when you can pull out just about any potion and scrolls of any spell up to 4th level. Just the right thing at the right time.

Stories abound of Pathfinder Chroniclers pulling out ridiculous amounts of mundane (but cheap) items to overcome seemingly difficult obstacles. Uniforms worn by guards of the region (complete with rank insignia), a set of merchant scales, folding ladders, you name it. NPCs who are only susceptible to a highly specific bribe are no problem when you can not only produce a wine from the now-burned vineyard they loved but also one of the best vintage. Would they like it from grapes harvested on the north or south terrace? Some GMs will even allow bags of holding or portable holes to be used just for the sheer fun value. One such Chronicler pulled out all the materials and tools to build a serviceable 10' high wooden stockade (and a shovel to dig the moat).

So yes, you can produce anything that you want without declaring it ahead of time (subject to the restrictions in the ability). Just remember that if you are a 1st level Chronicler and pull out two CL1 potions of cure light wounds, you won't be able to pull out anything else until you get back to a reasonably large town and spend 100gp to "refill."

edit: Note that the portable hole/bag of holding is not how the ability works as written. That's specific changes made by the GM.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pathfinder Chronicler Deep Pockets Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions