Does just the corner of a border provide cover?


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 78 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does just the corner of a border provide cover from a range attack?

Let's take the following situation:

COOO
OOOO
WWOO
WWOT

C (Caster) is aiming at T (Target). W = (Wall) and O = (Open).

C would use the top right of his square to draw the line and T would use the bottom left of his square. The line would clip the top right wall at just the corner. Would T have cover relative to W?

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

Border doesn't seem to be defined here and I can't tell if the corner counts.

In the flanking section, we get: When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers' centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.

Borders seem to be defined in the flanking section to include corners. This seems to be the closest we get to having this answered but I'm not 100% sure it's conclusive.

Does anyone know the answer?


Nobody knows?

I think I can provide a thought experiment to why corners should block.

Let's take the above situation but add another wall on the upper right that touches the first wall corner to corner.

COWW
OOWW
WWOO
WWOT

If we assume that corners don't block, then T would have cover relative to C but not total cover since we can trace a line from any corner of C to at least 1 corner of T and only hit a corner of the wall.

If we assume that corners do block, then there is no LOS/LOE from C to T and thus T receives total cover.

I think common sense would imply that if the wall corners touch, then C has no shot at T and thus T would have total cover. This interpretation means that wall corners do block.


In your example, it is already possible to choose corners of C and T that pass through actual blocked squares (try lower-right on both C and T), so this example isn't really applicable. Choosing corners isn't a contest between the attacker and the defender, it's a state check. If any two corners exist such that a line between them is blocked, the defender has cover. If all such lines are blocked, the defender has total cover.


blahpers wrote:
In your example, it is already possible to choose corners of C and T that pass through actual blocked squares (try lower-right on both C and T), so this example isn't really applicable. Choosing corners isn't a contest between the attacker and the defender, it's a state check. If any two corners exist such that a line between them is blocked, the defender has cover. If all such lines are blocked, the defender has total cover.

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

Based on the rules for ranged cover, it is a contest between the attacker and defender. The attacker chooses a single corner of his square and draws the line to all corners of the target square and then sees if any of these lines are blocked.


I had never considered this. I read "borders" as the four lines of the square. Your point about the wording for flanking makes me question this definition. With no higher authority to give a ruling, and without a general consensus of the board, I would say no, the corner does not provide cover. If it DID provide cover, I would give the defender no more than +2 to AC, instead of the normal +4.

Sczarni

I don't see where the problem is.

"If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover."

Imagine a perfectly 45 degree line being drawn from the corner of your choice to the most extreme corner of your opponent's square. This line will connect with one corner of every square on its path, but it will never cross a border or go through that square.

*thinks to himself that this explanation doesn't help, and wishes he could just draw a picture to help illustrate his point*


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

In all honesty the way you should determine lack of cover is if you can draw a line from ANY point in the attackers square to EVERY point within the target square excluding the boarders of the target square. You have to get infinitely close to the borders of the target square but never actually on it.

And determine line of sight/effect by being able to draw a line ANY point in the attackers square to ANY point in the target square.

This eliminates a lot of stupid things associated with the borders, like the ground/ceiling providing cover to combatants on the same vertical plane. But writing that into a manual is more mathematically complex than desirable.


Yes, just a corner provides cover. Though the GM is free to adjust just how much of an AC bonus the defender gets. In your above example, I would grant +4.

Sczarni

In your first example, T would not have cover from C, but in the 2nd example he/she would.


Both examples provide cover. I see no reason that you shouldn't count corners. The corner is the point where two lines meet, so by definition if it passes through the corner it is passing through the line.

Liberty's Edge

The inclusion of corner re: flanking is for flanking, not for cover.

Blahpers, ranged cover is determined from the attacker's best corner. There is cover if the line is blocked to any of target's corners. You're "any two corners" idea is false with respect to ranged cover.

In OP's diagram, there is no cover on a ranged attack from the wall; the corner doesn't matter.

Sczarni

Whelp, seems we have some disagreement.

Sczarni

3 people marked this as a favorite.

If you think corners of a square provide cover, "like" this post.

Sczarni

8 people marked this as a favorite.

If you think corners of a square do not provide cover, "like" this post.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

1st situation: Strictly based on the geometry, the line touches one point at the corner, it doesn't pass through any of the border lines of the squares. I'd say NO COVER.

2nd situation: If the GM determines that the corners are actually touching, and there is no gap at all, then it is Total Cover, no line of sight, no line of effect, no attacks possible from attacker to target. But if the GM means for it to be a crack in the wall that small items (ranged weapons) can fit through, then I'd go with Improved Cover (+8) instead.

Two melee combatants standing on either side of the corner, adjacent to each other diagonally, have cover from each other, because melee cover is handled differently than ranged cover.


Nefreet wrote:
Whelp, seems we have some disagreement.
Dictionary.com wrote:

cor·ner [kawr-ner]

noun
1.
the place at which two converging lines or surfaces meet.

I think it is safe to say if the lines meet at a specific point, and you draw line of effect through that point, you are drawing line of effect through a border of the square.

Sczarni

I do not believe that is "safe to say".

Corner has a definition in Pathfinder. The rules for determining cover do not include corners. It's flanking that does.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

To clarify my first note above, I look at it much like a line that is tangent to a circle. By geometry, it touches ONE point on the circle, it doesn't pass through the circle, in which case it would touch TWO points. Similarly, the line described in the first post would touch ONE point on the square, not TWO. So it's not passing through the square.

At least, it makes perfect sense to me based on pure geometry.

Good gaming!


I believe the situation can be summed up as thus:

1) If you believe that corners block, then example 1 would provide regular cover and example 2 would provide total cover.

2) If you believe that corners don't block, then example 1 would provide no cover and example 2 would provide regular cover.

I personally think that common sense would dictate that example 2 provides total cover. If that's the case, then scenario 1 would have to apply and thus corners block.

Sczarni

Example #2 obviously provides some sort of cover. Depending on what is occupying the W squares, it will either be total or improved cover.

Example #1, IMO, provides no cover, because no line being drawn from the player's upper right corner intersects a square or the border of a square.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Celanian wrote:

I believe the situation can be summed up as thus:

1) If you believe that corners block, then example 1 would provide regular cover and example 2 would provide total cover.

2) If you believe that corners don't block, then example 1 would provide no cover and example 2 would provide regular cover.

Example 2 is just stupid. At least as it appears to me the wall is continues it just turns. A person in 10' by 10' by 10' cell with no doors or windows cannot make a ranged attack out it to attack a person in an adjacent cell. Even if the wall is depicted as line with no width. If the wall is not suppose to continuous you should mark the window or gap somehow on the map by a break in the line.

You seem to be hung up on the term corner. Corner in D&D terms refers to grid intersections. Not where a wall turns.

In example 1, you are not dealing with a corner so much as the end point of a line.

Consider this: (A,B = med sized character; 0= open space; | = wall along a grid line.) Does A have cover from B or vice versa? They shouldn't is far as I am concerned. Despite the fact the going from the upper corners of A to upper B (or lower to lower) intersects the endpoint of wall.

000|000
000|000
A00000B
000|000
000|000

If you can draw a line to 99.99+% of the target square then you don't have to deal with cover. If you are a GM and don't want to deal with this, don't end your lines at grid intersections.


Maezer wrote:
Celanian wrote:

I believe the situation can be summed up as thus:

1) If you believe that corners block, then example 1 would provide regular cover and example 2 would provide total cover.

2) If you believe that corners don't block, then example 1 would provide no cover and example 2 would provide regular cover.

Example 2 is just stupid. At least as it appears to me the wall is continues it just turns. A person in 10' by 10' by 10' cell with no doors or windows cannot make a ranged attack out it to attack a person in an adjacent cell. Even if the wall is depicted as line with no width. If the wall is not suppose to continuous you should mark the window or gap somehow on the map by a break in the line.

You seem to be hung up on the term corner. Corner in D&D terms refers to grid intersections. Not where a wall turns.

In example 1, you are not dealing with a corner so much as the end point of a line.

Consider this: (A,B = med sized character; 0= open space; | = wall along a grid line.) Does A have cover from B or vice versa? They shouldn't is far as I am concerned. Despite the fact the going from the upper corners of A to upper B (or lower to lower) intersects the endpoint of wall.

000|000
000|000
A00000B
000|000
000|000

If you can draw a line to 99.99+% of the target square then you don't have to deal with cover. If you are a GM and don't want to deal with this, don't end your lines at grid intersections.

Example 2 could be as simple as a wizard putting a wall of stone or force up against an existing wall or maybe with an inch or so of spacing. That would be 2 separate and distinct walls.

If you believe that corners don't block, then please explain why example 2 wouldn't provide total cover since you can draw a line through the corners of the walls.

Let's take your example. Suppose a wizard puts up a 5' wall in the space between the walls. This is a separate and distinct wall from the other 2 and may have an inch or so of space between them.

000|000
000|000
A00}00B
000|000
000|000

I'm using } to distinguish the new wall from the existing walls. If you take the position that the edge of the wall doesn't block, then B would only have regular cover from A instead of total cover since you can trace a line from the top right corner of A to the top left corner of B and the lower right corner of A to the lower left corner of B. This is because you already asserted that the tips of the existing walls don't block, and presumably the tips of the new wall wouldn't block either.

Unless you want to assert that B doesn't have total cover to A, then you have to agree that at least one of the tips does block.

Liberty's Edge

Lest there be any confusion, my post replied to the first example only.

I don't understand what physical situation the second one is supposed to represent. Either there is line of sight based upon the architecture or there isn't. If there is line of sight via a gap, then it would be improved cover. If the corners touch, there is no line of sight: total cover.


Check the example given in the main book with the Ogre and the 4 PCs. A corner stops melee attacks (all corners checked). A corner may stop ranged attacks, or only provide cover, or partial cover. In the OP example, the Caster chose his top right corner. From this point, you draw lines to ALL corners (if the creature is large, every 5' square has a corner). If any of those lines cross a square or border that blocks line of effect, then the target has cover, but if you can see more than half of the creature, then it is partial cover. A corner doesn't block line of effect by itself. (see the sorcerer's lines on the example).


Celanian wrote:
blahpers wrote:
In your example, it is already possible to choose corners of C and T that pass through actual blocked squares (try lower-right on both C and T), so this example isn't really applicable. Choosing corners isn't a contest between the attacker and the defender, it's a state check. If any two corners exist such that a line between them is blocked, the defender has cover. If all such lines are blocked, the defender has total cover.

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

Based on the rules for ranged cover, it is a contest between the attacker and defender. The attacker chooses a single corner of his square and draws the line to all corners of the target square and then sees if any of these lines are blocked.

Hmm, you're right, and that borks things. The attacker shouldn't have to choose a corner to determine something like this; cover ought to be something that is or isn't. Plus it creates a corner case (haw!) like this thread. I'm pretty certain I can come up with better wording that means the same thing as above (no disrespect intended to the designers and editors!), but it wouldn't get rid of the corner case.

I'd have to rule on a case-by-case basis. Celanian's logic re: total cover makes sense if you're really looking at giant 5x5 cubes of stone inexplicably meeting at a corner, and I'd rule the same way. If those obstacles were tree trunks (not Minecraft tree trunks, but good old fashioned round tree trunks), I would rule the other way, as you aren't really clipping the corner.


The borders are the four sides. I think the reason for the "or the corners" in the flanking rules is:

A--
-B-
--C

A line from A to C doesn't touch the lines of B's square, so they want to clarify that this counts as "opposite".

The point of the cover rule, I believe, is that if any corner of your space has an unobstructed line of effect to all corners of the target space, you don't have to deal with cover. And if no corner of your space has an unobstructed line of effect to any corner of the target space, you have no line of effect.

It's not really a "contest". The assumption is that you do the evaluation for all the corners, and pick the one most favorable to you.

Then we have the question: Does touching the corner count as "passing through" the square or border? I would say yes just for consistency with other rules.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Celanian wrote:
Example 2 could be as simple as a wizard putting a wall of stone or force up against an existing wall or maybe with an inch or so of spacing. That would be 2 separate and distinct walls.

Sigh. I guess we can't let you use the word wall either. Think line of effect blocking object. If a line of effect blocking object is made, part of wood, part of stone, part of iron, and part of force you cannot shoot the gap in the atoms between one material and the next. If it blocks line of effect it blocks line of effect.

If there is an "inch or so" of space there is an endpoint. Where 'object that blocks line effect' meets 'space not blocking line of effect' there you hand an endpoint. You effectively have an area to make a ranged attack through. And you would draw this but not having the small gap in the line. When you use W to represent a line of effect blocking object I assume its continuous. If it has holes in it, then you should state such.

Celanian wrote:
Let's take your example. Suppose a wizard puts up a 5' wall in the space between the walls. This is a separate and distinct wall from the other 2 and may have an inch or so of space between them.

If it connects to existing line of effect blocking objects its not separate and distinct. If you leave gaps between the new line of effect blocking object and the old line of effect blocking object then you have line of effect moving between the gaps. If you do not leave gaps then it become part of the same object line of effect blocking object regardless of what material it is made off.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It makes sense to me that you choose the corner you wish to shoot from. That is how you can shoot around corners.

Archer duel

Archer1 is shooting around the corner. Archer2 is in open space in a corridor. Archer 1 has cover while Archer2 does not.

As for the two corner issue...if the corners meet then it is total cover. If the corners do not then it is probably improved cover. Select your corner, draw lines from your corners to the target's corners and if there is a clear space to shoot through (even if it is only a fraction of a grid square) then it is a possible shot. From that point it just depends on what the amount of cover is.

Remember, buildings and the like do not have to match up with the grid. There could be a gap. Otherwise, shooting through windows and archer slits would not be possible.

- Gauss


Maezer wrote:


Celanian wrote:
Example 2 could be as simple as a wizard putting a wall of stone or force up against an existing wall or maybe with an inch or so of spacing. That would be 2 separate and distinct walls.

Sigh. I guess we can't let you use the word wall either. Think line of effect blocking object. If a line of effect blocking object is made, part of wood, part of stone, part of iron, and part of force you cannot shoot the gap in the atoms between one material and the next. If it blocks line of effect it blocks line of effect.

If there is an "inch or so" of space there is an endpoint. Where 'object that blocks line effect' meets 'space not blocking line of effect' there you hand an endpoint. You effectively have an area to make a ranged attack through. And you would draw this but not having the small gap in the line. When you use W to represent a line of effect blocking object I assume its continuous. If it has holes in it, then you should state such.

Celanian wrote:
Let's take your example. Suppose a wizard puts up a 5' wall in the space between the walls. This is a separate and distinct wall from the other 2 and may have an inch or so of space between them.

If it connects to existing line of effect blocking objects its not separate and distinct. If you leave gaps between the new line of effect blocking object and the old line of effect blocking object then you have line of effect moving between the gaps. If you do not leave gaps then it become part of the same object line of effect blocking object regardless of what material it is made off.

I think you're quibbling semantics. So let's modify your example to show how silly you can get in not counting corners as blocks.

000|000
000|000
0000000
A00|00B
000|000

In this particular case, I think it's pretty obvious that A and B have total cover relative to each other. Yet if we take the RAW, they would only have regular cover relative to each other since the top right corner of A can see the top left corner of B. That seems nonsensical, therefore the top tip of the wall between them must block. Unless you think A can ricochet his shot at B...

Liberty's Edge

And if corners do count, then firing an arrow down an unobstructed 5'wide corridor always involves cover.

With both positions having been demolished by reductio ad absurdum, my books spontaneously exploded in flame. :{


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Lines are 1 dimensional even though we have to draw them in 2 dimensions. A one dimensional line cannot provide cover with respect to a parallel attack, such as the open 5' corridor. The attacker can choose one side of the line or the other to attack down with no impediment.

To provide cover, the attack must pass through a border. The point at which two lines meet is the vertex, in our case a 90 degree corner. A third line, our attack, passes through the vertex outside of the 90 degrees that makes the corner. Math states that the attack does NOT pass through the border.

The attacker chooses one corner to represent the attacker setting up the clearest shot possible. It is check against all of the defender's corners to represent the defender using cover to his best advantage.

This represents that an attacker that hides behind a tree and shoots around the tree at a target in an open field has cover from that target. If the cover was measured from all of the attacker's corners, the target in the field would have cover from the attacker as well.


Celanian wrote:
Maezer wrote:


Celanian wrote:
Example 2 could be as simple as a wizard putting a wall of stone or force up against an existing wall or maybe with an inch or so of spacing. That would be 2 separate and distinct walls.

Sigh. I guess we can't let you use the word wall either. Think line of effect blocking object. If a line of effect blocking object is made, part of wood, part of stone, part of iron, and part of force you cannot shoot the gap in the atoms between one material and the next. If it blocks line of effect it blocks line of effect.

If there is an "inch or so" of space there is an endpoint. Where 'object that blocks line effect' meets 'space not blocking line of effect' there you hand an endpoint. You effectively have an area to make a ranged attack through. And you would draw this but not having the small gap in the line. When you use W to represent a line of effect blocking object I assume its continuous. If it has holes in it, then you should state such.

Celanian wrote:
Let's take your example. Suppose a wizard puts up a 5' wall in the space between the walls. This is a separate and distinct wall from the other 2 and may have an inch or so of space between them.

If it connects to existing line of effect blocking objects its not separate and distinct. If you leave gaps between the new line of effect blocking object and the old line of effect blocking object then you have line of effect moving between the gaps. If you do not leave gaps then it become part of the same object line of effect blocking object regardless of what material it is made off.

I think you're quibbling semantics. So let's modify your example to show how silly you can get in not counting corners as blocks.

000|000
000|000
0000000
A00|00B
000|000

In this particular case, I think it's pretty obvious that A and B have total cover relative to each other. Yet if we take the RAW, they would only have regular cover relative to each other since...

In your example, the attack would have to pass through a solid barrier as the attack is contacting the vertex at 90 degrees or less. As such it must pass through the barrier to continue. If it cannot, total cover is achieved.

I hope this helps. Years of mechanical drafting, paper style, helps when looking at these.


Komoda wrote:

Lines are 1 dimensional even though we have to draw them in 2 dimensions. A one dimensional line cannot provide cover with respect to a parallel attack, such as the open 5' corridor. The attacker can choose one side of the line or the other to attack down with no impediment.

To provide cover, the attack must pass through a border. The point at which two lines meet is the vertex, in our case a 90 degree corner. A third line, our attack, passes through the vertex outside of the 90 degrees that makes the corner. Math states that the attack does NOT pass through the border.

The attacker chooses one corner to represent the attacker setting up the clearest shot possible. It is check against all of the defender's corners to represent the defender using cover to his best advantage.

This represents that an attacker that hides behind a tree and shoots around the tree at a target in an open field has cover from that target. If the cover was measured from all of the attacker's corners, the target in the field would have cover from the attacker as well.

How would you explain example 2 in the 2nd post of this thread then? The line from attacker to defender doesn't pass through the 90 degrees that make either corner. By your reasoning, example 2 would merely provide normal cover even though common sense would dictate total cover.

Komoda wrote:

In your example, the attack would have to pass through a solid barrier as the attack is contacting the vertex at 90 degrees or less. As such it must pass through the barrier to continue. If it cannot, total cover is achieved.

I hope this helps. Years of mechanical drafting, paper style, helps when looking at these.

What is so magical about 90 degrees? A line going past the border is going to be brushing it, not passing through it no matter what angle it's coming from.

I think it's pretty clear that there is a hole in the rules. It does seem pretty hard to rewrite the rules to cover all the examples given in this thread without leading to a broken result somewhere. Perhaps this thread should be a FAQ candidate.


In example 2 the vertical line passes through the vertex and does not stop. To go from C to T you have to pass through the barrier. Total cover is clearly achieved.

As to the most recent example, again, a line has only one dimension. This is an important concept. The attack must come from within the square and end within another square. The line between squares has no thickness.

If the attack and the target are on the same row, the attack MUST be 90 degrees or less. This is not a game rule, this is the math of the game. It is only discussed here to show you how the rule and math coincide. In a similar fashion, there is nothing in the rules that state 1 + 1 = 2. That can only be achieved by following the rules of math.

Any attack that touches the vertex at more than 90 degrees cannot enter a square past that vertex that is in the same row as the original square.

Following the above mathematical rules, an attack that starts in square A must hit the barrier you depicted before it can end in square B. Likewise, an attack that starts in the square directly above A would NOT pass through the barrier before it reached any corner in the square directly above B.

I hope this helps.


Okay, here's the problem, as I see it:

###
---
A#B

###
A-B
###

(# is a wall, - is an open space)

It is clear that the intent should be that in the first picture, there is total cover between A and B, and in the second picture, there is no cover between A and B.

Now, number the squares:
123
456
789

Consider the line that runs from (4578) to (5689). Does this line count as intersecting a wall?

