Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Hurl Scabbard + Vanishing Trick doesn't allow an extra sneak attack right?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A Ninja player of mine and I have been in debate about whether he is allowed extra sneak attacks after vanishing and using the Equipment Trick(Hurl Scabbard).

Hurl Scabbard (Quick Draw): You can draw your weapon in such a way that you send your combat scabbard (see page 3) whirling off to strike at any creature in sight. This ranged attack is a swift action and is treated as a thrown weapon.

Vanishing Trick (Su): As a swift action, the ninja can disappear for 1 round per level. This ability functions as invisibility. Using this ability uses up 1 ki point.

Our last session the Ninja moved, demoralized, then vanished, his following round he hurled his scabbard, then proceeded with his full-attack action. I only allowed him the sneak attack bonus to the scabbard, because I'm sure that's how it's supposed to work.

At the time I couldn't find the rule, and still now I can't seem to find where it specifically states that after the first attack, the target is then aware and allowed his Dex bonus again. Please help clarify that only the Scabbard gets the sneak attack bonus, and no other attacks.


Sounds correct to me Khelereth, unless during his full attack action he was flanking. Until he reaches 10th Ninja level and takes a Master Trick which makes his Vanish act as Greater Invisibility.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Excellent, thank you.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Hurl Scabbard + Vanishing Trick doesn't allow an extra sneak attack right? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.