Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

When can enhancements stack? (on weapons - esp unarmed strike or natural attacks)


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Enchanting unarmed strikes or natural attacks is a bit complicated.

For this question assume a character with at least a level of Monk - so improved unarmed strike and the extra rules re Monk's unarmed strikes (any limb, treated as both natural weapons and manufactured weapons for purposes of magical effects/enhancements.)

My question(s) are - how is stacking of multiple enhancements handled?

A few simple examples:

Amulet of Mighty Fists +1 & Magic Weapon/Magic Fang cast on the character - I think these do NOT stack resulting in a continued +1 enhancement bonus to the monk's attacks?

Amulet of Mighty Fists Flaming & Magic Weapon / Magic Fang cast on the character - here I'm not sure what either RAI or RAW is. Does this result in the monk having a +1 to hit & damage + flaming (if activated via a standard action)?

Amulet of Mighty Fists (static bonus or special ability) and the character is a monk/maguc and spends a point of Arcane Pool. (This is apparently debated whether a magus can enhance an unarmed strike - in the case of a monk I think the answer should clearly be yes but others argue no it isn't a "held" weapon). Likely this results in a single attack being enhanced by the arcane pool & all other attacks also being enhanced by the amulet - but this is where I'm not sure how enhancement bonuses stack or do not stack. (in place of the Amulet consider Arcane Pool and Magic Weapon being cast - does that stack? Does the Magic Weapon spell if cast first allow the arcane pool be used for special powers (if the Magus is high enough level?)

Amulet of Mighty Fists (either static bonus or special ability other than Corrosive) and Deliquescent Gloves? - this seems fairly clear from the wording of the Gloves which implies that it would stack with any other enhancements (i.e. specific overrules general)

Quote:
The wearer’s melee touch attacks with that hand deal 1d6 points of acid damage. If the wearer uses that hand to wield a weapon or make an attack with an unarmed strike or natural weapon, that attack gains the corrosive weapon special ability.

(also grants protections against oozes and slimes and doesn't split them etc)

Besides the Magus there are a few other classes with abilities that can enhance a weapon they are using - the Paladin's Divine Bond for example. Could this be used to enhance unarmed strikes? (I think so but not certain) and if so, would this stack with any other enhancement sources?

In all of these cases does any limit(s) apply to the total effective bonuses on the attacks? (i.e. the usual max of +5 enhancements or +10 total enhancements? Does the Amulet's specific restriction to +5 total matter in any way here (or since it is the limbs not the amulet being further enhanced by spells/class abilities the amulet's restrictions don't count here?


Sorry, I'm not sure. I'm curious too though, since I have a nat-attack catfolk about to dip monk. I DO know that you can combine style damage (example, boar shred and elemental fist) and precision damage (sneak damage from a rogue dip), but Im unsure about the item conflicts...


They do not stack, they overlap.

In the case of a Flaming AoMF and +1 from Magic weapon yes, they overlap to produce a +1 Flaming effect that only bypasses magic.

To take this further, if you have a +2 Flaming AoMF and have +5 Greater Magic Weapon cast upon you then you have +5 Flaming.

Deliquescent Gloves would add the Acid to all of that.

- Gauss

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / When can enhancements stack? (on weapons - esp unarmed strike or natural attacks) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.