If we say that this line counts as intersecting a wall, then we do find that the first example has total cover... But the second example has to count as partial cover, because there is no location in A's square from which you can draw lines to all four corners of B's square which don't intersect walls.

If we say that this line does not count as intersecting a wall, then we find that the first example provides only partial cover, as you can then pick (4578) as your corner in A's square, and you can reach two corners of B's square from it without intersecting a wall.

My proposed resolution: Instead of using the actual corners of spaces for the origin and destination, use points which are logically "about an inch inside the square on each side". But continue counting the entire wall, including corners. With this interpretation, we get the right results for these two cases; the first case provides total cover, the second provides none at all.

Now, with that in mind, we come back to:

A---
----
##--
---B

The line from the upper-right of A's square to the lower-left of B's square still only touches the corner exactly, but we can say unambiguously that this counts as cover, because we've fixed the pathological cases involving firing parallel to walls.


It appears that you are taking to many data points.

In your example 1, no information from squares 1 2 3 4 5 or 6 is relevant. All of those squares are completely outside of the lines that are used to measure anything. The terrain in those squares affect nothing.

Square 7 to square 9 has a solid barrier in 8 that gives total over relevant to each other.

In your example 2, no information from squares 1 2 3 7 8 or 9 is relevant. All of those squares are completely outside of the lines that are used to measure anything. The terrain in those squares affect nothing.

Square 4 to square 6 has no barrier in 5 that gives any cover relevant to each other.

Your example 3 does not have numbers, but imagine them being numbered the same way. A = 1 and B = 16.

The best corner for the attacker is the top right corner of 1.
The best corner for the defender is the bottom left corner of 16.
Draw a line between the two.

Now draw a line between the top right corner of 1 to the top right corner of 16.

Shade in the area between the two and all of square 16. This is the only are that should be checked for cover. Not anything touching the lines, just things within the lines.

I think I figured out how to draw this so it should make sense. I will do so in a few hours when I get to my PC (working on iPad now).


@Komoda

I still don't see why 90 degrees is so magical. A line drawn in the diagram would merely 'cap the T' of the wall. There is no logical reason why that would magically be blocked while a diagonal wouldn't. Plus if you think that capping the T blocks, then you'd have to say that 2 people facing each other straight down the corridor would be blocked as well and have partial cover relative to each other.

@seebs

What you describe seems like a logical approach and makes a lot of sense. We just need to have some language that uses this approach and which doesn't cause other problems. The current RAW does lead to some strange results at the moment.


A line that hits the vertex at greater than 90 degrees is pushed outside of anything behind it. If the line continues past the barrier, it can never get back into a square behind it. This is not a Pathfinder rule, this is geometry.

In this game, with this type of line, you can be on one side of the line, or the other. You cannot be on it. The line has no thickness. None, zilch.

The same line can indicate cover, or not cover. It depends on the side of the line you are on.

I think it will become more clear when I post graphics.


Celanian wrote:
Maezer wrote:


Celanian wrote:
Example 2 could be as simple as a wizard putting a wall of stone or force up against an existing wall or maybe with an inch or so of spacing. That would be 2 separate and distinct walls.

Sigh. I guess we can't let you use the word wall either. Think line of effect blocking object. If a line of effect blocking object is made, part of wood, part of stone, part of iron, and part of force you cannot shoot the gap in the atoms between one material and the next. If it blocks line of effect it blocks line of effect.

If there is an "inch or so" of space there is an endpoint. Where 'object that blocks line effect' meets 'space not blocking line of effect' there you hand an endpoint. You effectively have an area to make a ranged attack through. And you would draw this but not having the small gap in the line. When you use W to represent a line of effect blocking object I assume its continuous. If it has holes in it, then you should state such.

Celanian wrote:
Let's take your example. Suppose a wizard puts up a 5' wall in the space between the walls. This is a separate and distinct wall from the other 2 and may have an inch or so of space between them.

If it connects to existing line of effect blocking objects its not separate and distinct. If you leave gaps between the new line of effect blocking object and the old line of effect blocking object then you have line of effect moving between the gaps. If you do not leave gaps then it become part of the same object line of effect blocking object regardless of what material it is made off.

I think you're quibbling semantics. So let's modify your example to show how silly you can get in not counting corners as blocks.

