How does dimensional anchor interact with banishment / dismissal?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi, I would like to understand how does dimensional anchor interact with the banishment/dismissal spell:

- Can a called outsider that is under the effect of dimensional anchor still be banished/dismissed?

- What about a summoned outsider (in case it makes any difference)?

It would be really great if this could be answered and added to the FAQs... this question keeps coming up in both the campaign I play and the one I GM! :)
Thanks a lot.

PS: adding to my befuddlement is the fact that dismissal has a 20% side effect chance of sending the dismissed creature to a plane other than its own... so it really looks like a form of planar travel.


Dimensional anchor does not prevent banishment or dismissal being used upon the anchored target - if it did, they'd be mentioned in the list of forms of movement blocked by dimensional anchor just like everything else mentioned (all of which are in the core rule book).

The part that can cause confusion "and similar spell-like abilities," is actually just a clarifying statement that spell-like abilities that duplicate or function as the spells mentioned are also affected - not saying that there are other spells that aren't mentioned which the dimensional anchor blocks.


That is a valid interpretation. It isn't universally held, though, as there are dozens of ways to travel extradimensionally. I interpret "completely blocks dimensional travel" quite literally, subject to the exceptions listed in the spell.

I'm not sure about dismissal. It's an abjuration, not a teleportation, but technically the creature affected is traveling extradimensionally. Seems like it would make things a bit too simple for demons and devils, though. FAQing.

Liberty's Edge

Nobody else ever had experience with this?

I am surprised, it seems to (potentially) be able to provide some form of protection from banishment/dismissal.


I am of the opinion that banishment and dismissal work as normal upon an extraplanar creature that has been hit with dimensional anchor. Different but similar to the proscription that summon'd creatures are not prevented from leaving.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How does dimensional anchor interact with banishment / dismissal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions