Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Ran Penumbral Accord --- Question Regarding Rewards


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Silver Crusade *

Ran Penumbral Accord --

"If the PCs successfully rescue the Blakros daughters,
Hamaria is incredibly grateful, granting the PCs the rare
privilege of keeping any loot they may have uncovered
while in the museum, and turning a blind eye to the fact
that some of that loot may have actually belonged to the
collection itself. If the PCs also succeeded in destroying
or permanently deactivating the Wightir Conjunction,
the Blakros family feels secure in their freedom from
the Penumbral Accords. In this case, in thanks to the
Pathfinder Society, the Blackros family offers even closer
collaboration between their museum and the Society on
future endeavors."

Okay -- in the first sentence -- the 'rare privilege' means what in game terms? Does it mean I can jot down on the rewards sheet the things that were looted from the museum along with their value beyond the normal reward sheet hard numbers? I mean, it's pretty funny considering the most valuable object from the mission was USED during the mission.

Do I give the object to the player -- it's virtually worthless as an item OTHER than flavor text for the player. It's the ceremonial dagger of Zon-Kuthon, which had a pricetag attached for value. The other item kept from the museum was the thigh bone of a brontosaurus -- from the dinosaur display cases in the beginning of the mission. An improvised weapon on the part of a character.

Did I screw up there? Or what should I have done? It does say that you do get the rare privilege of keeping it -- or was that just a poorly worded flavor text thing?

Help! :)

Dan

Dark Archive ***

It means that instead of taking all your loot back, meaning effectively you would get no gold (which would normally be the case as technically you are stealing from the museum), you get to keep the loot thus allowing you to get paid for the scenario and achieving a subtier appropriate amount of gold.

Interestingly this is one of the few scenarios in which if you fail the primary mission the GM would be required to give you 0 gold, as the gold you earned from the earlier encounters isnt yours to keep in this case.

Silver Crusade ****

I have no clue whether this is the official position but if the player wants to keep some flavourful item with no mechanical benefit then they should very definitely be allowed to. Even without any particular mention on the chronicle sheet. They clearly can NOT sell it later.

I've got a Lion Shaman (basically she is a Cat Lady) who has a small collection of items that she has acquired on missions. The items weren't even "officially" there, they were just the kind of things that logically MIGHT have been there. Cat figurines from a glassblowers store, cat puppets from a puppet collection, etc. Nobody has ever had any issues with this. Its just fun roleplaying favour and, if anything, acts as a VERY minor hassle to the character (more stuff to carry and protect).

The Exchange ****

here's another thread where we talked about adding flavor to a Chronicle:
Adding items to Scenario Chronicles

Just something to think about...

Silver Crusade ***

pauljathome wrote:

I have no clue whether this is the official position but if the player wants to keep some flavourful item with no mechanical benefit then they should very definitely be allowed to. Even without any particular mention on the chronicle sheet. They clearly can NOT sell it later.

I've got a Lion Shaman (basically she is a Cat Lady) who has a small collection of items that she has acquired on missions. The items weren't even "officially" there, they were just the kind of things that logically MIGHT have been there. Cat figurines from a glassblowers store, cat puppets from a puppet collection, etc. Nobody has ever had any issues with this. Its just fun roleplaying favour and, if anything, acts as a VERY minor hassle to the character (more stuff to carry and protect).

Sounds like my level 13 PFS barbarian who kept and stuffed the heads of every dragon he's ever killed (4 of them).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Ran Penumbral Accord --- Question Regarding Rewards All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.