000|000
000|000
0000000
A00|00B
000|000

In this particular case, I think it's pretty obvious that A and B have total cover relative to each other. Yet if we take the RAW, they would only have regular cover relative to each other since...

This is not interpreting the rules as written. "To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment."

I think when the rules say "pass through a border that provides concealment" they mean from one corner of a square to another corner. Just passing through the corner without passing through another corner does not pass through the border. This handles both the example at the top of this post and the one quoted in my reply.

If this is not clear, think of a coordinate axis with lines connecting points (0,0), (1,0), (1,1), and (0,1). The lines connecting these points count as the borders of the square. If a line goes through any two corners, it must either pass through the square itself (such as a line connecting 0,0 and 1,1) or through the border (a line through 0,0 and 0,1). Just passing through one corner does not pass through the square nor through a border of the square.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

000|000
000|000
0000000
A00|00B
000|000

In this particular case, you're claiming that the tip of the wall blocks the line since it's at exactly 90 degrees.

000|000
000|000
A00000B
000|000
000|000

In this case, you're drawing the exact same line as in the above case at the exact same 90 degree angle, but you're saying that the tip of the wall doesn't block the line.

Do you see the inconsistency?


Komoda wrote:

It appears that you are taking to many data points.

In your example 1, no information from squares 1 2 3 4 5 or 6 is relevant. All of those squares are completely outside of the lines that are used to measure anything. The terrain in those squares affect nothing.

Square 7 to square 9 has no barrier in 8 that gives any cover relevant to each other.

Huh?

Square 8 is a SOLID WALL. You're telling me that if two people are on opposite sides of a solid wall, there is no cover between them?

A#B

# is a wall. You're saying that A#B is not cover between A and B?


I see why you see it as an issue. You are counting the vertex as a 2 dimensional object when in fact, it only has on dimension. It is so small that it can only exist as an idea and not as a physical thing.

The vertex does not block anything. It is only the point of distinction of what does vs what does not.

You will see in about 2 hours when I draw it up.


Oh, that was a cut and paste and using iPad on a boat error.

The point was only 3 squares matter in each example. One example gives cover, the other does not.


No, that is not it at all. I do not see a vertex as a 2-dimensional object. Heck, I don't even see it as one-dimensional. A vertex is a point.

Let's zoom in a bit and expand.

------
------
AB##EF
CD##GH
------
------

This is nine squares. One square of wall, two squares containing critters. Critter one has corners ABCD, critter two has corners EFGH.

Obviously, a solid wall between ABCD and EFGH provides total cover. So, pick a point, say, "A". We draw the lines (AE, AF, AG, AH). Two of them (AG, AH) unambiguously intersect the wall. Two of them (AE, AF) go along the edge of the wall. They never cross the wall. But that has to be total cover, because it is obvious that it is total cover.

Now consider:

--##--
--##--
AB--EF
CD--GH
--##--
--##--

We draw the same four lines (AE, AF, AG, AH). Obviously, AG and AH do not intersect any walls, so we don't have total cover. Do we have partial cover? AE and AF are exactly the same as they were in the previous sample -- they are lines which go parallel to, but never cross, the side of the wall.

Does a line which overlaps, but does not cross, the side of a wall count as cover? If it does not, then the first example is only partial cover, even though it's obviously intended to be total cover. If it does, then the second example is partial cover, even though it's obviously intended to be no cover.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What's so hard about lines? Seems simple enough to me. I made a diagram that I thought might help others to better understand (see link).

Blue lines represent the line. Sky blue are the squares effected by the line.

Note that the PC could easily have zapped the bottom right NPC simply by adjusting the angle of the line (call it a warning shot).


I have attached two graphics.

The first is the 16 square grid that was depicted earlier. The top right of square 10 is the corner in question. Grid

Here you can see the area that the attacker must check to see if there is cover. Three lines are drawn.

Line 1: From the top right of square 1 to the bottom left of square 16.
Line 2: From the top right of square 1 to the top right of square 16.
Line 3: From the top right of square 1 to the bottom right of square 16.

Those lines formed 4 points, all of which were connected to form a perimeter. The area was shaded yellow in the "Grid" graphic.

Square 10 is not indicated by the shaded area. There is nothing in it to check.

