
![]() |

Quick question for you guys, the Myrmidarch archetype gives you ranged spellstrike, but Spell Combat stats, "To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty)."
Note the emphasis on melee. Now, let's assume that you're using a thrown weapon, which allows us to have a hand free no problem... how does this work with, say, darts (or a sling for that matter)? The Myrmidarch gains Ranged Spellstrike, but by RAW, by the rules, you wouldn't even be able to cast a spell since you're not wielding a melee weapon. Or would the weapons in hand count as improvised melee weapons, thus bypassing the rule?

![]() |

Shouldn't a ranged weapon also be considered an improvised melee weapon as well?
What about, say, a dagger or throwing axe, that are both ranged and melee weapons? And how would this extend to shuriken or darts?
Another thing that came to mind--aren't you, technically, always wielding a melee weapon? (Unarmed strike.) Or just wear a spiked gauntlet or something over one hand.

Kazaan |
Another thing that came to mind--aren't you, technically, always wielding a melee weapon? (Unarmed strike.) Or just wear a spiked gauntlet or something over one hand.
Yes, but there are a few caveats. First, the Spell Combat ability requires you to wield a weapon using one hand, and leave the other hand free. This means that you can't employ unarmed strike with the same hand you use for casting. If you have one hand full with a crossbow, your "other hand" cannot pull double duty as both unarmed strike for your melee weapon as well as your spellcasting hand. Furthermore, you are only allowed to make the attacks with the melee weapon designated for the ability. If you're using Unarmed Strike as your weapon, even if you had a way to get extra hands, you couldn't use any other weapon (ie. a crossbow in a third hand). Lastly, the weapon must be "hand-associated" meaning it can't be a Boot Blade, a Boulder Helmet, or any other weapon not wielded with the hand. Unarmed Strike can be hand-associated so that qualifies, but not if you have both your hands occupied with something else (unless you're a Monk) and you still bump against the restriction that only the designated melee weapon can make attacks.