Now we shall zoom in to the corner in question. Zoom Each black square in the picture is a pixel in the line. Each square = 1/100 of an inch. As you can see, none of the line actually touches square 10 (the grey square in the bottom left of the picture). I did not draw the black squares. I just chose both ends of the line and my computer drew them at a dpi of 100.

I will show how it works on a straight line next.


For checking cover on the same row, we start with the same grid. Grid-2.

I added both situations to one grid.

The top situation shows a wall between the attacker and defender.

Three lines are drawn:
Line 1: From the bottom right of square 5 to the top left of square 7.
Line 2: From the bottom right of square 5 to the top right of square 7.
Line 3: From the bottom right of square 5 to the bottom right of square 7.

Those lines formed 4 points, all of which were connected to form a perimeter. The area was shaded yellow in the "Grid-2" graphic.

As you can see, it clearly passes through the wall and thus provides cover. As it must pass through the wall at all angles, it is total cover.

The bottom situation shows no wall between the attacker and defender.

Three lines are drawn:
Line 1: From the top right of square 9 to the top right of square 11.
Line 2: From the top right of square 9 to the bottom right of square 11.
Line 3: From the top right of square 9 to the bottom left of square 11.

Those lines formed 4 points, all of which were connected to form a perimeter. The area was shaded blue in the "Grid-2" graphic.

As you can see, it does not pass through a wall at all. Even though it touches the wall, it does not pass through it.

Here is the zoomed in graphic which again, each little square is 1/100 of an inch. Grid-2-zoom

I think this should show how the situations we discussed fit within the current rules.

Two corners that touch still touch. The line is not broken at the vertex. As such, your line to identify cover passes through a barrier and is stopped. If there is a tiny gap, then there is a tiny gap that the GM can adjudicate. It cannot be depicted by the battlemat.

As to walls touching walls, there is no space between them. If there is, they are not touching. If you want to get that detailed on your map where 1" = 60" and you are depicting a 1" gap, then understand that it would be drawn on the battlemat as a .017" gap, or roughly the thickness of 5 pieces of paper. My $70,000 CNC router only has a tolerance of about .005"

It is my opinion that you are looking for computer precision in a place that you are not going to find it. It takes me about 10 minutes to set up the grid to figure it out to the 1/100". Does your game need to be that precise?

At my table, any doubt goes in favor of the PCs. This is because they are the heroes and the NPCs don't get upset when they die.

I hope these drawings help.


seebs wrote:

No, that is not it at all. I do not see a vertex as a 2-dimensional object. Heck, I don't even see it as one-dimensional. A vertex is a point.

Let's zoom in a bit and expand.

------
------
AB##EF
CD##GH
------
------

This is nine squares. One square of wall, two squares containing critters. Critter one has corners ABCD, critter two has corners EFGH.

Obviously, a solid wall between ABCD and EFGH provides total cover. So, pick a point, say, "A". We draw the lines (AE, AF, AG, AH). Two of them (AG, AH) unambiguously intersect the wall. Two of them (AE, AF) go along the edge of the wall. They never cross the wall. But that has to be total cover, because it is obvious that it is total cover.

Now consider:

--##--
--##--
AB--EF
CD--GH
--##--
--##--

We draw the same four lines (AE, AF, AG, AH). Obviously, AG and AH do not intersect any walls, so we don't have total cover. Do we have partial cover? AE and AF are exactly the same as they were in the previous sample -- they are lines which go parallel to, but never cross, the side of the wall.

Does a line which overlaps, but does not cross, the side of a wall count as cover? If it does not, then the first example is only partial cover, even though it's obviously intended to be total cover. If it does, then the second example is partial cover, even though it's obviously intended to be no cover.

As a line has no thickness, it cannot overlap. It can only cross or not cross. It cannot do both. It is impossible.


Ravingdork wrote:

What's so hard about lines? Seems simple enough to me. I made a diagram that I thought might help others to better understand (see link).

Blue lines represent the line. Sky blue are the squares effected by the line.

Note that the PC could easily have zapped the bottom right NPC simply by adjusting the angle of the line (call it a warning shot).

I think you are talking about lines as in spell areas and not lines as in cover?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Oh. The OP was talking about casters, so I thought...

1 to 50 of 78 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does just the corner of a border provide cover? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.